Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Labrador Retriever

• 16-04-2017 1:23pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭

Hello,

Just sent off an email requesting information re IKC registered breeders in the Limerick region.

I had a Yellow lab when a kid and really excited at the prospect.

However, I see the required exercise is 2 hours. Is that 2 hours walking a day?

That's the one thing that would put me off a Labrador. As much as I'd love this breed, I'm not sure we could commit to that much exercise every day.

While I'm sure I'd come to love another breed of dog, it still wouldn't be the same.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 944 ✭✭✭s15r330

I love labs, had 2 for the last 11 years and died recently.
    My gf's family has a black lab and we just got a golden one together.

Very intelligent, loving, playful dogs and I couldn't see myself ever having another breed.

They do love their walks but 2 hours would include swimming, throwing a ball etc.

My labs got 2 5k walks per day and the odd spin to Strandhill in the Summer.

They do require a lot of exercise so you need to be prepared for this. You'll find yourself enjoying the walks and its good for you also.

They will be destructive at first, eating and chewing anything in range but tiring them out helps with this, but very easily trained when it comes to sitting, toilet etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,062 ✭✭✭✭tk123

If you're getting a pup you'll be starting at 5 mins per month of age for exercise until they're fully grown. I have retrievers and they'd get about 2 hours - an hour before I go to work and the same after..or more if we bump into friends etc. not to mention training, grooming etc etc. You'd be better off calling the breed club on Tuesday btw rather than waiting for a reply to an email.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,146 ✭✭✭volchitsa

s15r330 wrote: »
    They do love their walks but 2 hours would include swimming, throwing a ball etc.

My labs got 2 5k walks per day and the odd spin to Strandhill in the Summer.

They do require a lot of exercise so you need to be prepared for this. You'll find yourself enjoying the walks and its good for you also.

They will be destructive at first, eating and chewing anything in range but tiring them out helps with this, but very easily trained when it comes to sitting, toilet etc
    I've a question about this, about active dogs in general, including labradors obviously, so hopefully any replies may be relevant to the OP:
    I realize that a dog can't "exercise itself" out in the garden on its own, but if people are out working in the garden, or fixing cars etc, and the dog is out and about "hanging out" with them, but not actually getting a ball thrown for them, does that count towards exercise, or is it much the same as being in the house with the family?

We've a big garden, and do a good deal of gardening, plus my o/h does a lot of DIY in the garage which is open when he's in there, so she'll run off after a bird or a passing cat (not too many of those these days!) play with her ball, run around, come back to see what's happening and so on : I'm wondering whether four or five hours spent like that counts as some level of exercise or as nothing significant at all?

And the same question about kids playing basketball, she doesn't play but she's glued to them the whole time - is that just the sort of minimum interaction she needs to be happy, and are outside walks needed on top of that as well?

(I kind of feel that walks on a leash aren't that useful, is why I'm asking really - when we take her off the leash that's different, but the whole idea of long walks on a leash is still a bit odd to me. I get that they can't sit in the house all day, but what about "hanging out" with the family outside? For a high energy dog, that is, not a couch potato!)

Uncivil to the President (24 hour forum ban)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

s15r330 wrote: »

Yes, there is that :)
    volchitsa wrote: »
    but what about "hanging out" with the family outside?

I guess that's contact time to stop them being bored which is important, but I imagine 2 hours exercise is activity.

tk123 wrote: »
    If you're getting a pup you'll be starting at 5 mins per month of age for exercise until they're fully grown. I have retrievers and they'd get about 2 hours - an hour before I go to work and the same after..or more if we bump into friends etc. not to mention training, grooming etc etc. You'd be better off calling the breed club on Tuesday btw rather than waiting for a reply to an email.

Yes, will need to have that chat with the family first, to see how committed we all are.

Thanks everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,737 ✭✭✭✭kylith

I've a question about this, about active dogs in general, including labradors obviously, so hopefully any replies may be relevant to the OP:
    I realize that a dog can't "exercise itself" out in the garden on its own, but if people are out working in the garden, or fixing cars etc, and the dog is out and about "hanging out" with them, but not actually getting a ball thrown for them, does that count towards exercise, or is it much the same as being in the house with the family?

We've a big garden, and do a good deal of gardening, plus my o/h does a lot of DIY in the garage which is open when he's in there, so she'll run off after a bird or a passing cat (not too many of those these days!) play with her ball, run around, come back to see what's happening and so on : I'm wondering whether four or five hours spent like that counts as some level of exercise or as nothing significant at all?

And the same question about kids playing basketball, she doesn't play but she's glued to them the whole time - is that just the sort of minimum interaction she needs to be happy, and are outside walks needed on top of that as well?

