Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Why is Colm Cooper called Gooch?!?

• 27-04-2017 10:44pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭

Think this could be my very first post in this Forum?!? Must check.

Anyone know why Colm Cooper is called The Gooch?!? Scatter of different reasons given by posters if ya google it. I should actually probably know this myself :rolleyes: but nothing comes to mind. Anyone any ideas? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,646 ✭✭✭washman3

Think this could be my very first post in this Forum?!? Must check.

Anyone know why Colm Cooper is called The Gooch?!? Scatter of different reasons given by posters if ya google it. I should actually probably know this myself :rolleyes: but nothing comes to mind. Anyone any ideas? :)

His own explanation, interviewed on Radio last weekend :
    A team-mate of his at underage level at Dr.Crokes who was also their goalkeeper called Peter O'Brien just came out with it, totally out of the blue, at training and it stuck with him thereafter like '****e to a blanket'
    P.S. Cooper didn't say the blanket bit..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,412 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Unfortunate tag to be stuck with. In Ireland it means 'Kerry footballer'. Everywhere else it means...

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=gooch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 200 ✭✭ahaaha

He thought Colm looked like the goochie doll..... google it, its a bit of a scary sight!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 70 ✭✭pontoonz

he looks like a gooch

and we'll never see his likes again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,131 ✭✭✭misstearheus

Biased Galwegian but he has certainly been entertaining talent to watch alright! Yeah I see online there's stories about dolls and about him being Stylish and that it's from Gucci and a few different things but some say they're just made-up stories. Must listen to that Interview actually if I can find it online. Yeah it sounds more random and natural that there was no reasoning to it, just something pure random the Goalkeeper thought up of that came into his head! A bitta craic at Training. :)

Just came across Article there about his Mother, and it mentionned that he has 4 brothers. I have to go google images now to see if they all look like him! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,115 ✭✭✭Boom__Boom

washman3 wrote: »
    His own explanation, interviewed on Radio last weekend :
    A team-mate of his at underage level at Dr.Crokes who was also their goalkeeper called Peter O'Brien just came out with it, totally out of the blue, at training and it stuck with him thereafter like '****e to a blanket'
    P.S. Cooper didn't say the blanket bit..;)

Peter O'Brien was a team-mate of his older brothers, definitely not a team-mate of Colm's at underage - I'd say there is something like 15 years of an age difference between Peter and Colm. Colm would have been up hanging around training with the older brothers all the time.

Peter O'Brien was in goals when Dr Corkes won the All-Ireland club-championship in 1992 and played a couple of games for Kerry in goals.

A lot of the Crokes lads have weird strange nicknames that have stuck pretty much permanently - All the following are Crokes who I generally think of as their nickname first and have to stop and think what their real name is - BooBoo, GugGo, Melon , Smiler, the bag,

One thing that not a lot of people know is that when you are crossing the county bounds from Kerry into Cork on the N22 (the main Killarney to Cork road) the last house on the left on the Kerry side (if the old road) is the house Colm Cooper's father was born in, so Colm came dangerously close to having Cork blood flowing in his veins.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭D0NNELLY

endacl wrote: »
    Unfortunate tag to be stuck with. In Ireland it means 'Kerry footballer'. Everywhere else it means...[/]

Ireland too..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,085 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

endacl wrote: »
    Unfortunate tag to be stuck with. In Ireland it means 'Kerry footballer'. Everywhere else it means...

It still means the same thing for me when referring to the Kerry footballer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,402 ✭✭✭keeponhurling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 428 ✭✭Vunderground

Biased Galwegian but he has certainly been entertaining talent to watch alright! Yeah I see online there's stories about dolls and about him being Stylish and that it's from Gucci and a few different things but some say they're just made-up stories. Must listen to that Interview actually if I can find it online. Yeah it sounds more random and natural that there was no reasoning to it, just something pure random the Goalkeeper thought up of that came into his head! A bitta craic at Training. :)

Just came across Article there about his Mother, and it mentionned that he has 4 brothers. I have to go google images now to see if they all look like him! :D

He gets his looks from his Mother. He's the image of her. She was a lovely woman. I remember when she worked in a private maternity hospital (Our Lady's Nursing Home) in New Street and when she married Michael they went to Dublin for their honeymoon. Colm is a credit to them.
    A bit off topic, but may be of interest nonetheless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,665 ✭✭✭Bonniedog

He gets his looks from his Mother. He's the image of her. She was a lovely woman. I remember when she worked in a private maternity hospital (Our Lady's Nursing Home) in New Street and when she married Michael they went to Dublin for their honeymoon. Colm is a credit to them.
    A bit off topic, but may be of interest nonetheless.

So potentially he is actually a Dub :)

Bonniedog wrote: »

They came back on the next train :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,277 ✭✭✭danganabu

They came back on the next train :D

Them train journeys can be very boring so he could be from Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Tipperary, Limerick or Cork, interesting :D

danganabu wrote: »
    Them train journeys can be very boring so he could be from Dublin, Kildare, Laois, Tipperary, Limerick or Cork, interesting :D

Jeez lads Colm is the youngest in the family, not the oldest.
    Do we need to be explaining the ould facts of the birds and the bees to ye?

The house his father was born and grew up in is at most 2 miles from the Cork county bounds and might be a lot closer depending on how exactly the border snakes/bends out there. Twas a Glenflesk man who told me about it and he was musing on what might have been if Glenflesk had Colm and the rest of the brothers as players with the club.

