Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you ever gotten fake currency?

• 24-05-2017 2:31pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 29,930 ✭✭✭✭

Interesting thread over on the Consumer Issues forum where a guy is looking for advice after ending up with €1,300 worth of fake notes after selling a Macbook Pro on Adverts.

That's a pretty sickening amount of cash to get stung for - and stung he most definitely was, as the Gardai are now in possession of the fake currency.

Have you ever had fake notes? What did you do with it? Hypothetically, what would you do in the case of the guy who ended up with €1,300 of forged notes?

Whatever about writing off a 20, 50 or even a €100 note (I've only ever gotten, to my knowledge a fake €20 which looked pretty real), I can't quite imagine being able to do so with €1,300.

I have a tendency to just skim through notes to check the amount is there and usually check one or two of the notes at random, but I think after reading that horror story I'll be checking each one...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,888 ✭✭✭Atoms for Peace

I've got thousands in lira.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

I was given a token for a car wash as part of my change once.

It's only a dud if it's taken out of circulation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Ten-baht_coin
    It has the same look and same size as the 2 euro coin, but 35x less value. Got one once, kept it in circulation :)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Only when I play Monopoly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,656 ✭✭✭✭Tokyo

Cordell wrote: »
    It has the same look and same size as the 2 euro coin, but 35x less value. Got one once, kept it in circulation :)

Not quite, it's worth about 25c.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,088 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Never been stung to my knowledge, but these days I tend to use my debit card/PayPal for almost everything anyway so rarely have more than maybe €20 in cash on me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 779 ✭✭✭HONKEY TONK

Yep. when the world cup was on I worked in a Pub in a host city

The English lads had loads of fake €50

Spotted the first one and check the till to find 2 more.

lucky we were only open 20min as they tried to use alot of them during the day but we had copped it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,102 ✭✭✭greencap

Yep - a €20 note. Got rid of it in a canteen. :D

Yer man is mad going to the gardai with €1300.

He'll never recoup it now.

Should have stuck it somewhere safe and worked it off over the years.

Maybe report the guy and say that 10 of the notes he used were fake, and the others real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

greencap wrote: »
    ...Maybe report the guy and say that 10 of the notes he used were fake, and the others real.

Good idea! Then when John Law gets around to having a word with your man, and he tells them no, actually it was all fake, they're back round the original buyer's manor explaining that they have reason to believe that he is in the process of deliberately and knowingly palming off €800 worth of funny money and therefore let's be 'avin' you, sonny-Jim. In other words, pretty much what the guy on adverts did. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,390 ✭✭✭Cordell

mike_ie wrote: »
    Not quite, it's worth about 25c.
    Indeed, it's a tenner, my mistake :)

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I got a fake 10 dollar bill from an ATM once. The bank was closed and I was leaving the country the next day.

jimgoose wrote: »
    Good idea! Then when John Law gets around to having a word with your man, and he tells them no, actually it was all fake, they're back round the original buyer's manor explaining that they have reason to believe that he is in the process of deliberately and knowingly palming off €800 worth of funny money and therefore let's be 'avin' you, sonny-Jim. In other words, pretty much what the guy on adverts did. :pac:

Yes cause theyre believing the guy who just admitted his criminality when he accuses the guy who ratted him out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 657 ✭✭✭tracey turnblad

I worked in a cash office and we get them the odd time. I would always notice them because of the feel of them.. there is no texture just plain paper... we just wrote them off. If I got one personally I'd go back to the source but then it's your word against theirs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,734 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Many many years ago, around Christmas time, my friend and I got involved in a doubles pool match against two lads. £5 each, first game. We won and they asked for double and quits, we said yes, we won again. This went on until we had £80 each, at which point we politely declined the next game. They handed over the money and were were thrilled...until we went to try and spend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,747 ✭✭✭pawrick

Cordell wrote: »
    Got one of them also, added it to my box of foreign coins.

Mate of mine changed money in the street with a randomer to avoid the bureau de change queue. He didnt get fake currency but like the thai baht he got similar looking notes which were worth a fraction of the value he exchanged for. He lost about 100 euro in the deal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 697 ✭✭✭wordofwarning

No. I worked a in a very busy shop, bars and hotels over the years. I have easily handled close to €1m while working. You get a fair amount of dye packed notes eg notes from a robbed ATM dyed to make them useless. I refused to accept them, as the bank may refuse to accept them. But I have never seen a fake note

If you always show the customer you check notes, they will not attempt to pass fake notes IMO. The best way to test a note is scratch the raised part with your fingernail. You can fake watermarks, UV ink etc. The raised and textured ink is among the hardest to fake. The proper printing presses for raised ink are rare

I used to work for Argos. The amount of chancers that used to hand me terrible quality fake 50's was unreal. One particular guy tried it 3 times in one month with me. Felt good destroying them with one sweep of a detector pen.

Nice try. We know you accepted them and fronted the profit through a lazer tag game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

My dad has gotten a few from customers in large bundles of cash. He has successfully got rid of them in the bank when he handed in lots of cash - im amazed the machines didnt pick them up but he was lucky!

It seems less common now though.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭Persephone kindness

No. :)