Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Shay Elliott race in Bray 2017

• 18-04-2017 6:01am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7

Anyone out there planning on doing the Shay Elliott this year? I hear it supposed to be a good hard days racing.

I'm A3 and hope to do the race this year. Any tips from previous years?

Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 985 ✭✭✭Miklos

Go out and recce the Shay Elliot climb from the Glenmalure side, it's going to be hellish at race pace. I spectated at the top of it last year and there was some serious suffering going on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,992 ✭✭✭Plastik

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,124 ✭✭✭daragh_

Great to see the neutralised rollout going down Bray Main Street - proper order! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭thekooman

bikeguy123 wrote: »
    Anyone out there planning on doing the Shay Elliott this year? I hear it supposed to be a good hard days racing.

I'm A3 and hope to do the race this year. Any tips from previous years?

Thanks!
    A3: the good juniors got in a break before the Shay... 42kph pace up until the climb... and then its 12 mins of suffering. even after that the road is hellish. finished in the 3rd or 4th group on the road. tips... plenty of drink and gels. keep up the front. google street view the descent of the Shay for the corners. all can be taken at speed except one at the bottom.

a1/2: 90k done in the first 2 hours before the climb.... heard it was torture and lads were popping off the front even at that pace.

great race and route.

Yep the plan at the moment is to have a neutralised 8km at the start of the main race which will take in Bray main st. The SHA3 will head straight to the N11 to race unfortunately.

The Elliott plays a huge part in deciding the outcome of the race but this year we've changed the route home again after consultation with the Gardai and we have taken the race out of Laragh as it was simply too busy. There is plenty of racing to be done after the descent on both races as you take a hard right turn up Bookies Bridge and what people will know as the Laragh Classic circuit.

For the finish this year we have secured a full road closure from Wicklow County Council for the last 3km of the race ... so feel free to sprint on both sides of the road!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7 bikeguy123

I heard the A3 race was a good one alright. I was out of the country myself so I missed out last year.

Hope to give it a go this year, hang on until the climb and see what happens from there. If there's a good group working together at that stage there could be a number of guys in the mix going over the climb.

I wonder what kind of a field there'll be this year for the A3, there's a lot of guys going really well at the moment. The Easter weekend races will surely have put hunger in the bellies of a lot of them!

I see Bray wheelers are encouraging people to cycle up Shay Elliot beforehand to watch the race go by.

Nice idea to promote the race.

UJ0VCiJl.jpg

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 25,523 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Looking forward to going out to see this, unlike other races I can actually loop around on the bike and see it in a few different spots which will be pretty nice.

Bumping this back to the top as it's taking place this Sunday morning.

A few things I would ask people to note and to pass on in their immediate circle of others that they know coming;

- there will be no parking available on approach to the clubhouse on Schools Road, or in the clubhouse carpark. All parking is in St. Killian's Community School immediately adjacent https://goo.gl/maps/GhP34cmNWQM2

- the Shay Elliott will depart at 11am and will have an 8km neutralised roll out that goes via Bray Main St. This isn't a rip down through the town, it's a processional roll out to mark the 60th anniversary of the race. Riders should be aware that it may be slow going for a few km but once we are clear of the town and heading for the N11 the pace will increase to keep it safe. The race will be neutralised all the way out on to the N11 and to the top of the first drag. The flag will drop, as usual, on approach/in Kilmacanogue after we have crested the hill. So it's 8km, only 3km likely to pose slowness, 5km for anyone to jostle for position after that. Everyone should enjoy the first few km :)

- once the flag has dropped on the Elliott the SHA3 will depart 5 minutes later. We expect this to be approx 11.15am. The SHA3 will go straight to the N11 as it has done in previous years where the hurt will begin.

- both routes follow the same course as 2016 until after you descend the Elliott. Laragh and the Laragh/Annamoe road was becoming an ever increasing issue between locals, Garda?, tourists, traffic etc so this year as soon as you come off the Elliott the race will turn onto the climb of Bookies Bridge, what some of you will know as the Laragh Classic route and we'll race some tough roads all the way to Roundwood and onto the finish at Djouce.

- the road is "closed" for the last 3.5km of the race. I say "closed" as a closure order has been granted, each end will be manned, Garda? will be there, but there are 50 houses on the route and care still needs to be extended by all in relation to the possible movements of locals. It's obviously not feasible for us to post a marshal at each entrance. The road closure is essentially for Bray Wheelers to facilitate better management of the traffic and parking at the finish area as opposed to for riders to go ditch to ditch around blind bends - not that large groups tend to come to the line in this race.

- by the time you've the Elliott done and rolled back to the clubhouse you'll have 173km in the legs for the day, perfect R?s prep :pac:

- sign on ?15, no pre-entry

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 jamo31

When is the sprint in the A1/A2 race for the green jersey?, i can't find details,thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

jamo31 wrote: »
    When is the sprint in the A1/A2 race for the green jersey?, i can't find details,thanks

Fancy your chances? :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16 jamo31

no, i want to take photos of it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

no, i want to take photos of it

jeez tough crowd :rolleyes:

https://ridewithgps.com/routes/19873137 approx 19km

This will be my young lads first spectator event where he can cheer people on, very excited. I am trying to figure out where best to go for the start. Near the clubhouse (down on the Boghall road) where he will get excited by the garda escort and the crowd, as well as getting to see all the races take off is probably the best I presume.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,200 ✭✭✭manwithaplan

ronoc wrote: »
    I see Bray wheelers are encouraging people to cycle up Shay Elliot beforehand to watch the race go by.