Given the amount of Dubs that you see below in the Summer it might be worth checking through the eighties/nineties reservation book in the Gleneagle for Brogans, Cluxtons, Rocks and even Connollys!
    Ringing the investigative team at the Killarney Advertiser right now :D

Given the amount of Dubs that you see below in the Summer it might be worth checking through the eighties/nineties reservation book in the Gleneagle for Brogans, Cluxtons, Rocks and even Connollys!
    Ringing the investigative team at the Killarney Advertiser right now :D

It could equally well be dissemination of DNA in the other direction :)

Ignores that slight on the women of Kerry, but puts call on hold...
    ...just in case like :eek:

Ignores that slight on the women of Kerry, but puts call on hold...
    ...just in case like :eek:

If this was common inter exchange then we have 63 All Irelands between us.

I should be some sort of mediator really...

Hardly likely - far more Kerry folk have moved to the big smoke over the years, than have made the journey in the other direction.

Both Cian O'Sullivan's parent are Kerry folks,
    Brogan's mother is a Kerrywoman,
    Fenton's father is a Kerryman,
    one of the David Bryne's father is a Kerryman,
    Emmet O'Conghaile's mother is from Farranfore

Probably a couple more around the place keeping their Kerry connections quiet. Shure didn't Darragh Spillane pick up an U21 medal with ye at the weekend.

In terms of parentage of the Kerry lads, the only one I know of for sure is Donaghy's father being a Tyroneman. I'd be surprised if there was any Dublin parentage in the squad - there's a couple who are 2nd generation Kerry footballers (There was a son, nephew, 2 grandsons, and brother and a few more who I'm not sure of what their links are to previous generations but might be stuff like grand-uncle/2nd cousin once removed - stuff you'd need a degree in genealogy to figure out ) I think the Barrys - Jack with the seniors, Andrew with the U21s have Cork connections but I'm not 100% so maybe I shouldn't slander them :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    Hardly likely - far more Kerry folk have moved to the big smoke over the years, than have made the journey in the other direction.

Both Cian O'Sullivan's parent are Kerry folks,
    Brogan's mother is a Kerrywoman,
    Fenton's father is a Kerryman,
    one of the David Bryne's father is a Kerryman,
    Emmet O'Conghaile's mother is from Farranfore

Probably a couple more around the place keeping their Kerry connections quiet. Shure didn't Darragh Spillane pick up an U21 medal with ye at the weekend.

In terms of parentage of the Kerry lads, the only one I know of for sure is Donaghy's father being a Tyroneman. I'd be surprised if there was any Dublin parentage in the squad - there's a couple who are 2nd generation Kerry footballers (There was a son, nephew, 2 grandsons, and brother and a few more who I'm not sure of what their links are to previous generations but might be stuff like grand-uncle/2nd cousin once removed - stuff you'd need a degree in genealogy to figure out ) I think the Barrys - Jack with the seniors, Andrew with the U21s have Cork connections but I'm not 100% so maybe I shouldn't slander them :P

Oh, I'd say if you dig deep enough, you'd find a few Muggles (or even worse, Langers :eek: ) polluting the purity of the Kerry bloodlines, every now and then. Shure wasn't Mammy O'Se a Sligo woman? They like to keep dirty little secrets like that under wraps, while they are constantly reminding everyone of the Dubs with Kerry heritage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Is Darren O'Sullivan from London originally, any truth in that ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Boom__Boom wrote:
    Shure didn't Darragh Spillane pick up an U21 medal with ye at the weekend.

He did he came on as a sub.
    So he's a U21 champ.

For the moment....... ;)

I doubt there's much going the other way. Huge amount of Kerry and Cork people in Dublin.

That's all happening in or around Kildare and Meath, that's another​ story for another thread though, was at the girls U14 final yesterday it was a strange mix.

Stoner wrote: »
    Is Darren O'Sullivan from London originally, any truth in that ?

He spent some time there as a youngster, not sure how long.
    Played some soccer underage with QPR something like U8s or U10s
    Pretty sure his family were originally a Kerry family [as if the O'Sullivan name wasn't a bit of a clue] that emigrated and then moved back.
    Nearly sure he has relations or some sort around Killarney - possibly a grand-uncle or uncle or something like that.

Stoner wrote: »
    He did he came on as a sub.
    So he's a U21 champ.

For the moment....... ;)

I doubt there's much going the other way. Far too feckin' many Kerry and Cork people in Dublin !

That's all happening in or around Kildare and Meath, that's another​ story for another thread though, was at the girls U14 final yesterday it was a strange mix.

Fixed that for you there boss. You're welcome. ;)

Boom__Boom wrote: »
    He spent some time there as a youngster, not sure how long.
    Played some soccer underage with QPR something like U8s or U10s
    Pretty sure his family were originally a Kerry family [as if the O'Sullivan name wasn't a bit of a clue] that emigrated and then moved back.
    Nearly sure he has relations or some sort around Killarney - possibly a grand-uncle or uncle or something like that.

I heard him talk about QPR on the radio a while back. He was very good and said he wouldn't have had a hope of making it in professional/semi professional football. His skill levels were just way off. Very refreshing and honest :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭ArielAtom

I heard him talk about QPR on the radio a while back. He was very good and said he wouldn't have had a hope of making it in professional/semi professional football. His skill levels were just way off. Very refreshing and honest :)

He'd have suited QPR then!!!!!!!!!

You never really know though, do you? He moved back to Ireland as a chisler. Who knows how good he may have become, if had remained in a professional soccer environment, where his natural talent and speed could be properly nurtured by trained professionals. As good as the Kerry conveyor belt is at bringing talented youngsters along, it's no substitute for a professional academy environment.