(I kind of feel that walks on a leash aren't that useful, is why I'm asking really - when we take her off the leash that's different, but the whole idea of long walks on a leash is still a bit odd to me. I get that they can't sit in the house all day, but what about "hanging out" with the family outside? For a high energy dog, that is, not a couch potato!)

No, hanging around the garden with the family doesn't contribute to their daily exercise unless they're on the go all the time.

Even if it did not taking a dog out for a walk, whether on-lead or somewhere you can let them off, is detrimental to their mental health. Can you imagine how bored you'd get if you never left your house and garden? Never had any new experiences? It's a recipe for a bored dog who is fearful of anything unusual.

Yes, there is that :)

I guess that's contact time to stop them being bored which is important, but I imagine 2 hours exercise is activity.

Yes, that makes sense. I was thinking of, say a dog that stays on its own all day, well clearly it has to get a good long walk with its owners or it would go mad, whereas a dog whose "people" are around most of the time maybe doesn't need quite so much actual outside exercise.

What made me wonder is that a neighbour here has an Australian sheepdog, and he's a vet, so I imagine has a good idea of animal welfare. Their dog gets good long walks/jogs at weekends, but not much during the week, and TBH it seems happy enough (it's 4 years old I think). Barks a bit sometimes when they're away at work, but she only works part time and of course the kids are around a good bit.

kylith wrote: »
    No, hanging around the garden with the family doesn't contribute to their daily exercise unless they're on the go all the time.

Even if it did not taking a dog out for a walk, whether on-lead or somewhere you can let them off, is detrimental to their mental health. Can you imagine how bored you'd get if you never left your house and garden? Never had any new experiences? It's a recipe for a bored dog who is fearful of anything unusual.

This is very important. I see how excited my lad gets when brought to a new place, new smells and sights everywhere.

Hanging around the garden with you is good quality time but wouldn't be counted as activity.

20170324_214243_zpsbvzwseak.jpg

20170409_112054_zpsgzuobmu4.jpg

Wouldn't be without a dog and i'm lucky to have a forest nearby to take him, he loves it, as you can see!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

Hello,

Just sent off an email requesting information re IKC registered breeders in the Limerick region.

I had a Yellow lab when a kid and really excited at the prospect.

However, I see the required exercise is 2 hours. Is that 2 hours walking a day?

That's the one thing that would put me off a Labrador. As much as I'd love this breed, I'm not sure we could commit to that much exercise every day.

While I'm sure I'd come to love another breed of dog, it still wouldn't be the same.

A lot of the Labradors I meet nowadays are young (around the 1, 2 and 3 years of age mark) and very high energy, often the owners would be of the mind that that "this isn't what I signed up for, my previous Lab was never like this" which is why I'm often the one working with or looking after their dog to try and meet its needs. People often fail to realise that they are more inclined to remember their previous dog as an older, well mannered dog and often forget the 2-3 years (sometimes more) of having a "puppy" :P Take what you will of this, but since you are at the planning stage, I feel it's important to mention it... It may be worthwhile considering an adult Lab rather than a puppy if you feel you may struggle with house training/leash training/general good behaviour from an over exuberant big puppy!

There is more to exercise than just their body, people forget that a dog's brain (especially highly intelligent breeds) need working as well, scent games (making a dog use their nose for a reward) and basic obedience for an example are other ways you can tire a dog out without running the legs off them. Now, if you're getting a puppy you will need to keep in mind how much you exercise him/her as already mentioned by other posters.

(I kind of feel that walks on a leash aren't that useful, is why I'm asking really - when we take her off the leash that's different, but the whole idea of long walks on a leash is still a bit odd to me. I get that they can't sit in the house all day, but what about "hanging out" with the family outside?)

The bolded bit... I count that as stimulation, perhaps in ways more important than "exercise" in my opinion. Sniffing the air, sniffing different spots in the garden, chasing a leaf, meeting different people/dogs/animals, seeing, being with the humans in their life and hearing different things it's all extremely important for a dog to do on a regular basis.

I don't "walk" my dogs (three of them) every single day, but I do something with them a few times each day to get both their bodies and brains working, things that they get excited to do and one big walk a week (up the mountains for about 2 hours) and they're a very well behaved bunch. :o

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

Yes, I definitely get the point about being out and about meeting new people and dogs, and seeing things, absolutely.

(I couldn't really ask my neighbour, cos it sounds a bit like suggesting he's not treating his dog properly!)

VonVix wrote: »
    It may be worthwhile considering an adult Lab rather than a puppy if you feel you may struggle with house training/leash training/general good behaviour from an over exuberant big puppy!

