Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ideas to help my Dad keep occupied.

• 21-05-2017 3:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭

Hey all. Wondering if there is any ideas on this.my dad finally came out of hospital after having a mild stroke and it's great.l to have him home. Problem is the poor man is home 2days and is already bored but he really has to take it easy which isn't something that comes naturally to him. So has anyone by ideas small jobs or things I can try suggest to keep him occupied? He's out wandering around the yard already (telling me what I'm doing wrong!!)and I'd prefer to give him something he can do to do rather then me finding him half way through something he shouldn't be doing!!! He can really only do v light no lifting/dragging etc and has to be carefully walking.... its just his mental health needs to be watched now!! He just isn't able to sit inside watching TV for too long and his only real hobby is vintage tractors....any ideas would be welcome!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,123 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

L1985 wrote: »
    Hey all. Wondering if there is any ideas on this.my dad finally came out of hospital after having a mild stroke and it's great.l to have him home. Problem is the poor man is home 2days and is already bored but he really has to take it easy which isn't something that comes naturally to him. So has anyone by ideas small jobs or things I can try suggest to keep him occupied? He's out wandering around the yard already (telling me what I'm doing wrong!!)and I'd prefer to give him something he can do to do rather then me finding him half way through something he shouldn't be doing!!! He can really only do v light no lifting/dragging etc and has to be carefully walking.... its just his mental health needs to be watched now!! He just isn't able to sit inside watching TV for too long and his only real hobby is vintage tractors....any ideas would be welcome!!!
    I think this is worthy of a thread of it's own. What kind of farming do ye do? Would some time spent at the local mart, even for a few hours do him good? It would lift his spirits to meet a few of the locals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭L1985

Possibly wasn't sure if it should be a new thread or not. Can mods split it?
    We are suckler farmers, I work full time as well so hopefully Mam will try get him grounded. The marts an option but he can't drive and it would just be Saturdays. He can't do that for a few weeks yet anyway as I'd be worried it would be a bit much....he's great when he's around other people and has someone to chat to he's just really really bad at doing nothing and it drives him cracked which is what we are worried about! Hence I was trying to think of things to keep him occupied.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

We are suckler farmers, I work full time as well so hopefully Mam will try get him grounded. The marts an option but he can't drive and it would just be Saturdays. He can't do that for a few weeks yet anyway as I'd be worried it would be a bit much....he's great when he's around other people and has someone to chat to he's just really really bad at doing nothing and it drives him cracked which is what we are worried about! Hence I was trying to think of things to keep him occupied.

I think its worth a thread aswell , theres plenty of situations like this .
    One of the fathers buddies was in a similar situation a few years ago and got into carving things out of bog oak . You would never put him down as a lad who would be into it but it suited him at the time and he loved it .
    I think its a perfect time life to try something new

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,205 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Look after your mam too. Are there any grandkids to keep him occupied to?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Any " Men's sheds" in the area?

http://menssheds.ie/

Good thinking re my Mam as she will need a bit of patience as he can be stubborn. Didn't know about men's shed that's something I'll deff look into! Grandkids are in school and that bit far but good idea for the weekends. Re the wood carving he doesn't really like carpentry wouldn't have the attention to detail that's required. He loved working with metal and making farm stuff but he's not allowed use the welder anymore which is a v sore spot. Trying something new would be good. He loves engineering, building /fixing things and pottering around with stuff. Problem is that's all too heavy going at the moment hence why I'm looking for other ideas...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 jdmurf

Been in same situation, father got very bad haemorrhage but got back home after few months but no driving, no welding and no wood turning!!! Not good for a man that loved all these things immensely.... He came home to a new polytunnel..... I had it Up, kitted out and ready to go.... Couldn't recommend it highly enough to you, if he has even the remotest interest.... Not too late in season, just buy grown tomatoes, courgettes, cucumbers, peppers etc... Honestly, super for his recovery....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Computer classes?

Are you in the BDGP scheme? Show him how to use the ICBF website and put a bit focus on future breeding strategies etc identifying potential culls, the cows that are performing well etc . He might find it interesting to look a the progeny performance of individual cows etc.

Also there are endless sites on vintage tractors for him to browse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 332 ✭✭GiantPencil

Computer classes?

Are you in the BDGP scheme? Show him how to use the ICBF website and put a bit focus on future breeding strategies etc identifying potential culls, the cows that are performing well etc . He might find it interesting to look a the progeny performance of individual cows etc.

