Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Western governments ever tell us the real truth about UFO's?

• 30-05-2017 1:04pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭

In an eye-opening interview on “60 Minutes” Sunday night, aerospace mogul and entrepreneur Robert Bigelow said he was ‘absolutely convinced’ there were alien visitors to Earth.

Most of the segment focused on how NASA and the Las Vegas-based Bigelow Aerospace are in a partnership to develop an expandable craft for humans to use in space. Bigelow’s far-reaching vision puts him right in the middle of a new privatization of space, a race that includes billionaires Elon Musk and Jeff Bezos.

https://twitter.com/60Minutes/status/868977981443780609

Its known Bigelow is a government insider, and it's highly unlikely Nasa would deal with a guy who's crazy. Get past the nutjob's it obvious there is a real phenomenon here to investigate.

Kurt Russel ( the actor) this week announced he saw UFO's on TV.

I doubt there's been any visitors, Trump would've mentioned it within a few minutes of being told.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 941 ✭✭✭Ciderswigger

I doubt there's been any visitors, Trump would've mentioned it within a few minutes of being told.

Ha! But what if Trump is one of them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

They know well not to tell Trump if they don't want it tweeted to the world within seconds by that ape-like idiot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

For all we know they are telling us the truth. The videos you posted don't really prove anything though. The first guys just gives his personal opinion. Kurt russell says he saw a UFO in the strictest sense of the word, he doesn't go on to presume aliens.

I think it's very likely that aliens have been watching this planet for maybe millions of years, in the same way our scientists observe all sort of natural phenomenon and that they're still up there watching now. But that they have no intention of interacting with us and aren't making blunders that make them appear to lonely Americans.

If aliens showed up at any point in the past 70,000 years I think they'd keep a low profile, even stone age people would have been able to pick a UFO out of the night sky. I can image aliens coming into earth orbit and looking down through their telescope at a group of hairless apes and seeing the hairless ape pointing back at the them. Because their ship would look like a new star. That would freak out any aliens enough to stay as hidden as possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,988 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

Sneaky little bastards aren't they? You would think, just once, they would crash in the middle of the pitch at a cup final instead of remote parts of the desert. Or maybe fly around during the day. Then again, either they are benign or malign. If benign, why remain hidden when they can just pop in and say hello and mention, by the way, from Mars the Irish Health System looks insane?If malign, why are they hanging around while we develop ever more powerful weapons. Do they like a good scrap or what?

Hint: its all baloney for people who scoff at makey up Gods but think Stars Wars is on the History Channel.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

Why only western governments? Are the aliens avoiding Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Ha, fools.

They are not planning to invade.

That's already over.

Earth is occupied.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,853 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

Never, they have too much to lose

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

meh baloney , military prototypes or bad drugs have to be a better explanation. If aliens wanted to stay hidden they would stay hidden, I think they would remember to turn their landing lights off. ;-)

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

Ha, fools.

They are not planning to invade.

That's already over.

Earth is occupied.
    Did you not get the memo? We're not meant to tell them until 2027.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,854 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

the_syco wrote: »
    Did you not get the memo? We're not meant to tell them until 2027.

if you rearrange the word jobbridge, it spells Welcome to your new alien overlords

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,893 ✭✭✭Cheerful Spring

ScumLord wrote: »
    For all we know they are telling us the truth. The videos you posted don't really prove anything though. The first guys just gives his personal opinion. Kurt russell says he saw a UFO in the strictest sense of the word, he doesn't go on to presume aliens.

I think it's very likely that aliens have been watching this planet for maybe millions of years, in the same way our scientists observe all sort of natural phenomenon and that they're still up there watching now. But that they have no intention of interacting with us and aren't making blunders that make them appear to lonely Americans.

If aliens showed up at any point in the past 70,000 years I think they'd keep a low profile, even stone age people would have been able to pick a UFO out of the night sky. I can image aliens coming into earth orbit and looking down through their telescope at a group of hairless apes and seeing the hairless ape pointing back at the them. Because their ship would look like a new star. That would freak out any aliens enough to stay as hidden as possible.

There is a UFO past with Bigelow, he's spend Millions investigating the subject and it's weirdness. He even paid worldwide scientists to go and find evidence. He got connections with the CIA and Department of Defense. It more than just a personal interest.

An Irish Scientist worked for Bigelow and has talked about one of those UFO cases they investigated.