One of the reasons we've put off getting a dog was because my son was petrified of dogs, and would expect us to cross over to the other side of the street to avoid dogs. We can't even think of any event that caused this. The closest thing we've come to is the black dog in one of the Harry Potter movies that he was afraid of.

So, getting a puppy was always going to be our starting point. Who could be afraid of a puppy? :) He was at a farm recently and petted a friendly dog, so he seems to be improving.

One of the reasons we've put off getting a dog was because my son was petrified of dogs, and would expect us to cross over to the other side of the street to avoid dogs. We can't even think of any event that caused this. The closest thing we've come to is the black dog in one of the Harry Potter movies that he was afraid of.

So, getting a puppy was always going to be our starting point. Who could be afraid of a puppy? :) He was at a farm recently and petted a friendly dog, so he seems to be improving.

Puppies are often not great for people who are nervous of dogs; they're hyper, unpredictable, like to jump up, and they nip a lot with very sharp teeth. Labs are also very beefy and a young one could easily knock a child over.

If you were considering a dog I'd actually recommend something like a rescue adult greyhound. They're very gentle creatures. And they don't take an awful lot of exercising.

a young one could easily knock a child over.

Yeah, about that... he's 16 :o:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭VonVix

Generally speaking with a person with a fear of dogs, a puppy is the last thing I personally recommend in all honesty. :o While cute, puppies are basically all things scary about dogs in a small package, they are bitey, jumpy and loud. How does he feel about the idea of a puppy?

[Dog Training + Behaviour Nerd]

Yeah, about that... he's 16 :o:)

Maybe not so easy to topple then, but the rest of it could still be an issue.

How does he feel about the idea of a puppy?

We'll be having the conversation later. His two sisters are looking for a dog, and we've put it off until now.

I think he'll be fine with a puppy and I know he's the type that if/when they bond he'll probably be the one most involved.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,006 ✭✭✭bmwguy

I have a black lab, bundles of energy but easy enough to tire out with a ball thrown a good distance, they will run and retrieve endlessly which tires them out quickly. Very docile back in the house then. Swimming is brilliant for that too just test out their swimming ability first, mine is a strong swimmer.
    Can be a bit restless if not brought out during the day, I try to get her out early and she is happy then. Goes out later in the day too. About an hour both times. I have back-up walkers in the family if needed. Most of it is off lead retrieving, swimming, sniffing around just on lead near roads.
    Excellent dogs, couldn't fault them or try to think of a breed I would prefer. Not aggressive, not nervous, perhaps not a great watchdog but I'm not after that.
    If the exercise is putting you off, get a different breed. They are prone to being overweight if not exercised. But the walks are toilet time as well keeps my garden clean, just scoop and bin the poop out on walks.

bmwguy wrote: »
    I have a black lab, bundles of energy but easy enough to tire out with a ball thrown a good distance, they will run and retrieve endlessly which tires them out quickly. Very docile back in the house then. Swimming is brilliant for that too just test out their swimming ability first, mine is a strong swimmer.
    Can be a bit restless if not brought out during the day, I try to get her out early and she is happy then. Goes out later in the day too. About an hour both times. I have back-up walkers in the family if needed. Most of it is off lead retrieving, swimming, sniffing around just on lead near roads.
    Excellent dogs, couldn't fault them or try to think of a breed I would prefer. Not aggressive, not nervous, perhaps not a great watchdog but I'm not after that.
    If the exercise is putting you off, get a different breed. They are prone to being overweight if not exercised. But the walks are toilet time as well keeps my garden clean, just scoop and bin the poop out on walks.

Yeah, I can't see past a lab to be honest. You've painted an interesting picture, and a good reminder of when I had a lab growing up.

And no, my lab would have most likely gone up to intruders to get a rub down. :pac:

Yeah, I can't see past a lab to be honest. You've painted an interesting picture, and a good reminder of when I had a lab growing up.

And no, my lab would have most likely gone up to intruders to get a rub down. :pac:

You'd be surprised what they'd do if there was a real threat though.

I remember walking my 2 girls in the woods, there is a house nearby where mentally disabled people live, they were out walking also.

One of the children saw the dogs and came running towards us, all Heidi saw was someone coming towards us waving their arms and shouting, she stood in front of me with her hair up growling and showing her teeth, didn't go for the young lad or anything but was warning him to stay away.

Only sign of aggression I ever saw her show, genuinely one of the friendliest dogs i've ever met.

