Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Problems with neiobours

• 29-05-2017 9:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭

A few treads got me thinking lately about do people have problem with houses build next to land they farm .

I glad I sold no sites in the boom times but there 3 1 acre sites that were taken as part of cpo in my grandmother time. ( one site was subdived in boom times and now there 4 houses)

One there living in house for years . My parents time they used to leave there house cow out in our field at night untill they got caught . Tried Pushing bounder out as well.

There another house that's been rented out all the time and most of time there knackers in there . Rubbish throw over the ditch , dogs chasing cattle etc.

And the 3rd house also seem to be a house of knackers . They had 2 small Shetland ponies in the back for couple of years . Untill they started to travel my fields . They claimed they did not own them. Thankfully I had a contact in icpca and they were taken away. Thankfully the 4th house is sound !

Now I know what your thinking . 3 out 4 i must be the problem ! But that not it though . I very easy going . If anything too soft . Dogs and horses were causing problems a long time before I voiced my concerns to them .

Anyone else have problems ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 stanley1989

A few treads got me thinking lately about do people have problem with houses build next to land they farm .

I glad I sold no sites in the boom times but there 3 1 acre sites that were taken as part of cpo in my grandmother time. ( one site was subdived in boom times and now there 4 houses)

One there living in house for years . My parents time they used to leave there house cow out in our field at night untill they got caught . Tried Pushing bounder out as well.

There another house that's been rented out all the time and most of time there knackers in there . Rubbish throw over the ditch , dogs chasing cattle etc.

And the 3rd house also seem to be a house of knackers . They had 2 small Shetland ponies in the back for couple of years . Untill they started to travel my fields . They claimed they did not own them. Thankfully I had a contact in icpca and they were taken away. Thankfully the 4th house is sound !

Now I know what your thinking . 3 out 4 i must be the problem ! But that not it though . I very easy going . If anything too soft . Dogs and horses were causing problems a long time before I voiced my concerns to them .

I can relate to your problem but kinda the opposite way around .. I have a very nosey farmer lives beside me and seams very interesed in what I get up to ... His stock are constantly roaming into my land and out on the road .. Also the smell is outrages ... Us poor souls have dealt with the fact were living beside smelly nosey old farmers but yes it's a constant struggle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,831 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

My parents sold a few sites years back when renovating their house..
    We don't have problems with the folk at all, the odd toy in a field and a football in a round bale !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

In fairness we get on well with all other neiobours in the area. It's just the 4 house in our place is like myross ! Well 2 of them . 1 is sound and other is just cranky

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

For your own sake Part time boy.
    The minority you're posting about, like to be called "travellers".:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 610 ✭✭✭The part time boy

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    For your own sake Part time boy.
    The minority you're posting about, like to be called "travellers".:)

I actally have more respect for travellers !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

I actally have more respect for travellers !

It's handy to have knackers on the farm nowadays.
    I hope they don't charge you anything for their services. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I can't ever remember talking to my next door neighbour, was topping today in s field adjoining his and stopped when I was talking on phone, he was driving along by the wall Just circling his land. Not even a salute

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 9,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭greysides

Mod:
    Folks, a thread like this has the potential to cause problems. First for the moderators and secondly for those who post slurs or unacceptable comments. By all means comment but if in any doubt refer to the rules of posting and let's avoid that particular mine-field. Thanks.

The aim of argument, or of discussion, should not be victory, but progress. Joseph Joubert

The ultimate purpose of debate is not to produce consensus. It's to promote critical thinking.

Adam Grant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I live on a road with about 60 houses. In the old days there were only about 5 houses, all farmers. All honky dory until one particular guy moved in. It all started with him objecting to my brother building, even though he had only just bought the site himself. I was warned early by an old farmer neighbour about him then. Told to make sure my cattle didn't break into his site, as his did and he wasn't pleasant to deal with.

Fast forward a few years and someone is looking for planning across the road and a little to the side from him. Clare County council granted permission to this guy but yer man has it overturned with An Bord Pleanala. yer man applies again to Clare CoCo, is successful and yer man goes to An Bord Pleanala again. Big 'write up' about it all in the Clare Champion. Now all the neighbours are furious at this as the bollocks has by far the biggest house on the road and the grounds he's objecting on are all to do with silly stuff, one being the size of the house.

I know in the scheme of things it could be a loss worst, but it just goes to show how one person can create havoc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,482 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

I live on a road with about 60 houses. In the old days there were only about 5 houses, all farmers. All honky dory until one particular guy moved in. It all started with him objecting to my brother building, even though he had only just bought the site himself. I was warned early by an old farmer neighbour about him then. Told to make sure my cattle didn't break into his site, as his did and he wasn't pleasant to deal with.
    Fast forward a few years and someone is looking for planning across the road and a little to the side from him. Clare County council granted permission to this guy but yer man has it overturned with An Bord Pleanala. yer man applies again to Clare CoCo, is successful and yer man goes to An Bord Pleanala again. Big right up about it all in the Clare Champion. Now all the neighbours are furious at this as the bollocks has by far the biggest house on the road and the grounds he's objecting on are all to do with sill y stuff, one being the size of the house.
    There's always one. Normally one with too much time on their hands. I always say karma will come and bite them in the butt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Two houses rented in corners of a field in land we bought. Current tenants are fine one previous tennant not so much. Known to the gardai and fond of unruly Rottweilers and German Shepards, dogs were ok, well stand offish with people but fcuk me they created havoc with cattle. Guards would do fcuk all even the travellers stopped using the road past them. Only solution was deal with the dogs as no dealing with the owners. Took 18 months for owner of house to evict them