Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roger Moore, RIP

• 23-05-2017 1:28pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭

http://www.bbc.com/news/entertainment-arts-40018422

From The Independent:

James Bond actor Sir Roger Moore has died aged 89, his family has confirmed.
    In a statement posted on the actor's official social media accounts it was revealed that Moore had passed away in Switzerland after a "short but brave battle with cancer".
    Moore was the third actor to play British secret agent James Bond, in seven feature films released between 1973 and 1985
    "The love with which he was surrounded in his final days was so great it cannot be quantified with words alone," the statement continued.
    "We know our own love and admiration will be magnified many times over, across the world, by people who knew him for his films, his television shows and his passionate work for UNICEF which he considered to be his greatest achievement.

I think I'll have to watch The Spy Who Loved Me and/or The Man Who Haunted Himself this evening.

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,883 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Ah, thats sad

he always came across as a gent, and seemed to have a very good sense of humour.

RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,076 ✭✭✭✭bnt

89 - that's a strong innings, and he was active all the way. Wasn't he in Dublin on a speaking tour earlier this year?

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,133 ✭✭✭Patty O Furniture

I think this merits its own thread,
    But watching sky news, i read that James Bond star Sir Roger Moore has passed away in Switzerland

Here's his family announcing news on Twitter

Here's a tribute to him:

Everyone has their fave Bond, he was my fave Bond, Suave, Sophisticated & Debonair at a time where you could get away with a lot at that time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

He wasn't my fav Bond - RIP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,809 ✭✭✭Hector Savage

RIP, as if today doesn't have enough bad news .

RIP Sir Roger

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

*raises eyebrow in tribute*

probably did a couple of movies too many, but Live and Let Die and The Spy who Loved Me are classic archetypal Bond movies and he always looked great in a safari suit. The Persuaders was great fun as well (it's rerunning on the "True Entertainment" channel on Sky at the moment).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,779 ✭✭✭Day Lewin

He'll always be The Saint to me. Good rest to him, he brought a lot of simple pleasure to a lot of people.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Never a huge fan of his Bond he will always be The Saint to me.

RIP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,087 ✭✭✭markc1184

RIP. I was only watching a rerun of Car SOS that he appeared on yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,393 ✭✭✭MonkieSocks

Came across as a really nice chap, lovable rogue type.

I remember him on a show a few tears ago, chatting the craic him and David Niven used to get up to :)

RIP :(

=(:-) Me? I know who I am. I'm a dude playing a dude disguised as another dude (-:)=

loyatemu wrote: »
    *raises eyebrow in tribute*

probably did a couple of movies too many, but Live and Let Die and The Spy who Loved Me are classic archetypal Bond movies and he always looked great in a safari suit. The Persuaders was great fun as well (it's rerunning on the "True Entertainment" channel on Sky at the moment).

You should really leave that eyebrow at half mast for the rest of the day! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 89,020 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Day Lewin wrote: »
    He'll always be The Saint to me. Good rest to him, he brought a lot of simple pleasure to a lot of people.

He was great as Templar

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,729 ✭✭✭fluke

tumblr_oqeua4gjJ71t34lj8o1_400.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,330 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

zorro2566 wrote: »
    You should really leave that eyebrow at half mast for the rest of the day! ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Roger Moore was actually Ian Flemings idea of how Bond should have been on screen, the first Bond I saw at the cinema (Live and Let Die) and probably my favourite along with, oddly enough Timothy Dalton. Light and shade :) Outside of 007 I liked his Andrew V. McLaglen trilogy - the Wild Geese, North Sea Hijack, The Sea Wolves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 626 ✭✭✭Wedwood

Saw him in Dublin last November, he was in great form and enthralled the audience with stories covering all aspects of his life.

He was the ultimate working class lad made good who never forgot his roots and never took his celebrity status too serious as a result.

One story he told last year was about how when he was in India making Octopussy, he was appalled by the abject poverty around them, which directly led to him becoming an ambassador for UNICEF, a cause for which he campaigned on for the rest of his life. Roger Moore became a real agent for good.

RIP Roger.

Little did he know when he gave a tribute to Clifton J Webb last month when he passed away, that he would pass away himself after a short illness:(

https://twitter.com/sirrogermoore/status/853368268396142592

Webb made his 007 debut in 1973's Live and Let Die playing the hapless Louisiana cop,

and the character was so popular he was asked to make a comeback in the next movie.
    Sheriff Pepper returned to the screen as an American tourist in Thailand in 1974's The Man With the Golden Gun.