So I reckon when they need to they can be aggressive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,442 ✭✭✭Choc Chip

If I was thinking about getting a lab I'd be looking carefully at the lines and the temperament of the parents (probably common sense with any dog!). They really seem to be chalk and cheese depending on where they come from though - I've met laid-back slobs... all the way through to rude, bolshy, hyper-active eejits. I'm not saying that the latter wouldn't be great dogs with the proper training and exercise, but they are a serious handful (I'm thinking of one in particular who is still bouncing off the walls at 7 years old with no signs of slowing down). Family friends had a young lab (years ago in the UK) and they just couldn't keep up with him - he was eventually tested then went off to be a detection dog.

I'm not trying to put you off a lab, but there are some I've met who would eat up 2 hours exercise a day and still be yelling for more work. If you decide to get one I'd have a good chat to the breeder about what they do with their dog and try to see it inside the house - decide if it's something you'd like to live with yourself... maybe even get your son to visit and see how he feels?

I think they're fab dogs if you get one that fits with your family. :)

The bolded bit... I count that as stimulation, perhaps in ways more important than "exercise" in my opinion. Sniffing the air, sniffing different spots in the garden, chasing a leaf, meeting different people/dogs/animals, seeing, being with the humans in their life and hearing different things it's all extremely important for a dog to do on a regular basis.

I think I get what you mean - mine are all WRECKED this evening, and they haven't been "walked" at all (guilty: not even training). We went somewhere new today and they sniffed and played and generally went mad in the new space. Then they went up to our farm and ran zoomies in sheds and sniffed in straw while some cleaning was done. They've just been out with us working all day and they're exhausted right now.

I think the point I'm trying to make is that I find that walks are as much for novelty (new smells and experiences) and giving their brain something to do as they are for exercise.

I think it depends how you look at on-leash walks. I might not go too far on-lead, but the dogs sniff their little brains out and then they'll get some off-leash time later to run. Whereas if you let my dad take them out he'll frog-march them as far as possible and they barely get a chance to put their heads down. It depends what your purpose is - letting their brains work, or pure exercise. I'd rather let them stroll along and sniff and be dogs, than worry about the length - I have a dog who can run all day after a tractor easily, i'd be working awful hard to tire her out physically on-leash.

Yes, I think that fits with my impression and is what I was trying to work out I guess : she's really high energy and I don't think we could wear her out on leash, when she goes running she's grand but she can outrun all of us now and still want more, but we're lucky we can take her to the beach most days and she plays with other dogs she knows there.
    But I see on walks that she likes to sniff around, so I suppose that's the point of the walk, new things and new places, rather than miles and miles of walking, I don't think it's possible to tire her out completely by just walking - that'd be a full time job!!

I agree with what you’re saying - trying to tire a dog out physically on lead is tough (i feel for husky owners, unless they're into bikejoring etc!). I think mental stimulation is just as important.

On a typical day, I'll try to burn off the excess energy first with a run/fetch, then do training to make them think, then they're generally ready for a nap (and i can do some work). Repeat ad naseum. 😉

I think if you can make sure that they're both exercised AND mentally stimulated, then that's ideal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,318 ✭✭✭Vel

We had labs when I was a kid and I will always have a soft spot for them.

That said, I think it is especially important when buying a lab these days to ensure you choose the right breeder, as from my experience of meeting many of them when out walking my dog there seems to a be lot with temperament issues. I honestly feel a lot of labs being bred nowadays are nowhere near the 'andrex puppy' type labs that I would have grown up with in terms of their temperament. It could be that people aren't putting in the effort in terms of training and are unleashing untrained, boisterous and badly behaved dogs into the places I frequent or breeders are breeding from temperamentally unsound stock - I'm not sure which.

Also, all the ones I see are stocky, fat yokes with big heads!! Our labs looked like greyhounds in comparison to the ones I see around!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 447 ✭✭Latatian

An older dog might be a better bet for someone who is nervous of dogs. You can assess the temperament better.

I had more than one black eye going from the labrador. Got me a fair few concerned looks. When they're excited they can be a bit mad, bless 'em. They can be absolute sharks too, known for hyper puppy-biting. You really need a crate or to expect to have *something* shredded- we had her in a nice safe room without anything near the floor that wasn't a nice safe dog toy without any sharp edges or hurty things... so she gnawed her way into a door. And tried to eat the skirting board. As you do.

Not to mention a teenage lab will test boundaries a lot. Testing boundaries can be as simple as 'Oh hey I want to turn around quickly so I'm going to slam into your legs at full speed, sending you flying, that okay?' 'I'm going to leap at your face because I'm so excited'. 'I'm going to stare at you and bark. And bark. And bark.'

She could do a good four hour brisk walk through the woods off-lead and come home and ask for another one. Miss that dog so much. But when she was old, an hour would do her no bother. I would definitely get one again but they would have to be at least three years old, preferably seven.