Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legality of back window sun screens?

• 03-05-2017 11:32am
    Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭

Asking in here as you lads know everything.

We recently had a baby and he has been in the car a few times. The sunlight has been coming in through the back window right into his face so Im thinking about getting one of those mesh visor yokes to block the sun, you would normally see them on back passenger windows.

Im wondering though, are they legal to use in ROI?

I know things like sun visors are frowned upon if they are above a certain size so as this would be covering a large portion of the back window my fear is that Im leaving myself open to unwanted Gardai attention.

Any know definitively?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,616 ✭✭✭grogi

Rod Munch wrote: »
    Asking in here as you lads know everything.

We recently had a baby and he has been in the car a few times. The sunlight has been coming in through the back window right into his face so Im thinking about getting one of those mesh visor yokes to block the sun, you would normally see them on back passenger windows.

Im wondering though, are they legal to use in ROI?

I know things like sun visors are frowned upon if they are above a certain size so as this would be covering a large portion of the back window my fear is that Im leaving myself open to unwanted Gardai attention.

Any know definitively?

As long as front windows and windscreen are unobstructed, you're ok.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 133 ✭✭bennya

Why not get the back and rear windows tinted? Perfectly legal.

The only blinds you'll get that'll fit properly and not leave gaps will be the manufacturer's ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭E36Ross

No issues. Once the windscreen and front side windows are clear it'll pass an NCT.

My rear and rear side windows are limo tinted. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,930 ✭✭✭GavMan

Megane 2 (the saloon anyway) came with one you pull up. I'd imagine they are legal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,745 ✭✭✭Diabhalta

NCT manual says:

Front max 35%, rear doesn't matter. Even 100% limo tint is ok.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,945 ✭✭✭stesaurus

I got the back 5 windows done for €100, it would be less if you just have the standard 3 windows in the back. Most of the visors look cheap and nasty

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Legally 65% of natural light needs to come through the front windscreen and front side windows. Back side windows and rear screen have no tint restrictions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,188 ✭✭✭wil

stesaurus wrote: »
    I got the back 5 windows done for €100, it would be less if you just have the standard 3 windows in the back. Most of the visors look cheap and nasty

N-plates, L-plates, I Shot JR, Up the Dubs and a dozen other rear view blocking stickers. Don't think cheap, nasty or even stupid is an issue for many.

On an slightly related note, makes you wonder why they bother with RVM in driving lessons.
    Last place you need a big piece of plastic obscuring your view is while learning yet I've never heard anyone call it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,470 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Some cars have them fitted from factory. The wife's A4 Avant has one... therefore I reckon there's zero legal issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Perfectly legal, in fact you could paint your rear windows with black paint and it has no bearing on anything so long as the front windows and windscreen are free from obstructions/tints etc then you have no issues to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,364 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

I've had a few cars with factory rear privacy glass and never had an issue with the NCT.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,823 ✭✭✭✭galwaytt

If you look at a the rear window of the new Toyota C-HR, sure you can't see out of that anyway, so carry on OP.

Ode To The Motorist

“And my existence, while grotesque and incomprehensible to you, generates funds to the exchequer. You don't want to acknowledge that as truth because, deep down in places you don't talk about at the Green Party, you want me on that road, you need me on that road. We use words like freedom, enjoyment, sport and community. We use these words as the backbone of a life spent instilling those values in our families and loved ones. You use them as a punch line. I have neither the time nor the inclination to explain myself to a man who rises and sleeps under the tax revenue and the very freedom to spend it that I provide, and then questions the manner in which I provide it. I would rather you just said "thank you" and went on your way. Otherwise I suggest you pick up a bus pass and get the ********* ********* off the road” 

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Thanks for the responses gang, helpful as always!