But if you can't wait til the end, watch it below

RIP Boys!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

2024 Gigs and Events: David Suchet, Depeche Mode, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, The Smile, Pixies, Liam Gallagher John Squire/Jake Bugg, Kacey Musgraves (x2), Olivia Rodrigo, Mitski, Muireann Bradley, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Eric Clapton, Girls Aloud, Bruce Springsteen and the E Street Band, Rewind Festival, The Smashing Pumpkins/Weezer, Henry Winkler, P!nk, Pearl Jam/Richard Ashcroft, Taylor Swift/Paramore, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, Muireann Bradley, AC/DC, Deacon Blue/Altered Images, The The, blink-182, Coldplay, Gilbert O'Sullivan, Nick Lowe, David Gilmour, ABBA Voyage, St. Vincent, Public Service Broadcasting, Crash Test Dummies, Cassandra Jenkins.

2025 Gigs and Events: Stuart Murdoch, Lyle Lovett, The Corrs/Imelda May/Natalie Imbruglia, Olivia Rodrigo, Iron Maiden, Dua Lipa, Lana Del Rey, Weezer, Maya Hawke, Billie Eilish (x2), Oasis, Sharon Van Etten, The Human League, Deacon Blue

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,378 ✭✭✭BuilderPlumber

Very sad to hear of Roger's death. I always liked his Bond films and in fact was watching my favourite of his (Octopussy) at the weekend. I think his Bond films are constantly underrated and underappreciated. Films like For Your Eyes Only and Octopussy are often neglected gems in the franchise deliver great action and entertainment. Live and Let Die is one of the first Bond films I ever saw and it is a great stronger opening film for Roger.

North Sea Hijack is another film I remember well. It was similar enough to Bond only the character Ffolks in it was more eccentric and preferred cats to women. That film was at least part filmed in Ireland but was set in Scotland and Norway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,967 ✭✭✭✭Zulu

The man was "a class act" personified.
    Came across as a gent.
    Very sad to hear of his passing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 185 ✭✭RockSalto

The best Bond in my opinion. Grew up watching his Bond movies and still love them to this day.

RIP Sir Roger.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

A gent, my bond growing up.

Might see if I can get his autobiography.

BTW, that is a great story linked above.

Very sad to hear of Roger's death. I always liked his Bond films and in fact was watching my favourite of his (Octopussy) at the weekend. I think his Bond films are constantly underrated and underappreciated. Films like For Your Eyes Only and Octopussy are often neglected gems in the franchise deliver great action and entertainment. Live and Let Die is one of the first Bond films I ever saw and it is a great stronger opening film for Roger.

North Sea Hijack is another film I remember well. It was similar enough to Bond only the character Ffolks in it was more eccentric and preferred cats to women. That film was at least part filmed in Ireland but was set in Scotland and Norway.

I came across this story once, whether it was in the Documentary
    EON: Everything or Nothing or read it somewhere that Cubby Broccoli was with his family on holiday & met Maud Adams
    on a plane journey once & they must have hit it off, that he wrote a role for her in Octopussy & because of that Maud Adams
    Has appeared in three Bond movies (the only Bond Girl to do so)

What a gent he was, Nobody did it better than him!
    Great story to remember him by!

Btw you mention one of his films earlier, have you seen it?
    i must try it out to see what it's like, as i came across this by
    Film critic Barry Norman:

https://twitter.com/BarryNormanFilm/status/847337011497230342

I came across this story once, whether it was in the Documentary
    EON: Everything or Nothing or read it somewhere that Cubby Broccoli was with his family on holiday & met Maud Adams
    on a plane journey once & they must have hit it off, that he wrote a role for her in Octopussy & because of that Maud Adams
    Has appeared in three Bond movies (the only Bond Girl to do so)

I also heard a friend of mine say today that Maud Adams was meant to reprise her role as Octopussy in A View To A Kill, which was also to feature David Bowie as Zorin and to be set in Kenya, Russia, USA and France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 289 ✭✭AnnaStezia

I was sorry to hear that he was gone.

I always enjoyed him on film or TV.

In "real life" he always gave good interviews and the clear impression of someone who did not let fame go to his head unlike some of the awfully egotistical idiots in that industry. Mind you, it must have killed some of them that Sir Roger had the distinction of reprising James Bond 7 times.

I agree that some of the Bond films were not brilliant in that flash bang special effects all day sense. However, if you could suspend belief and go with the flow they were always entertaining. I suspect that any perceived inadequacies were a function of production as distinct from Sir Roger's performance.