Also there are endless sites on vintage tractors for him to browse
    +1 on that....since BDGP my dad has gotten fierce interested in the stats on bulls....so much so that he trawls through ai books and even got him onto the french database so he can see how french bulls are doing in France that would be new to Ireland. He's now telling me what bulls we need to use to fit the attributes that the cows brings to the table...it's refreshing!

Yeah the computer courses would be a great idea. Hadn't thought of that I'll make some calls tomorrow on that. That will get him better on the iPad and he can look up the vintage tractors. The poly tunnel don't think so he wouldn't be great at gardening and wouldn't have much patience for it. And we have hens.... that will deff help.
    Thanks everyone for the suggestions and if you think of anymore send them my way!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭The Real Elmer Fudd

Also grassland management through grass measuring etc

Tell him it's something you've wanted to do on farm for awhile but you just don't have the time to start. Ask him would he take up the mantle and then you can learn from him.

It'll drastically help improve grass management on farm and it will also get your dad out for a leisurely walk around the entire farm on a weekly basis measuring grass and taking soil samples

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Would he be interested in YouTube videos/documentaries?

Not sure. I'll try get him into it. It's just dad has the philosophy that if you are sitting down your doing nothing and he prefers to be out and about and feeling productive. But at the same time he isn't physically active so that could be a good idea to keep his mind occupied.
    Grass measuring is excellent idea as it's true it is something I've been wanting to do and havnt had the time. I'll try icbf as well but not sure if that will work as dad likes our bull and he's v fussy re the bull so AI isn't a road he wants to go down!
    Thanks again everyone :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,717 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Think the tunnel is a great idea, keeps him busy but away from stock and machinery for a while where he might get in trouble.
    It should cover your mam too so all the better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

Does he like dogs. A nice sheepdog would be great company for him and give him something to do.

If you can take him herding in the jeep it might be something different for him.

There Is also the option of day care one or two days a week where he'd have company and it would break up the week. A bus take in a few of the locals here for the day and brings them back in the evening But he might not like the idea of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭MickeyShtyles

There's a chap on Twitter who's started doing podcasts on other twitter users who he interacts with.
    Each podcast is about an hour long.
    It's fairly entertaining!
    Rock'nroll farming is the tag!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,578 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

jdmurf wrote: »
    Been in same situation, father got very bad haemorrhage but got back home after few months but no driving, no welding and no wood turning!!! Not good for a man that loved all these things immensely.... He came home to a new polytunnel..... I had it Up, kitted out and ready to go.... Couldn't recommend it highly enough to you, if he has even the remotest interest.... Not too late in season, just buy grown tomatoes, courgettes, cucumbers, peppers etc... Honestly, super for his recovery....
    _Brian wrote: »
    Think the tunnel is a great idea, keeps him busy but away from stock and machinery for a while where he might get in trouble.
    It should cover your mam too so all the better.

I think the poly tunnell is a great idea as well, or a glass house and a few raised beds. Saw some raised beds lately that were 20-30'' off the ground. The advantage of the poly tunnells and the raised beds is that this year off new ground there will be little need for compast or FYM. Not too late to be putting in vegetable or even bedding plants for later in the year.

It is something that your mother can give him a hand with or that when the grand kids are there at the weekend that they can do with him as well. It will get him out and about. As well as he gets better next year there will be more work involved getting FYM into tunnels or beds. Also gardening is somthing that is tiring and will slow you down without being physically demanding. Things like watering weeding etc.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,458 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Has he any interest in sports? Clubs are always looking for someone to send out texts and do other bits and pieces around the club which wouldn't involve coaching.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

If he's into the vintage tractors, would he be into model building? Some fantastic vintage tractor ones. Another idea would be stationary engines - easier to work on, and can keep an vintage guy going for hours.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,358 ✭✭✭kollegeknight

Gravelly wrote: »
    If he's into the vintage tractors, would he be into model building? Some fantastic vintage tractor ones. Another idea would be stationary engines - easier to work on, and can keep an vintage guy going for hours.

I was thinking the same idea. Small tool restoration. We have a vintage rally locally and some of the little set ups lads have is mighty. One chap has a robe/twine maker/twister. Another had a variety of woodworking planes.

