Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Two garda brothers giving out info.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 615 ✭✭✭Boaty

Insurance companies should be allowed access social welfare records of people who they think are committng insurance fraud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,915 ✭✭✭cursai

Boaty wrote: »
    Insurance companies should be allowed access social welfare records of people who they think are committng insurance fraud.

Why did you do it? And whats your name?

oh...and whats your brothers name?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Boaty wrote:

Maybe let them access your medical files and bank accounts as well? Sure what could go wrong? You realise data protection laws are there for a reason.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I don't see any convictions of the two Garda and the civil servant who supplied the information.
    Did I not read it correctly or was it forgotten?

diomed wrote: »
    I don't see any convictions of the two Garda and the civil servant who supplied the information.

Maybe the Journo forgot it. Its the Independent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Whistleblowers get hounded. Information theft gets high-fives. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

diomed wrote: »

Civil servants are untouchable ya silly :rolleyes:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

Not suprised at all it's probably a lot more widespread than we think those folks just happened to get caught while the rest have gotten away with it.

Conspiracies aside. We don't WHO was caught yet??

Sure you're in the station nothing on the telly what else would you be at only surfing the 'pulse'.

nhunter100 wrote: »
    Sure you're in the station nothing on the telly what else would you be at only surfing the 'pulse'.

Sharing a few posts and such.....with yer aunt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

They should be suspended from duty and a full audit done of all use they have had of pulse/social welfare to see what other information they are gathering.

Maybe let them access your medical files and bank accounts as well? Sure what could go wrong? You realise data protection laws are there for a reason.

Let's let the insurance scammers have free reign so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,762 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Social welfare records are none of their business, the insurance companies need to operate within the laws of the state, if they can't do this without breaking data protection laws they should close up shop.

Boaty wrote:

Other ways to deal with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,800 ✭✭✭Senna

I'm not saying insurance companies should have free access to what ever information they want, but there is a lot of serial fraud going on that could easily be stops with some select information sharing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,710 ✭✭✭flutered

who they think?, that would give the acess to every ones data, all they need to say is, we think jon citizen is commiting fraud, had over the details

They should be suspended from duty and a full audit done of all use they have had of pulse/social welfare to see what other information they are gathering.
    then charged as the pi was

there are ways and means open to insurance companys, all legal and above board, two wrongs do not make a right,

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

I Know of pub in a certain city in Ireland where a lot of Gardai drink and the pub owner likes to find out information on his customers . So I know a guy who drinks in the same pub and he is from outside the city and the pub owner just knows his first name say John but not his Surname so the pub owner asked this guy his surname. and the guy I know said none of your business . So later on that night he asked a friend of the pub owner why does he want my Surname he told him the pub owner likes to check out his customers from Gardai friends with the Garda pulse system.

I call bs on that, if the pub owner wanted to check out his customers, he would talk to them after they've had a few drinks.

The same pub owner is aloud to flout the law by serving drinks after hours till 4 our 5 in the morning full house and the noise coming from this pub is unreal . The Gardai never raid the pub because there all in the pub drinking.

Are you in there drinking as well? I think someone hates the guards just a little bit.

:eek: I am drinking there no way in that kip of a pub if I got drink there for free I would tell the pub owner get stuffed.I dont like Corruption from any one so why would that be hate ?:confused:

I am drinking there no way in that kip of a pub if I got drink there for free I would tell the pub owner get stuffed.I dont like Corruption from any one so why would that be hate ?

So if you don't go in to this pub how do you know what goes on? A couple of off duty guards enjoying a late pint is not corruption. Often had a late one myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Why? Of what benefit would it be? Do you mean to see if they signed on Illness Benefit or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭RustyNut

Why? what's the connection between someone's social welfare status and insurance fraud?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

The real scandal is the insurance companies procuring information in this manner

It's at the tribunal level of seriousness

F**k no we have had enough useless costly tribunals.

So if you don't go in to this pub how do you know what goes on? A couple of off duty guards enjoying a late pint is not corruption. Often had a late one myself.
    giving out info is breaking the law. and so is late nite drinking is breaking the law. I have witnessed this late nite drinking first hand and I have one our two friends drinking in the pub there til 4 our 5 in the morning . The would be call me from the pub to come in to the pub at 4 in the morning full house pub owner is well in with the Gardai so no raid there Lawless.

So you're happy to be friends with people who break the law also. You don't see the hypocrisy?

The real scandal is the insurance companies procuring information in this manner

Very True this not the first time this has happened Garda leaking information to insurance companies a lot of retired garda work for insurance companies .

So you're happy to be friends with people who break the law also. You don't see the hypocrisy?
    there my friends are Alcoholics .

I'm out this is bizarre b.s..

forget anout inquireys, straigh to the s.c.c. then let three judges deciede

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,641 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

why would your friends be inviting you into a pub you wouldnt be caught dead in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 208 ✭✭brainfreeze

I'm impressed that PULSE has decent enough logs that they could catch them. Garda will think twice if they know every search is recorded.

Garda brother giving out info. what about the false information on the Garda pulse system like the 15,000 motorists wrongly convicted and this information now being shared with insurance companies. Now this false information looks like the truth The Garda Pulse System in my opinion is Cesspit of False information and lies .