RIP and thank you Sir Roger.........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,804 ✭✭✭delbertgrady

The Man Who Haunted Himself is excellent. It was reissued as a blu-ray/DVD double set about three or four years ago and is still available. It's very atmospheric in that brooding early seventies way and has an almost atypical Roger Moore performance. It also stars Olga Georges Picot, who was in two other gems of the 1970s - The Day of the Jackal and Love and Death.

I also heard a friend of mine say today that Maud Adams was meant to reprise her role as Octopussy in A View To A Kill, which was also to feature David Bowie as Zorin and to be set in Kenya, Russia, USA and France.

That would have been interesting & i wonder if David Bowie had done it, would he have made Labyrinth the following year:confused:

I think it is 100% true that David Bowie was considered to do Zorin but he chose Labyrinth instead so perhaps he could not have done both. As for the other things about the film:

Maud Adams: she was an extra in the San Francisco crowd apparently. So it is conceivable she was considered to be recast as Octopussy. It would have given the film a stronger Bond girl. Also the scriptwriter for Octopussy was wanted for this film but was unavailable. Maybe the plan was to get that scriptwriter onboard and it would have been a close sequel to Octopussy.
    The settings: The start is in Russia but filmed elsewhere (Goldeneye would of course get filmed in Russia itself). Then, France and America feature. The African setting is plausible as the song and the scenes in it (like Live And Let Die) are very Afro-based. Perhaps, the famine in Africa then prevented it from being set in that region.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,060 ✭✭✭Sexual Chocolate

Roger Moore was actually Ian Flemings idea of how Bond should have been on screen.

Rip Roger. Thought he was brilliant in The Spy Who Loves Me but also oddly enough thought he was funny in Cannonball Run playing a walter mitty bond.

Timothy Dalton was acutually the closest as to how Bond is portrayed in the books believe it or not. The producers always wanted Dalton since Connery steped down.

Little triva fact. Moore was 3 years older then Connery and was 45 when he made Live and Let Die.

AnnaStezia wrote: »
    I was sorry to hear that he was gone.

I always enjoyed him on film or TV.

In "real life" he always gave good interviews and the clear impression of someone who did not let fame go to his head unlike some of the awfully egotistical idiots in that industry. Mind you, it must have killed some of them that Sir Roger had the distinction of reprising James Bond 7 times.

I agree that some of the Bond films were not brilliant in that flash bang special effects all day sense. However, if you could suspend belief and go with the flow they were always entertaining. I suspect that any perceived inadequacies were a function of production as distinct from Sir Roger's performance.

RIP and thank you Sir Roger.........

Sean Connery starred in 7 Bond films himself, albeit last one was an unofficial one called Never Say Never Again, it was a remake of Thunderball with Kim Basinger.
    The name was a play on him never doing Bond again, ironically though as his last Bond film was called You Only Live Twice :P
    The film took almost 10yrs afaik through legal wrangles & was finally made & it was released in '83 same year as Octopussy, there was really no competition, as it barely registered against the latest Bond film.

Sean Connery starred in 7 Bond films himself, albeit last one was an unofficial one called Never Say Never Again, it was a remake of Thunderball with Kim Basinger.
    The name was a play on him never doing Bond again, ironically though as his last Bond film was called You Only Live Twice :P
    The film took almost 10yrs afaik through legal wrangles & was finally made & it was released in '83 same year as Octopussy, there was really no competition, as it barely registered against the latest Bond film.

Connery did 5 in a row ending with You Only Live Twice. Then he returned for Diamonds Are Forever, his last official Bond. Then, he did Never Say Never Again the same year as Octopussy and it was the only serious 'unoffical' Bond film made (there was at least one more planned but it never happened called Warhead). While clearly based on Thunderball, it was good and added a new dimension to things and was a precursor to Dalton's Bond too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,077 ✭✭✭Oasis1974

Sorry to hear him pass in fairness he was just a journeyman actor his eyebrows had better performance's​ than him. Connery then Craig would have been my favourite Bond's. Liver spots don't suit James Bond :)

Oasis1974 wrote: »
    Connery then Craig would have been my favourite Bond's. Liver spots don't suit James Bond :)

Connery was indeed a great Bond,

Craig is decent enough as bond but the movies are diabolical, with the exception of Casino Royale, each and every Bond after Casino Royale has been worse than it's predecessor.