Thanks all. The polytunel is a good idea but suggested it to dad and absolutely no interest. Might work for someone else's dad.the vintage ideas is great. What's a stationary engine? He loves mechanics and working with stuff so that could work. Where would you get them? ( I have no interest/knowledge in mechanics!!!) the vintage modes would be worth a try as well!! Thanks all for the suggestions. Really appreciate it!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Try and have a look at the mens sheds.
    I know some of them down here were repairing motorbikes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Gravelly

Thanks all. The polytunel is a good idea but suggested it to dad and absolutely no interest. Might work for someone else's dad.the vintage ideas is great. What's a stationary engine? He loves mechanics and working with stuff so that could work. Where would you get them? ( I have no interest/knowledge in mechanics!!!) the vintage modes would be worth a try as well!! Thanks all for the suggestions. Really appreciate it!!

Stationary engines are, as the name suggests, engines that are stationary! They are small vintage engines, usually mounted on a small frame or cart and were used to drive machinery, pumps etc. They are popular among vintage enthusiasts as they are inexpensive, easy to work on, and don't require a large garage or complex tools. Any of the vintage clubs would put you in touch with the right people, and they are often up for sale on donedeal etc. such as this one:

https://www.donedeal.ie/vintagemachinery-for-sale/petter-stationary-engine/15227837

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Who2

It might be the simplest of things that will keep him going, my own dad has started taking my daughter with him out to check the cows (really just a walk over the fields) its now become a daily thing and while the walk lasts five to ten minutes he usually talks about it for at least two hours every day to absolutely anyone that listens. I hope he makes a full recovery.

Could be anything, water pumps- power transfers etc. And prices vary. What part of the country are you in?

https://youtu.be/9wANHxYZa-w

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Track9

Perhaps join Volunteer Ireland .( hope i got that correct )Its a central coordinator for volunteers .
    A number of agencies would like to have some one of maturity to help out.
    Example Mentor poor kids in largish towns .
    Vincent De Paul would most likely do with extra Home Visitors .
    Volunteer in Credit Union ( Lending committee ) no bother to someone self employed .

Hi all just remembered this thread here and thought I'd give a bit of an update. So dads had a tough few months-we have just been told he won't be able to drive again and given that we live in the middle of nowhere it's not great. He's in a lot better spirits. In regards to keeping him occupied he started going for 3-4 short walks per day. The bobcats been a godsend as well as he can easily enough drive that and do a few bits. Mainly I have jest been better at getting him involved where I can although it can be headwrecking for me ( he isn't the easiest to work with)it's great for dad to feel useful(which he generally is tbf) even just getting him to open and close gates and stand in gaps while before I'd have done it myself.It makes a huge difference to him and I could do with a bit more patience as well so it's good for me too. I get him more involved in planning things and if there are small jobs he can do I get him to do them. Seems to be workin well and he's in a lot better form. Winter will be interesting thou as he will be a lot more cooped up.
    Just want to say thanks for all the suggestions on here-the stationary engines might stil be an option for winter!!

Fair play to you. Patience is a hard skill to learn. You will have no regrets with the approach you are taking.

Yes-I just have to remind myself that maybe that stake could be 4 inches to the left (that was one actually shouted instruction lol)and that in the grand scheme of things it doesn't matter that much. And tbf I'm getting there as well it's a completely different dynamic and that takes adjusting for everyone!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

There's a whole lot of difference between being reasonably right and being a PITA. Reasonably right is good enough for most jobs.

Sometimes work with a guy, who is OTT particular. drives me bananas.
    Take it easy with him. In many ways, he is now the child and you the father. Such is the wheel of life and all our turns will come.

Lol it would be some turn of events if I was the father as a sex change would be needed!. Yes and dad can deff be a PITA but he thinks he is contributing-now I do call him on it but I'm learning to let the small stuff slide! The dynamic has shifted over the past 18months or so so just need to go with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Neon_Lights

Is there a men's shed in your area might find a project to do, anything from wood turning to electronics to God knows what

And I always thought women were more easy going in these situations than men.
    Ah my gender stereotyping.

Water John wrote: »
    And I always thought women were more easy going in these situations than men.
    Ah my gender stereotyping.
    Eh what?? As in Situations where you are dealing with someone with a serious illness and running a business at the same time as working full time? Farming can be stressful, working with family can be stressful and dealing with illness is stressful- so not sure where the easygoing comment came from or how my genders relevant to be honest.....I have pointed out that I may need more patience but ah the same time there is only so much you can do sometimes and that's something I recognise as well-I'm not going for sainthood awards!! I'm just trying to do the best I can and I think anyone would roll their eyes at being told to move a stake 4inches on a day when your crazy busy and are trying to strip graze 30cows!!

The remark was against myself, for my presumption.

I got that-I just didn't get the easygoing comment or how my gender could have a bearing in how I'm dealing with the situation I described.....but we can leave it there. I know how things can be phrased wrong sometimes