Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Do you 'talk' to yourself?

• 26-05-2017 11:48pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 484 ✭✭

According to some, it's the first sign of mental instability/illness but then again, people say that the smartest guys and gals 'talked' to themselves frequently.

I suppose it depends on what you define as 'talking' to yourself. Muttering regularly is probably normal, audible muttering frequently is uncommon but still okay. Full blown conversations are another story IMO.

If you do talk to yourself, which category would you fit in?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

The only ones who thinks it's a sign of mental illness are the ones who are nuts because they don't talk to themselves, the weirdos.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Some of the best conversations I have are with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,214 ✭✭✭cbyrd

When I sit on the loo I have whispered conversations with people who I either need to rehearse the conversation, or they've seriously p!ssed me off and I'm saying what I should've said.
    Because I whisper them I think no one can hear, so, I often get a fright when my OH knocks on the door and asks if I'm ok.. then when I come out, he kinda sideways walks past me out of the room, without taking his eyes off me ...
    Is that what your on about. I'm not mad. I give a great argument :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

I bet the OP had a chat with themselves about starting this thread.

I bet you're right.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Not only do I talk to myself but I criticize myself as if I'm 'watching' myself doing things wrong. 'What the fuck did you do that for you idiot?'

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,647 ✭✭✭lazybones32

Not so much talk to myself but I think out loud when on my own sometimes. Wouldn't be a full sentence; more of a 'what's next' (to do). I work alone and can go hours without a word or contact with another person.

Whether people talk to themselves or not isn't as important as what they do say to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,946 ✭✭✭indioblack

Not so much talk to myself but I think out loud when on my own sometimes. Wouldn't be a full sentence; more of a 'what's next' (to do). I work alone and can go hours without a word or contact with another person.

Whether people talk to themselves or not isn't as important as what they do say to themselves.

I find it's the only way to get decent conversation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 141 ✭✭Luxxis

I talk to the fridge. The microwave thinks I'm nuts!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭CaptainR

Talking to yourself is fine. Expecting a response is a different story.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,477 ✭✭✭Riddle101

I talk to myself all the time. Not sure why I started but I've been doing it since I was a kid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,769 ✭✭✭Pinch Flat

It's ok to talk to yourself, just as long as you don't answer yourself back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,971 ✭✭✭_Whimsical_

I don't trust anyone who doesn't talk to themselves, what more adept expert could you engage on the complex goings on in your life and brain than yourself! If you don't talk to yourself, you don't think too deeply or think too highly of your own innate ability to work through stuff alone.

Really though it's a pretty great way of sorting stuff out and keeping your brain ticking over when you've nothing to do.

CaptainR wrote: »
    Talking to yourself is fine. Expecting a response is a different story.

Ah come on, sure you'd want to be a right fcuking eejit now to talk to someone you didn't expect a response from.. even if it was yourself.

Sure the only reason I talk to myself is because I know I won't ignore me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,286 ✭✭✭✭RobbingBandit

Yup but I'm what you call muy loco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

Not really. Myself can be a right wanker at times. Never listens to my advice either. Always gets me in trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,174 ✭✭✭pimpmyhat

I think a lot of people who live on their own,
    Are more likely to talk to themselves

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,419 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Not only do I talk to myself , I take notes to remind myself of what I was arguing with myself about earlier , don't I ?

No you don't .

Right , that's it .I'm not talking to you .

Well then go sleep on the fcukin' couch , see how you like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

The whole time....lads i used be working with taught i was nuts

Talking away to myself goodo and smiling away at my own taughts......i swear im not as mental as that sounds

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,551 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Anyone who is half-intelligent will talk to themselves. Just don't do it on the street or ppl will think your mental. Intelligence in common society is not particularity regarded well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,204 ✭✭✭dodderangler

pimpmyhat wrote: »
    I think a lot of people who live on their own,
    Are more likely to talk to themselves

I'd say it's the opposite. People who are always around people will talk to themselves basically give out about other people to themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,431 ✭✭✭✭smurfjed

I'm trying to memorise "checklists", so you will see me walking around talking to myself and moving my hands to visualise what my actions have to be and associate these actions with my checklist.

I probably look like a sad fe.ker in the corner of a bar drinking my beer and talking to myself.

I only started to do this a lot while working in a big website project thing.. I give myself feedback or talk about a feature out loud.

I find that working on something complicated can leave you with a few different thought processes going on and vocalising one of them can let you focus on it properly.

The other times I'd talk out loud would be the hungover fearfilled "fuk" when I'd remember something I did the night before. But that's a lot rarer nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,802 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Do it now and then.

You need to have an intelligent conversation every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,551 ✭✭✭SeaFields

Work colleagues often say "Seafields, you're talking to him yourself again. " So yeah, I do it frequently. Especially when engrossed in some work problem and staring at a computer screen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,885 ✭✭✭Optimalprimerib

Absolutely, have done all of my life. I would put myself in the shoes of an actor, musician, football star, Steve Jobs style entrepreneur, you name it and natter on for hours.