Connery was indeed a great Bond,

Craig is decent enough as bond but the movies are diabolical, with the exception of Casino Royale, each and every Bond after Casino Royale has been worse than it's predecessor.

I was just saying this to someone this morning.

I think as farcical as some of the Roger Moore ones were, they have a huge re-watch value, which most of the Craig ones don't.

fluke wrote: »
    I was just saying this to someone this morning.

I think as farcical as some of the Roger Moore ones were, they have a huge re-watch value, which most of the Craig ones don't.

I watched A View to a Kill the other day, really enjoyed it,
    and watched Live and Let Die last night and again, thoroughly enjoyed it also.

When you look back on the old Bond's now, yeah they were cheesy at times, but they were action packed adventure movies, nowadays they seem to be trying to be spy/suspense thrillers with 2/3 big action sequences, and thats it.

Quantun of Solace was bloody awful (I can only remember the car chase at the beginning)
    Skyfall was utter tripe
    Spectre was possibly one of the worst Bond films I've ever seen (and thats including some of Pierce Brosnan's editions).

Even Moonraker and Octopussy are huge fun!

Give me those any day over Craig's outings bar CR. Even CR is overly serious!

I watched A View to a Kill the other day, really enjoyed it,
    and watched Live and Let Die last night and again, thoroughly enjoyed it also.

When you look back on the old Bond's now, yeah they were cheesy at times, but they were action packed adventure movies, nowadays they seem to be trying to be spy/suspense thrillers with 2/3 big action sequences, and thats it.

Quantun of Solace was bloody awful (I can only remember the car chase at the beginning)
    Skyfall was utter tripe
    Spectre was possibly one of the worst Bond films I've ever seen (and thats including some of Pierce Brosnan's editions).

Live and Let Die is a great Bond film I feel with some great action. Tee Hee is one of the best henchmen in the series. It is generally a highly rated film. A View To A Kill is one of the ones shamelessly underrated. I often feel it is an ageist thing here. If this was made in the 1970s, it would have been treated more kindly. There is once more great action and Zorin is one of the best Bond villains.
    Even Moonraker and Octopussy are huge fun!

Give me those any day over Craig's outings bar CR. Even CR is overly serious!

Moonraker and Octopussy are two other sorely underrated Bond films. Octopussy is probably my favourite of Roger's films and delivers great action and can combine comedy elements in what is essentially a serious cold war thriller well. Moonraker I think very successfully combined Bond and space films well and also had some of the best action sequences in the series too.

While I like Daniel Craig's films too, I think there is a tendency to sort of dismiss everything between Goldfinger and Casino Royale. Between these, there are loads of excellent neglected gems starring Sean Connery, Roger Moore, George Lazenby, Pierce Brosnan and Timothy Dalton that do need to be re-evaluated and are being so.

SPECTRE for me had the most disappointing ending of any Bond film. Compare most of Roger's films with it, you have a great conclusion in 6 of the 7 films he did. The Man With The Golden Gun had a poor finale admittedly and sadly things deflated in the second half of that film (where there is virtually no action) after an excellent action packed first half.

Connery did 5 in a row ending with You Only Live Twice. Then he returned for Diamonds Are Forever, his last official Bond. Then, he did Never Say Never Again the same year as Octopussy and it was the only serious 'unoffical' Bond film made (there was at least one more planned but it never happened called Warhead). While clearly based on Thunderball, it was good and added a new dimension to things and was a precursor to Dalton's Bond too.

Heh, that's The two films that always catch me out is You Only Live Twice & Moonraker, as i keep thinking it was done in the same year as that other space film in '77;)

I wonder was Dalton ever asked to come back to do another one?
    Considering that Remington Steele held out til the 30th day to ask Pierce Brosnan to come back & do another year which was the final year, afaik that final season brought him back to Ireland to find out about his father?
    Oasis1974 wrote: »
    Sorry to hear him pass in fairness he was just a journeyman actor his eyebrows had better performance's​ than him. Connery then Craig would have been my favourite Bond's. Liver spots don't suit James Bond :)

i read somewhere, that he said he only had 3 facial expressions: RH Eyebrow lift, LH eyebrow lift & Both lifted at same time :D

But i think each Bond brought something different, as during Roger's time there was a lot of campness going around, with shows like Miami Vice's Don Johnson's & his suits!
    & bizarrely on last Tues, i noticed The Best of Benny Hill was on Film4 & no doubt he's mentioned/coined the phrase "a Good Rogering" :P

As it was a non PC time then & everything was fair game, it wouldn't go down well now, but you do look back & laff & wonder how the feck did they get away with that :eek:;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,016 ✭✭✭Zardoz

Nice tribute video by the James Bond producers to Roger here .

https://twitter.com/007/status/868138433662730240

Live and Let Die is a great Bond film I feel with some great action. Tee Hee is one of the best henchmen in the series. It is generally a highly rated film. A View To A Kill is one of the ones shamelessly underrated. I often feel it is an ageist thing here. If this was made in the 1970s, it would have been treated more kindly. There is once more great action and Zorin is one of the best Bond villains.

