Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Updating Rams

• 16-04-2017 9:29pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭

So have a llyen ram for replacements off my texel x ewes. Looking to bring in a fresh ram for factory / butcher lambs this year. Have a slightly ageing Charley, that will be kept for mopping up, but my aged texels will be retired. Leaning towards Hampshire with Suffolk second choice. What do ye think ?
    Anyone else updating their Rams ? And what are ye going to look for ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

So have a llyen ram for replacements off my texel x ewes. Looking to bring in a fresh ram for factory / butcher lambs this year. Have a Charley already, that will be kept for mopping up, but my ageing texels will be retired. Leaning towards Hampshire with Suffolk second choice. What do ye think ?
    Anyone else updating their Rams ? And what are ye going to look for ?

Got a great Suffolk a few years ago. Auld lad chanced him as a young ram lamb from a lad in a trailer. Only thing wrong with him is he's daft and any time he's in a pen he's liable to go for you. He doesn't have a big lump of a head either. He's a ram that I don't want to have to replace cos I find its hard to find a decent Suffolk.

Wouldn't mind trying a vendeen or Hampshire down but I'd fingd it hard to get the auld lad to agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

that's the second Suffolk I heard would go for you. I always thought they'd be docile. is it common to have a cross or territorial Ram ? The Texals wouldn't do much other then grunt at you.

This lad was always a bit daft. The day we bought him he broke a sheeted door. He gets worse as around august but isn't too bad during the year but if he's cornered he goes for you

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Heard someone talking of a Suffolk ram that was reared as a pet that would go for you,can't see that many pets being used as Rams though must be aggressive in general

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

We had one ram here a good few years ago, put him into the field outa the trailer one time - and he bate himself out butting the wheels of the tractor... the bounce back from the wheel only driving him worse... :)

I don't remember him being that bad aside from that one incident... but we were always wary of him...

We had another ram, grand lad. Never went near us. He was with the ewes and they had to be brought in...

I was walking through the pen of ewes, and he went for me when my back was turned (in hindsight I should have moved him out) got me right on the backbone, tore muscles... fcuker...

Both suffolks...

Having said that - we have had plenty quiet ones too...

Green - is another Charolais out, as you want something dark faced to tell em apart from the lleyns?

[quote="Username John
    Having said that - we have had plenty quiet ones too...
    Green - is another Charolais out, as you want something dark faced to tell em apart from the lleyns?[/quote]

I'd have another Charley alright, but prefer to try something different, that I haven't had around before.

Anyone recommend a breeder for a Hampshire down ? Time coming around to source one .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Inchilad

Anyone recommend a breeder for a Hampshire down ? Time coming around to source one .

Where in the country are you?theres a premier show and sale in tullow in july.best breeders in the country there.theres a list of breeders on the web site if you dont want to go down that route.i have a few but im down west cork.

Vendeen or Hampshire down . which would ye prefer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Lambman

Texel getting road here aswell covered all his ewes but scanned poorly... would beltex be more prolific? Have a charrlois here for hoggets as it is...

Midwest, but up and down the M7 regularly so open to location.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Inchilad

Sent you pm with few details

Lambman wrote: »
    Texel getting road here aswell covered all his ewes but scanned poorly... would beltex be more prolific? Have a charrlois here for hoggets as it is...

The ewe determines how many singles/ couples.... If they're all getting covered he should have enough sperm to fertilise the eggs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,273 ✭✭✭orm0nd

Gleesons in Birdhill or Powers Askeaton

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

Problem is with your ewes, you'd have a lot of barren ewes if the ram was wrong, the condition of the ewes determine crop size, could be too fat, too thin, or mineral deficiency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 241 ✭✭sheepfarmer92

We are replacing any rams gone this year with educate rams, have been dabbling with them for past few years and very impressed with their progeny
    Have about 100 ewes now that don't require shearing and more that are losing some of their fleece, 60cent a kilo for wool is the icing the cake making me change

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

We are replacing any rams gone this year with educate rams, have been dabbling with them for past few years and very impressed with their progeny
    Have about 100 ewes now that don't require shearing and more that are losing some of their fleece, 60cent a kilo for wool is the icing the cake making me change

Do ya mean easycare ram?

ganmo wrote: »
    Do ya mean easycare ram?

Yes sorry bloody predictive text, maybe I invented a new breed there! "Educate sheep"?

What happenns the wool?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

sheepostcard.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭DJ98

When would you be wanting to buy rams for the autumn around now or later in the year?

What happenns the wool?

Yea its a strange one, i go round the fields and theres no big blobs of wool, maybe the birds bring it, we always would have the odd mule ewe losing wool this time of year and you would see her bits around the field but the half easycares never have much anyway but have thick skins and tight coats of hair/wool

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

Yea its a strange one, i go round the fields and theres no big blobs of wool, maybe the birds bring it, we always would have the odd mule ewe losing wool this time of year and you would see her bits around the field but the half easycares never have much anyway but have thick skins and tight coats of hair/wool

Where are you sourcing yours. Any I seen where pretty poor

razor8 wrote: »
    Where are you sourcing yours. Any I seen where pretty poor

Dessie donoghue in oldcastle, iv heard that theres a big flock up in antrim that are a poorer type reason being they were bred up from blackface ewes? Going to a open day there nxt weekend

Would the half breeds shed their wool fully ?

A lot of them do but a lot of our ewes are mule and greyface bred from horned ewes and they lose their wool quite easily, i was in scotland last summer and visited a few farms where theyre very happy with them
    They reckon it will take another 8 years before all the ewes are shedding

rangler1 wrote: »

Problem is with your ewes, you'd havie a lot of barren ewes if the ram was wrong, the condition of the ewes determine crop size, could be too fat, too thin, or mineral deficiency
    Don't think it is when this ram scanned 1.4 and the other ram scanned 2.1 and all ewes are bred the same and fed the same just split in half going till rams so it's most definitely the ram...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,381 ✭✭✭DJ98

So people prefer to buy rams in the mart or off a private seller ie done deal?

DJ98 wrote: »
    So people prefer to buy rams in the mart or off a private seller ie done deal?
    If you know what breed you want I'd be looking at breeders lambs from now on I like buying early most breeders will have most off there good stock sold at home.