Some background. Colm Kelleher is a senior research scientist with a twenty-year career in cell and molecular biology. Following his Ph.D. in Biochemistry from the University of Dublin, Trinity College in 1983, Dr. Kelleher worked at Canada's flagship Ontario Cancer Institute, the Terry Fox Laboratory at the British Columbia Cancer Research Center in Vancouver and the National Jewish Center for Immunology and Respiratory Medicine in Denver. More recently, Dr. Kelleher served as Research Director for Bigelow Aerospace in Las Vegas and as administrator for one of its subsidiaries, Space Sciences, Inc.

Here he talks about that phenomenon they investigated.

I doubt president's are told anything. I doubt most politicians even know about the subject. Depending on the level of contact maybe only a few hundred people worldwide know what's happening.

Kurt Russel ( the actor) this week announced he saw UFO's on TV. .............

As have I, as have I.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

HkPOzEH.jpg?1

There is a UFO past with Bigelow, he's spend Millions investigating the subject and it's weirdness. He even paid worldwide scientists to go and find evidence. He got connections with the CIA and Department of Defense. It more than just a personal interest.
    Until he can present some sort of actual prove it's just him trying to promote his theories. The thing is even the smartest scientists and business leaders can be wrong. A person can be the best rocket scientist that's ever lived and still make stupid mistakes and hold unprovable theories. Look how many people in the science industry are also into fantasy.

It would be cool if we were part of some intergalactic community with space battles and scary aliens and so on, but it's likely that the aliens that have been watching us over the past few decades/centuries/millennia are as dull as dishwater and that we'll share nothing in common other than being smart living things.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    HkPOzEH.jpg?1

Guy in the picture is not a scientist. He just a guy who passes himself off as an expert. Listen to those people with credibility!

Until he can present some sort of actual prove it's just him trying to promote his theories. The thing is even the smartest scientists and business leaders can be wrong. A person can be the best rocket scientist that's ever lived and still make stupid mistakes and hold unprovable theories. Look how many people in the science industry are also into fantasy.

It would be cool if we were part of some intergalactic community with space battles and scary aliens and so on, but it's likely that the aliens that have been watching us over the past few decades/centuries/millennia are as dull as dishwater and that we'll share nothing in common other than being smart living things.

He's connections are with government and intelligence agencies. He not a guy promoting a book about UFO's. I think he has got evidence. He probably can't release the information till it's allowed by the bigger players ( that's my theory anyhow)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its OK, Alex Jones will save us.
    By shouting.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,532 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Owryan wrote: »
    Why only western governments? Are the aliens avoiding Africa, Asia, Eastern Europe?

Yes, the Aliens only abduct people from places where they are prominent in pop culture. This is not because people are more likely to have delusions relating to things they are familiar with but because the Aliens want us to think people are more likely to have delusions relating to things they are familiar with.

He's connections are with government and intelligence agencies. He not a guy promoting a book about UFO's. I think he has got evidence. He probably can't release the information till it's allowed by the bigger players ( that's my theory anyhow)
    Yeah, I've been hearing stories like that for a long time now. He's got some third hand accounts of misinterpretations of classified military tech, at best. The Americans love this alien stuff, are the americans making some new mind boggling tech, or are they in league with aliens??!! It's a great misinformation tool. Just as CSI is a great propaganda tool for law enforcement organisations.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

What if the real truth is they don't exist?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I can't identify things flying around my garden.
    The government should tell me what they are.

Yeah, I've been hearing stories like that for a long time now. He's got some third hand accounts of misinterpretations of classified military tech, at best. The Americans love this alien stuff, are the americans making some new mind boggling tech, or are they in league with aliens??!! It's a great misinformation tool. Just as CSI is a great propaganda tool for law enforcement organisations.

Enough credible people have seen UFO's for it to be real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Guy in the picture is not a scientist. He just a guy who passes himself off as an expert. Listen to those people with credibility!

But, but, but...................................

lLxCoWM.jpg

Enough credible people have seen UFO's for it to be real.
    Yes, Unidentified Flying Objects are real. That doesn't prove aliens exist, or that the UFOs are aliens. No UFO has been identified as an alien ship.

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Yes, the Aliens only abduct people from places where they are prominent in pop culture. This is not because people are more likely to have delusions relating to things they are familiar with but because the Aliens want us to think people are more likely to have delusions relating to things they are familiar with.