One thing i learned from watching it, don't get too close to Tee Hee as he gets attached to you very quickly!
    I wonder if he could av been a good match for OddJobtongue.png

But don't forget Jaws & his killer smilesmile.png
    I don't think any other henchmen made it to a second film?

Moonraker and Octopussy are two other sorely underrated Bond films. Octopussy is probably my favourite of Roger's films and delivers great action and can combine comedy elements in what is essentially a serious cold war thriller well. Moonraker I think very successfully combined Bond and space films well and also had some of the best action sequences in the series too.

While I like Daniel Craig's films too, I think there is a tendency to sort of dismiss everything between Goldfinger and Casino Royale. Between these, there are loads of excellent neglected gems starring Sean Connery, Roger Moore, George Lazenby, Pierce Brosnan and Timothy Dalton that do need to be re-evaluated and are being so.

I liked him first in Layer CAke afaik 10yrs b4 Bond, he was in that with Colm Meaney.
    But he wasn't widely received by critics, remember when he was introduced to the media by landing on a speedboat with a lifejacket on, he was criticized for that & not forgetting Bondnotblond.com rolleyes.png
    So he had to win them over with Casino Royale.

As with Skyfall was better than Spectre, but with the downturn in the recession left MGM badly shaken up & almost went bankrupt & the story had to be scaled back & only with a product placement from Heineken, so the martini's were gone!
    But went on to make over a billion in box office, so shrewd investment amidst the change.
    SPECTRE for me had the most disappointing ending of any Bond film. Compare most of Roger's films with it, you have a great conclusion in 6 of the 7 films he did. The Man With The Golden Gun had a poor finale admittedly and sadly things deflated in the second half of that film (where there is virtually no action) after an excellent action packed first half.

As soon as i saw that ending, it was overkill, even my young nephew & niece who went to see it, didn't like it, now that's bad wink.png

I mean Christoff Waltz is a terrific double Oscar winning actor, but i think he was miscast here as the villain, as he was too corny

Don't get me started on Sam Smith & the plaudits he received after that wailing songfrown.png

Was that the ending with Nick-Nack, yeah that ending did fall short, if you'll excuse the pun!

As soon as i saw that ending, it was overkill, even my young nephew & niece who went to see it, didn't like it, now that's bad wink.png

I mean Christoff Waltz is a terrific double Oscar winning actor, but i think he was miscast here as the villain, as he was too corny

Don't get me started on Sam Smith & the plaudits he received after that wailing songfrown.png

Was that the ending with Nick-Nack, yeah that ending did fall short, if you'll excuse the pun!

SPECTRE could have been so much better. After the fight on the train, there is no more good quality action. When Bond escapes Blofeld's lair in Mauritania, it is very formulaic and over in seconds. The conclusion in London was an anti-climax and certainly not like the old Blofeld.

Christoff Waltz was wasted and so too was the Blofeld character. I said in another threat that they should have stuck close to Ian Fleming's background for the character. Oberhauser was a totally separate character and he should not have been hastily transformed into Blofeld. Clearly, Christoff Waltz was hired to play an updtate of the Skyfall villain and was turned into Blofeld the last minute.

The Man With The Golden Gun seemed to lose momentum as it went along. It started out very well with a good villain and a good fight in Beirut and later some good martial arts action. After that, it seemed to go downhill. A boring car chase, a boring duel and a silly fight with Nick Nack definitely came up short! I heard that the reason why the second half was so poor was because other things were planned for the film but were abandoned. There was supposed to be a part set in Iran (then ruled by Mohammed Reza Pahlavi) and also a jungle chase scene (which was written but actually was eventually used in Octopussy).

Watched The Spy Who Loved Me last night. Cracking stuff. Any of the Lotus stuff is ace. The boat set-piece drags on a bit near the end, but overall it was a great experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,933 ✭✭✭McLoughlin

Dalton has a three film deal and his third Bond film was due to be titled The Property of a Lady due to be release in 1991 but legal behind the scenes issues delayed it to the point where in 1994 Dalton decided to quit.

