Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

IFI's classic TV ads project released online

• 26-04-2017 02:40PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,499 ✭✭✭

The IFI has released a bunch of classic TV ads from the 60s, 70s, and 80s via its web player if you want to take a trip down memory lane...or get an idea of what advertising was like back in the day! Some of them are hilarious :D

http://ifiplayer.ie/dublin-feed-a-bin/

It's basically a Reeling in the Years for TV ads. Any favourites (from within the collection or otherwise) or ones you'd recommend?

🤪

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭George White

Yes,I was talking to comics writer Mark Millar about it, as he's a big fan of Patrick Cargill (having modelled himself on Cargill's character in Father, Dear Father) and there's a Calor Kosangas from the late 60s/early 70s with Cargill appearing, in a sort of low-rent British Lost in Translation setup.

Saw this mentioned on the news yesterday and forgot to check them out later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,265 ✭✭✭youtube!

Radharc- Manners in Church ! Hilarious !

A lot of content does not load though,anyone else noticed this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,662 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Yer wan with the wet bum was hilarious :)

It proves there are (or, were, we're talking 1962 here) priests with a sense of humour - I have never met one but there ya go. That Radharc film was ever so just a little bit daring for pre-Vatican II Ireland so fair play to them for making it.

To modern eyes the cinema ads for ciggies are a bit off. Glorious technicolor, top-notch production values, clearly lots of money invested, and not a health warning in sight! Selling cancer was the most profitable legit business around.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,666 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

youtube! wrote: »
    Radharc- Manners in Church ! Hilarious !

A lot of content does not load though,anyone else noticed this?

I don't know why they didn't just create a Youtube channel and upload them all to that, would take the hard work out of managing bandwidth and also they would make a few quid on the advertising revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,662 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

Exactly. They exceeded their hosting service's traffic limit on the first day so all you could get was a holding page. Been OK for me since then though.

I'm partial to your abracadabra,

I'm raptured by the joy of it all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,168 ✭✭✭Ursus Horribilis

I was hoping they'd have the Phone Wreckers Are Idiots ad but there's no sign of it.