I doubt if Aliens could come here even if they wanted too due to them never having been exposed to Earth's bacteria and viruses. They would have no built up immunity to them. Its the same thing that will stop us living on other worlds deemed to be inhabitable, thats if we develop the technology to reach them in the first place.

Yes, Unidentified Flying Objects are real. That doesn't prove aliens exist, or that the UFOs are aliens. No UFO has been identified as an alien ship.

Of course not, but we don't really look into it openly, as to what UFO's are. It all done in secret and that's why we got lunatic and frauds claiming all sorts of alien encounters online.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,123 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

UFO's what?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

No UFO has been identified as an alien ship.
    Unlike the identified UFOs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,643 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

there are only 2 options. either aliens exist or aliens don't exist. both are equally terrifying.

Of course not, but we don't really look into it openly, as to what UFO's are. It all done in secret and that's why we got lunatic and frauds claiming all sorts of alien encounters online.
    But it's not done in secret. People say they saw something and people can guess as to what it was. There's no way to actually investigate it, the phenomenon is a moment and as it's happening in the air there's nothing left to investigate.

We can run through known phenomenon to come up with guesses for what it might or might not be but we can't prove anything.

Human vision is poor and the brain does a shocking amount of filling in, and I do mean a shocking amount of filling in. The brain can add or delete all kind of things as it sees fit. Just changing the amount of oxygen available to the brain in can send it on a wild goose chase.

Always thought it was an amazing coincidence that UFOs suddenly stopped appearing the moment everyone started walking around with a video camera in their pocket.

What are the odds?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,643 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

Always thought it was an amazing coincidence that UFOs suddenly stopped appearing the moment everyone started walking around with a video camera in their pocket.

What are the odds?

or that UFO abductions usually take place in the middle of nowhere late on a saturday night.

But it's not done in secret. People say they saw something and people can guess as to what it was. There's no way to actually investigate it, the phenomenon is a moment and as it's happening in the air there's nothing left to investigate.

We can run through known phenomenon to come up with guesses for what it might or might not be but we can't prove anything.

Human vision is poor and the brain does a shocking amount of filling in, and I do mean a shocking amount of filling in. The brain can add or delete all kind of things as it sees fit. Just changing the amount of oxygen available to the brain in can send it on a wild goose chase.

It is a secret, i bet even people on this site, don't believe, anyone has seen an object they could not identify. If we truly investigated, openly, no ridicule we likely would know more about the subject than we currently do.. If their was no secret cover-up, the event (video) would be out in the open and everyone in the world would know about it. Ask someone about 9/11 they say yes that's real. Have you heard of the Cosford, Bentwater UFO incident they look at you if you got two heads.

This is more evidence of cover-up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭daveyeh

Kurt Russel ( the actor) this week announced he saw UFO's on TV.

So what? I've seen loads of UFO's on TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

It'd cause too much disruption to society and the economy to reveal the horrible truth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,077 ✭✭✭✭bnt

A thread about UFOs and no-one mentions the Fermi Paradox? It takes the form of a simple question: "where is everybody?"

I just finished reading the Three Body Problem trilogy, and in the second book the author comes up with a possible answer to the Fermi Paradox.
    His answer is simply that everybody's in hiding in the galactic equivalent of trenches, because there are powerful alien races that attack any "new" species as soon as they see it. In the trenches, anything that sticks up over the top gets shot at. Now imagine that on a galactic scale.

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,832 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Lookit lads. I'll level with yiz. The place is full of them space-hoppers. Coming down here and taking our jobs and our wimmin and acting like they own the place. Most are disguising themselves as Mexicans.
    The only way to keep them off the planet is with a big beautiful wall.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

I saw this a couple of months ago.

418701.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

silverharp wrote: »
    if you rearrange the word jobbridge, it spells Welcome to your new alien overlords
    Where do you think the soylent green comes from?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

What are the odds?

Yeah. Ghosts and the loch Ness monster have a big fear of high resolution cameras too.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,695 ✭✭✭gizmo81

I have never gave much consideration to it. Thinking if anything there'll be little micro organisms you see in the sea in the methane streams.

However, the recent talk from respected people about Alien Megastructures made me wonder.

What was that all about, if someone has some explanation? Or was it all just wild speculation too?