Nice idea to promote the race.

UJ0VCiJl.jpg

Good to see they selected the best looking riders for the poster ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

I am an A4 and i fancy turning up and trying the A3 race on Sunday. Is it possible to ride an A3 race with an A4 license? Advice much appreciated, thanks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭thekooman

Chumpski wrote: »
    I am an A4 and i fancy turning up and trying the A3 race on Sunday. Is it possible to ride an A3 race with an A4 license? Advice much appreciated, thanks.

for real? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,138 ✭✭✭buffalo

Chumpski wrote: »

No.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 741 ✭✭✭Chumpski

thekooman wrote: »
    for real? :confused:

Yup, thanks anyway guys.

CramCycle wrote: »
    This will be my young lads first spectator event where he can cheer people on, very excited. I am trying to figure out where best to go for the start. Near the clubhouse (down on the Boghall road) where he will get excited by the garda escort and the crowd, as well as getting to see all the races take off is probably the best I presume.

Hard to know, maybe down by McDonalds in Bray or on the run down the Killarney Road before that? I always loved marshalling for it in Rathnew as they came roaring into the village, split round a ghost roundabout and off out towards Glenealy.

Bit of coverage around this evening Sticky http://www.stickybottle.com/races-results/60th-shay-elliott-memorial-more-climbs-and-harder-racing/ and Ian O'Riordan does a lovely piece in the Times https://www.irishtimes.com/sport/other-sports/a-ride-through-the-wicklow-mountains-looking-for-the-last-prime-1.3081406?mode=amp

@wheelers_bray for live coverage from the lead car tomorrow. Shane Stokes is also covering from the lead car but not sure if he's doing anything live, worth keeping an eye on his account also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,295 ✭✭✭ckeego

Plastik wrote: »
    @wheelers_bray for live coverage from the lead car tomorrow. Shane Stokes is also covering from the lead car but not sure if he's doing anything live, worth keeping an eye on his account also.

I read the piece by Ian O Riordan on the plane on the way back to Berlin today- a really superb piece of writing about the roads we are lucky to ride each week.

Sorry I won't be there to help, but the very best of luck with it all tomorrow, Plastik.

The club are very lucky to have people like you. 🙏

Cant feel my legs.

Crash looked mental, everyone OK?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭wav1

Crash looked mental, everyone OK?

AFAIK there was nobody taken away by ambulance.Looked bad at the time but I don't think anything too serious..Its just that one side of the circuit was dry and 5 km later was lethal slippy..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,131 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Shame about the crash, killed the race for most. Fortunately i got through it unscathed. Heard of one bike snapped in two! Great days racing all the same, serious amount of marshals, air play to the organisers. I got into a few little groups after the crash and left them then about 30K from the finish as they just weren't riding hard enough and i wanted a decent days training. Had one for company who had ben up ahead for a little while but ended up dropping him without realising. Was flicking the elbow only to find nobody there :P

I lost a full bottle right at the start and was pretty worried about dehydration but thanks to Drogheda Wheelers who gave me one of their own normal water bottles from their car with about 30k left, i then went on solo knowing id got some fluids onboard! Wouldnt have done that if i hadnt gotten that. Longest spin for me in a looooooooong time and happy with how i felt.

Here's ,my day with the rollout https://www.strava.com/activities/986310519/overview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Taxuser1

Hi everyone. I hope someone might be able to help here.

Thought I left a pair of blue Bose bluetooth earphones in our team car (Scott Orwell) but the lads can't find them. On the off chance they were picked up around the sign on area or in the car park next where we were parked can you please DM me?

These were a birthday present last week from my wife so I'm fairly pissed off.

Thank you in advance

Plastik wrote: »
    Cant feel my legs.

+1. Also I misplaced a glove before the race, and rode with no gloves. Now I have sunburnt hands. :(

You got in the prizes, right? Well done!

You and I both, fair play, yours was a far better performance - I was caught up in the crash but would have been blown out the back on the climb anyway. Serious parcours that, great day out, delighted to have a maiden Elliott under my belt.

Only walked down to the start with the young lad but he loved it. There was some confusion as he thought we were going to race and he started sprinting down the road at the start.

He stood up on a box at the side of the road shouting Go Racers and got a wave off a good few of the A3s so it made his day, he then went home to regale his Gran about all the motorbikes and superfast bicycles.

Looked like a great day out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 268 ✭✭happyhappy

Only walked down to the start with the young lad but he loved it. There was some confusion as he thought we were going to race and he started sprinting down the road at the start.

He stood up on a box at the side of the road shouting Go Racers and got a wave off a good few of the A3s so it made his day, he then went home to regale his Gran about all the motorbikes and superfast bicycles.

Looked like a great day out.

That's what it's all about, I was in one of the lead cars and made sure where possible that every kid out watching got a siren and wave on the way passed. It was great to see so many out to watch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,084 ✭✭✭✭neris

Bike channel have this down on their listings for 530 this evening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,304 ✭✭✭koutoubia

Saw it in Bike Channel the other day.A really good watch!

It's available on the TG4 player as well.

www.tg4.ie/en/player/home/?pid=5455164117001&teideal=Irish National Road Series&series=Irish National Road Series&dlft=34