Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Are players over indulged?

• 03-06-2017 2:40pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭

This is coming to my mind from some of the accusations flying in the Tipp thread.
    What I am asking is, are talented players given a free pass for their actions off the field due to their status and also the county's desire/need for them to be available to the county team?
    If yes, when does it start in your opinions?

My opinion is that they are over indulged. Not all take advantage of this, but some do. When does it start? In my opinion early secondary school. I am thinking back to the boys who were allowed off detentions, brought in from suspensions to play for the school, because the team mates and the coach "needed" them. What do ye all think?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,256 ✭✭✭LeoB

Not in general. Most of them live like hermits in the run up the campionship and when knocked out will let of a bit of steam. Of course some young lads will get a bit of a notion about themselves but if they come from a good club a quiet word will soon have them back down to earth.

It would be my opinion 99% of the lads playing at the top level are very good to the sport in many ways. Look at any ground after a match and see the kids getting selfies and autographs. They get free gear and some get time off work which is fair enough when you consider the time and effort to get to the level they are at. All the better if they get a holiday or even a weekend away with their partner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

They are, but the best ones don't really take advantage of it as they realise it is bs, while the ones who never had the mentality to reach the elite level anyway, do.

Think Colm Cooper vs Conor Mortimer.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 16,724 Mod ✭✭✭✭yop

They are, but the best ones don't really take advantage of it as they realise it is bs, while the ones who never had the mentality to reach the elite level anyway, do.

Think Colm Cooper vs Conor Mortimer.

In fairness to Conoreen he is Mayos all time top scorer. So he has elevated himself to a level. He does come across as a bit of a looney, but he still scored a shed load for Mayo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

yop wrote: »
    In fairness to Conoreen he is Mayos all time top scorer. So he has elevated himself to a level. He does come across as a bit of a looney, but he still scored a shed load for Mayo.

I never disputed any of that in fairness though. My point was he wasn't at the elite level of intercounty player and took advantage of being over-indulged. That doesn't mean Im dismissing the guy completely or saying he couldn't kick snow off a rope.
    As for being the top scorer of all time, I give him his deserved dues there. But Robbie Keane is one of the top scorers at international level of all time. However I wouldn't consider him at the pinnacle level of international strikers either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,828 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

If you took a random sample of 30 young lads from any county, I'm sure you would be left with more eejits than are on that County's panel.