Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Epsom Oaks Day Friday June 2nd

• 02-06-2017 2:07pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭

Late getting this going

Listening to Gosden there he didn't seem to confident about Journey's chances, Highland Reel weak in Market so I'm giving hawkbill a go ew, been backed, fresh off a good win & has plenty of G1 form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

In fairness to Highland Reel, what a horse. Its like he has been trained to swat away anything in blue. Probably has way more in hand there as well, it will take a good one to beat him in the Arc this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

Thought Hawksbill was going to go past him about 2 out but no way, Some performance given he didn't seem to be fancied in the market & was hanging his head to his left a bit. Money spinner

Fair play to Gosden, fairly candid beforehand regarding Journey;'s chances.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Nice to see a good five year old (Highland Reel) still in training and winning the big races.

Id be slightly worried about the fillies in the Oaks for AOB, although they have longer to recover from the ordeal this morning.

Highland Reel obviously ran superbly but was all over the place but the other 2 were really out the back and i'm not sure they gave their running at all.. Hopefully the extra hour and a bit will help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,351 ✭✭✭✭Harry Angstrom

BumperD wrote: »
    Fair play to Gosden, fairly candid beforehand regarding Journey;'s chances.

No better trainer to analyse a race and the chances of his horses. Always enjoy his interviews.

Have gone with bottom weight Imshivalla ew in the next. Won this last year off 8lbs lower as pointed out by sdoc last night. Always a little wary backing mares or fillies but she looks to have been aimed at this with a similar prep last year off the back of a few runs down the field, runs off 80 today compared to carrying 88 to victory last year, handles good and she has been supported overnight from 14's which adds some confidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Abareeq 16/1 is a player today.You can take 5/6 out of that race including Abareeq which is the only one that let me down in ITV7 with Rhododendron to run in the last leg.

I'm not betting today except for €10 at 220s on Pocketfullofdreams in the Oaks, probably the pacemaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,907 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Great Hall for me here.
    Still at post

Looking at ew against the fav in the oaks but having trouble landing on something, maybe moore will plant rhodendrum out back & I might get a silly price in running?!!! :pac:

€5 at 18s on Coronet in the Oaks for an interest.
    I see she is a full-sibling of Midas Touch, 5th in the 2010 Derby.

Looking at ew against the fav in the oaks but having trouble landing on something, maybe moore will plant rhodendrum out back & I might get a silly price in running?!!! :pac:

If he has any sense he'll keep things simple this year and keep Rhododendron well out of trouble. Only for Minding's class he would have got her beat in last year's Oaks.

This rain might make it a little slippery coming down Tattenham. They might take it a little slower.

I like Horse play 16-1 to run a good race.

Daddy's Lil Darling bolted and Olivier Peslier jumped off. :eek:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

That was quite exciting! Can't possibly race now even if the jockey is fit to ride.

Charlton e/w for me.

1,2,3 for AOB?!!

I want his number 3 horse to be 1. :)

I think Coronet could win.

This is a real test of temperament for the fillies.
    A bolter withdrawn, heavy rain showers, thunder.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Jasus the weather

Good swim by Enable.
    Those were the worst conditions I've seen.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

Jaysus.

Enable has a very strange pedigree.
    Inbred 3x2 to Sadler's Wells, probably the closest inbreeding ever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

Rhododendron vomited.

Shutter Speed gone odds on for the Prix de Diane after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

diomed wrote: »
    Enable has a very strange pedigree.
    Inbred 3x2 to Sadler's Wells, probably the closest inbreeding ever.

Diomed, please explain to us precisely what this means. I have an idea but I don't really get the intricacies of breeding. Much appreciated.

Great race I thought. 10 furlongs for the runner up now I presume.

Shutter Speed gone odds on for the Prix de Diane after that.

I was looking for the betting on that as i think Rain Goddess will be placed here at a big price. 20/1 at the moment.

Itziger wrote: »
    Diomed, please explain to us precisely what this means. I have an idea but I don't really get the intricacies of breeding. Much appreciated.
    Great race I thought. 10 furlongs for the runner up now I presume.
    Enable's sire is Nathanial (1), and his sire is Galileo (2), and his sire is Sadler's Wells (3).
    Enable's dam is Concentric (1), and her sire is Sadler's Wells (2).
    Figures in brackets are the generation.

When I say Enable is 3x2 Sadler's Wells I am saying that Sadler's Wells is in Enable's 3rd generation on her sire side, and Sadler's Wells is in the 2nd generation on her dam side.
    Sadler's Wells was champion sire in Britain & Ireland 14 times, 1990, 1992-2004

It is very unusual to have a duplicated horse this close up in a pedigree.
    It would be more usual to have duplicated horses in the 4th and 5th generations of a runner.
    Close inbreeding like you see in Enable is usually avoided as the runners are often poor.
    Close inbreeding can increase the chance of good or bad traits of the duplicated horse appearing in the foal.
    In this case the good won out.

Too late to be putting it up as a pick, but this next race is tight as feck and any of them can win, meaning Koropick looks value at up to 25/1. Some very good 2yo form and if he comes back to form he can get involved. Only rated 3lbs behind fav that is 2/1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

aidankkk wrote: »
    Too late to be putting it up as a pick, but this next race is tight as feck and any of them can win, meaning Koropick looks value at up to 25/1. Some very good 2yo form and if he comes back to form he can get involved. Only rated 3lbs behind fav that is 2/1

The horse of Murtaghs has serious looking form with Lancaster bomber. Had a few Bob ew earlier. Looking at the prices I'm guessing something's been withdrawn and I'll be getting a rule 4.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,340 ✭✭✭sting60

Based on that Oaks win Enable has improved 14lb approx from last run.That is some improvement since 10th of May .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Gregk961

Popped into bookies after work to watch the Oaks. Coming round the corner some lad starts piping up "One in front is never getting caught lads, hes kicked on" about 5 seconds later starts roaring "favourites cruising boys gona win easy" followed by "never getting past Frankie that favs a pig" and just as winner crossed the line "Lovely had a score on him this morning"

It was as entertaining as the race to be honest.

418948.jpg

Sadler's Wells 3 x 2 in her pedigree

Your knowledge on breeding is intimidating :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,047 ✭✭✭Itziger

diomed wrote: »
    Enable's sire is Nathanial (1), and his sire is Galileo (2), and his sire is Sadler's Wells (3).
    Enable's dam is Concentric (1), and her sire is Sadler's Wells (2).
    Figures in brackets are the generation.

When I say Enable is 3x2 Sadler's Wells I am saying that Sadler's Wells is in Enable's 3rd generation on her sire side, and Sadler's Wells is in the 2nd generation on her dam side.
    Sadler's Wells was champion sire in Britain & Ireland 14 times, 1990, 1992-2004

It is very unusual to have a duplicated horse this close up in a pedigree.
    It would be more usual to have duplicated horses in the 4th and 5th generations of a runner.
    Close inbreeding like you see in Enable is usually avoided as the runners are often poor.
    Close inbreeding can increase the chance of good or bad traits of the duplicated horse appearing in the foal.
    In this case the good won out.

Cool, fairly straightforward in the end!! I remember Sadlers Wells, saw his Derby and Irish Derby, not live like, on the box. Seem to remember him winning a race at the Phoenix Park, was it Irish Champions??

Your knowledge on breeding is intimidating :)
    Not really. I just a guesser.
    The other guessers have posh accents.