Roger Moore was due to be the fist Bond but his TV contracts made that impossible and I dug out the VHS last night and re watch a bunch of his Bonds sure they are cheesy but highly fun and re watchable unlike the last few films.

EON, MGM, and Park Circus have just announced the release of The Spy Who Loved Me and For Your Eyes Only in newly restored 4k versions as they return to cinemas worldwide beginning 31st May to celebrate the life of Sir Roger Moore with 50% of all proceeds going to UNICEF.

http://www.parkcircus.com/latest/1335_sir_roger_moore_tribute

Radio Times

http://www.007.com/sir-roger-moore-films-return-cinemas/

Posters-1000x763.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 915 ✭✭✭geecee

Like others have posted - the 2 movies pictured above are 2 of my earliest memories of going to the cinema

No sign of them on Odeon Ireland website... would really love it if they were re-released here

Watched The Spy Who Loved Me last night. Cracking stuff. Any of the Lotus stuff is ace. The boat set-piece drags on a bit near the end, but overall it was a great experience.

The Spy Who Loved Me is a great and entertaining film as are most all these Bond films of that era. It is also one of the films that set trends that were carried forward to future films. From this film, up to and including Timothy Dalton's The Living Daylights, the General Gogal character and the general plots of UK and Soviet cooperation was evident. This defined Roger Moore's era and one of Timothy Dalton's films too as much as SPECTRE and Blofeld defined Sean Connery's.
    McLoughlin wrote: »
    Dalton has a three film deal and his third Bond film was due to be titled The Property of a Lady due to be release in 1991 but legal behind the scenes issues delayed it to the point where in 1994 Dalton decided to quit.

Roger Moore was due to be the fist Bond but his TV contracts made that impossible and I dug out the VHS last night and re watch a bunch of his Bonds sure they are cheesy but highly fun and re watchable unlike the last few films.

It was a pity The Property of a Lady did not get made. I read the intended story of it and it sounded great. It was more The Living Daylights style than Licence To Kill. I think some parts of it did end up in Goldeneye.

I think as said before that a major reevaluation of the Roger Moore Bond films is needed. They I think suffered in the 1980s because of the popularity of the Rambo type film (a type of film that has faded from popularity ironically while the old Bonds still remain popular). But the world of Bond and Rambo were not all that far apart. Of course, the Bond films factored Rambo and the like into the equation: towards the end of Octopussy, we see Bond slide down the staircase shooting his enemies with a machinegun and towards the end of A View To Kill, we get to see Zorin machinegun down all his workers. Steven Berkoff (Orlov in Octopussy) would also play a similar bad Russian character in the second Rambo.

Now, I think that the late 1970s and 1980s Bond films do need to be reevaluated. They are all very entertaining and can be enjoyed over and over I feel.

I like Daniel Craig's films too but are they a tad overrated? Casino Royale was excellent certainly. Quantum of Solace certainly was action packed but too short. Skyfall is a very good film but it is not one for everyone. It is a sort of a slow burner and for the first hour or so, not a hell of a lot happens. The second half is good but overall it is a dark, often depressing film. For a film that entertains and makes one happy, I'd go for one like Octopussy and Moonraker.

SPECTRE, while I don't hate it, is the poorest of Daniel Craig's Bond films. I feel it introduced Blofeld in a poor way and by linking the Skyfall story to things, it sort of deflated the idea of a mad ex agent out for revenge against M. It was pathetic seeing Blofeld all alone in London and not in charge of some grandiose plot of world domination. The old Blofeld always had a well guarded volcano crater, mountain resort or oilrig where he was about to cause a war or unleash a plague if he did not get money or whatever he wanted.

I think a good old-style Bond film would be good to see. We may have had too much of this personalised mission type film at this stage. Bond getting revenge for Vesper. Silva getting revenge on M. Blofeld getting revenge on Bond. Bond versus some madman seeking world domination would be good to see again.

While Blofeld was poorly introduced in SPECTRE, that does not stop a better version of him being portrayed in a future film. Christoff Waltz has the talent to be a great Blofeld and he could do so in the next film and bring it closer to the Donald Pleasance, Telly Savalas and/or Charles Gray interpretations. Just don't mention the Oberhauser connection or better still just have Blofeld admit that that was 'fake news' to annoy Bond!