Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Running with a lurcher.

• 19-04-2017 4:16pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭

We are in the process of adopting a 6month old lurcher pup. I would love to train her to run with me.
    Looking for recommendations for harness and lead etc.
    Being so slim the car harness that she wears wouldn't be suitable as it slips and is too big around her neck.

Anyone run with a lurcher or dog who could advise?

I won't be training her as yet but would like for her and me to get used to the gear first so when she is ready to start that it won't be new to her.

Thanks a mil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,614 ✭✭✭muddypaws

Zero DC long harnesses fit slim dogs very well, as do the Non Stop Harnesses, designed for dogs to run and pull. Just be careful that a running harness crosses over on her breastbone, and not any higher up, impeding her breathing. I had to swap Ghost's harness for that reason, fitted him lovely all over, except it wasn't sitting right on the front.

For dogs that don't pull much when running, a shorter, shoulder harness works best, as the longer ones can ride up if the dog doesn't pull.

Bungee lead and a hip belt and you're set. Hip, rather than waist belts are better for the humans, so that the pull from the dog doesn't cause back injuries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 952 ✭✭✭Themadhouse

thank you muddypaws.

What age do you think is good to start run training? I will be bringing her to training classes for lead etc in the next couple of weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Just be aware that 10 minutes running will knacker a lurcher. They'll happily lie down for the rest of the day.

They're not called 60mph couch potatoes for nothing.

Ours turns 16 next month. Not a bad age for a big dog. Sadly, his running days are behind him...

endacl wrote: »
    Just be aware that 10 minutes running will knacker a lurcher. They'll happily lie down for the rest of the day.

Ours turns 16 next month. Not a bad age for a big dog. Sadly, his running days are behind him...

thanks. :-)
    I reckon it will be a trial to get her to run at my pace! I'm hoping to do 5ks with her , i reckon thats probably enough. Mind you this is all in my head at the moment, the reality might be completely different. lol

I wouldn't start running properly until she's at least 8 months old, and then I would only do a couple of kms with her at a time, until she's a year old, but you could teach her commands on the lead before that, getting her to go past distractions, turn right and left, slow down and speed up, and stand and wait when you need her to. If you're going to be running with her, a great command is teaching her to go behind you going downhill, believe me, having a dog pulling on a steep downhill can be very daunting :p

It depends really what cross is in her, as to whether she can do more than 5km, I have friends that run with lurchers, and I guess, if you want to be really pedantic, the best sled dogs in Europe now are lurchers - greyhounds crossed with pointers ;)

Do you do Park Run? I love Park Run, one of my favourite things, free 5km runs on Saturday mornings, dogs are welcome as long as they are on a short lead. Really friendly events, with all levels of runners and walkers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Depends on the cross!

Finn's part pointer and will happily walk 26km or hare around mountains for 5 hours. Practically impossible to tire him out. Am considering training him to run with my bike.

Shes possibly dobie cross.
    I don't do the park runs because I work on Saturdays. Really looking for company on early morning week runs which are 5k. If she is up to doing a 10k in the future that would be fab but no pressure on her for that.

Thanks a mil for advice, esp run behind downhill! That is something I wouldn't have thought about.

Will deffo get her trained up on the lead first and then with the proper harness and lead before going running :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,739 ✭✭✭✭kylith

Oh, she is gorgeous

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

She's LOVELY!!!

I've a foster bull-lurcher staying right now and he's big enough (tall as a greyhound but more muscle) that he can trot along at my 5k pace - I'm far from quick.

10 mins sprint and he's done (nowhere near the stamina of my gsd x) but he'll jog beside me for AGES! If she's big then you might find the same.

Still cant get over how pretty she is!

Aw she's gorgeous, reminds me of my Max, he was a great running dog in his younger days.

Thanks guys, she is pretty cute. :-)
    She won't be as big as a grey, but I reckon she will grow another little bit, on the smaller side of medium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Ms Doubtfire1

just be mindful when you start.She might be a great running mate, or she might not.I have a lurcher and if we go for walkies he's done for after 45 minutes. or, zooming through the field twice for 15 minutes a day and he won't even bat an eyelid anymore when the doors open. Lurchers are generally not stamina dogs at all.They are sprinters. See how you go but keep in mind it might not suit her at all.

Thank you, yes I am hoping she enjoys it but if not that's fine. :-) worth a punt anyway. She is pretty good with keeping pace when we are out for a walk, I jog a bit and try and get her to stay on par with me.
    We will see how it goes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,006 ✭✭✭SillyMangoX

She's beautiful! How are the cats taking to the new addition? :P

They are unsure as she wants to play with them. Lol. A few weeks in and there will be no problem.
    We haven't officially adopted yet but when it's all sorted I will put up all the pics on fb! :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭axcel

Definitely depends on the dog as our lurcher is out doing 12k jogs at the minute with my boyfriend. She still gets knackered after 20 mins if she goes sprinting in the fields but as above can jog on quite happily. She does get a bit tired to the end but we've built her up slowly and her stamina is building. Which may be a bad thing for me and our much shorter walks! We bring her on the curragh as think it's not recommended to run for too long on concrete. We are just using a lead for the minute and collar but I have seen some grea waist belts that you can out the lead onto to leave your hands free and they get good reviews!!

Lizcent wrote: »
    Definitely depends on the dog as our lurcher is out doing 12k jogs at the minute with my boyfriend. She still gets knackered after 20 mins if she goes sprinting in the fields but as above can jog on quite happily. She does get a bit tired to the end but we've built her up slowly and her stamina is building. Which may be a bad thing for me and our much shorter walks! We bring her on the curragh as think it's not recommended to run for too long on concrete. We are just using a lead for the minute and collar but I have seen some grea waist belts that you can out the lead onto to leave your hands free and they get good reviews!!

There's a canicross fun run in Corkagh Park, Dublin on May 7th if your boyfriend is interested :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

Lurchers would generally have more stamina than greyhounds to which that phrase more appropriately applies!

Shes possibly dobie cross.
    I don't do the park runs because I work on Saturdays. Really looking for company on early morning week runs which are 5k. If she is up to doing a 10k in the future that would be fab but no pressure on her for that.

Thanks a mil for advice, esp run behind downhill! That is something I wouldn't have thought about.

Will deffo get her trained up on the lead first and then with the proper harness and lead before going running :-)

She's not dobie cross, but rather saluki cross. Those marking are without doubt saluki. They can be hard to train!! Look up the characteristics of a saluki which will give you an idea of the type of personality she is likely to have.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,438 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Vel wrote: »
    Lurchers would generally have more stamina than greyhounds to which that phrase more appropriately applies!

Feck. We got a lazy one...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,422 ✭✭✭Ms Doubtfire1

Feck. We got a lazy one...

yep. me too. Even getting him out for a wee in the morning when he's all curled up on the couch requires lifting :D

Don't get me wrong, they are still incredibly lazy but not as lazy as the greyhound in my experience and I have a lot of sighthound experience! In terms of what we are talking about in this thread, I wouldn't rule out a lurcher as a running companion. I just wouldn't expect that you will see them for the rest of the day once they come back from their run!!!