Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help please, possibly ​injured bird. What should I do?

• 11-05-2017 1:50pm

I'm just after finding this fella outside my gaff lying on the ground. I'm guessing he can't fly. I have him inside now in a box and giving him some water. Can anyone advise me what to do next? Or even what he is / how old he is
    Thanks lads

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Hi op,
    You need to put the little fella back where you found him, and keep a close eye out in case a cat or other danger comes along. If you can find a nest nearby, put him close to it or in it... He's very young. A starling, I think?
    There's a very strong possibility that it's parents are out there looking for it, and can mind it just fine :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,170 ✭✭✭sillysmiles

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,057 ✭✭✭.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Note to casual readers:

If you're not a bird, don't be going near a bird. Birds know what they're doing themselves. They don't need you putting them in boxes. If they wanted to be in boxes, they'd find the boxes themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 813 ✭✭✭kathleen37

To be fair - at least the OP has tried to help.

The issue with fledglings is they are at risk from magpies/grey crows, as well as the move obvious cats/dogs.

OP - as has been advised - if there are no obvious injuries - then put back where you found it. The best thing you can do for it is to stand well back and keep and eye on it if you can to keep the predators away.

I live in a terraced house, no front garden. He was on the busy footpath. Do I put him back there?

endacl wrote: »
    Note to casual readers:

If you're not a bird, don't be going near a bird. Birds know what they're doing themselves. They don't need you putting them in boxes. If they wanted to be in boxes, they'd find the boxes themselves.

Very useful post, thanks. You certainly put me in my place

I live in a terraced house, no front garden. He was on the busy footpath. Do I put him back there?

Starlings are notorious for nesting in guttering/eaves of houses.

I'm guessing there are no trees about??

Try looking around - a nest will be obvious from the bird poo splattered on walls. You should also check to see if you can see parents flying about, looking for the little one.

If you see the parents, then I would put him on a window sill as they will be able to feed him there.

See what other peoples thoughts are too.

Good luck!!!

Thanks for your help, I really appreciate it. I could put him out in my yard on the window sill but we have big pigeons we feed coming in there a few times a day. Would he be safe there

Honestly, it depends on where the nest/his parents are.

They may not think to fly to look very far for him - they are used to checking the "down route" from the nest.

If you can't find anything out the front (though he should have come from there, unless there was a huge gust of wind which took him from somewhere?) then it would be worth trying to just put him on the ground out the back. Putting him on a windowsill where the birds aren't used to going, I doubt they would see him.

If he's out there for a while, with no sign of the parents, then I'd suggest phoning some local wildlife rescue places (expect them to say "don't touch it" - you'll need to explain he was in foot space and was at risk)

Hopefully you'll get sorted. Good for you for trying to help

To update, I've spoken to a veterinarian regarding the bird. She's advised me there's no suitable place in my area to put him, too much foot traffic, no trees or bushes and there's a few cats in the area too. I've checked my roof and all the gutters and there's no sign of a nest of any sort so tomorrow I'll be handing it over to the vet who very kindly offered to look after the small fella. I haven't a clue how it ended up in front of my house :)
    Thanks to all for your advice and help

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 9,790 Mod ✭✭✭✭DBB

Good for you op!
    Well done :)

THat's excellent!!! Thanks for helping!

Update. Bird is after dying. I gave him plenty of water and food so it was probably just stressed from me taking him in.
    Again, thanks all for your advice

Ahh, that's sad, I'm sorry. Again, thanks for helping

Cheers for the kind words fellas, and thanks for all the advice ye gave me earlier