Is it healthy? Probably not, but it is fun and a great way to vent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,535 ✭✭✭jooksavage

When I was younger my dad and I would be milking cows and, under the din of the milking machine, he would be delivering some monologue to himself about the state of politics, critically analysing the Tipp hurling team or rehearsing his speech for the local co-op AGM. Occasionally the machine would cut out I'd clearly catch some of this stream of conscious rambling. He was never remotely embarrassed and would start up again when the machine was back on.

He still does it - last week he was making some dinner, unaware I was in the next room and he was explaining to some unseen parry the nutritional benefits of prune juice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

All the time.
    Don't forget to wipe your arse and flush the jacks you smelly fvcker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,177 ✭✭✭✭Tom Mann Centuria

I talk to the dog, and if I have loads to do at work I'll remind myself what I need to do. So, probably a bit cracked.

Oh well, give me an easy life and a peaceful death.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭riverrocked

Isn't there a difference between talking to yourself and talking out loud?
    I'd talk out loud (mostly while swearing) but I don't think I've had an external conversation with myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 698 ✭✭✭Tazio

I drive to work alone during weekdays.. replaying the audio from the carcam has been very interesting.. it sounds like the car is full sometimes.. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,410 ✭✭✭old_aussie

Not only do I talk to myself but I criticize myself as if I'm 'watching' myself doing things wrong. 'What the fuck did you do that for you idiot?'

I actually swear at myself, "you f*ck'n idiot why did you do that", I say to myself.!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

I do it all the time. Not out loud, but my lips do move — it's not just a conversation in my head. My kids sometimes catch me doing it. :o

I speak three languages pretty well (as in no real accent, and people often take me for a native speaker), and a large part of that definitely comes from years of sustained conversations held inside my motorbike helmet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,633 ✭✭✭✭Widdershins

A little bit. Mybe I murmur to myself. I don't think aloud but I noticed my lips moving when I'm going over something important in my mind, and sometimes when something important occurs to me it's like a Eureka moment and I say '' I've got it! I need to do X , and it'll all fall into place!'' or ''Oh! THAT'S WHERE I PUT IT!''. I think it's quite common.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,615 ✭✭✭Mr.Plough

Yes. We're both schizophrenic though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,564 ✭✭✭✭Tauriel

Of course, I'd be crazy not to!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

Yes. I find I get much better results in arguments when:
    a) It's the fifth or sixth time running through it
    b) It's 2-3 hours after the argument first happened and
    c) I'm on my own, usually in the car on my way home.

I'm really very eloquent then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I used to, but now I talk to the cat.

I am always having a conversation in my head, sometimes I can't sleep because of the conversations going on. Occasionally I realise I am actually talking out loud.
    I talk a lot in my sleep, my OH has commented regularly about me having a conversation while asleep.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,722 ✭✭✭nice_guy80

Its a very good mindfulness technique
    awareness of your surroundings and tasks to be completed
    has been used in the likes of Japan for centuries

used by sports people a lot as mental cues

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Yep, do it a lot either to help organise whatever I'm thinking about or to push myself a bit "come on, get up ta f*ck and do the washing" etc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

I do, mainly things that need doing at some point soon. Just a verbal check list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 62 ✭✭DELTATIP

Had to say it ........

I sure do talk to myself , Sometimes I need to hear from a expert. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,200 ✭✭✭appledrop

I'm known for talking to myself in work especially if I'm toting up figures. I've got the odd look over the years but doesn't bother me in the slightest. I rarely make a mistake so it must work!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,599 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

I hear voices, but ignore them and just carry on killing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,453 ✭✭✭RabbleRouser2k

All the dang time-full blown convos, reminders, and if I was writing out an email or something like that, I'd be talking it as I write it (that one I find helps me to get the tone right, otherwise it can be a bit robotic or too 'Dear sir, I am cold hearted individual who wishes to ask you for something. Sincerely, Man'.

It's a habit of mine, hence why I often wear earphones, and listen to music if I'm doing something-so I avoid talking to myself. I've had people take issue with it, thinking I was mental. But they often took issue with others for everything-like stupid stuff.
    I've used it to 'rehearse' if I was doing a presentation, or meeting someone new and worried I Would say something completely stupid.

Do it all the time-some people read all the time, some people whistle or sing, and some people talk to themselves-I'm the latter. And tbh, I can't remember NOT doing it. Even as a small child.

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,105 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I talk to myself all the time. No shame in it at all!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Non stop. An endless stream of words reverberating around my head. If I'm sitting in silence with nothing to do, such as travelling, my brain practically goes on 'Ted Talk' mode with all the major themes or viewpoints in my life being challenged and/or reinforced.

Doesn't everybody talk to themselves, more or less, anyway?