Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The solution to Irelands housing crisis

• 12-04-2017 12:58pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭

hah, you wish.

Found this while browsing the internet. It is a house that can be 3D-Printed and you can move in that same day. It's one of those things that sound too good to be true.

PassivDom - the first totally autonomous house in the world.
    Even in Arctic climate conditions.

Assuming that this is viable tech, what would the downsides be to bringing this to Ireland? The prices range around the €25,000 mark which I think is incredibly cheap.

The important question to ask is how long will the structure last? Maintenance costs etc.. etc.. Since it is marketed as a "self-sufficient" home.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,740 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Assuming that this is viable tech, what would the downsides be to bringing this to Ireland? The prices range around the €25,000 mark which I think is incredibly cheap.

The downsides are Erica Fleming and her like refusing to take them under social housing schemes as they aren't near enough to their mammies or anything like their entitled idealised image of their free "forever homes"

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

But where do we put the swimming pool,hot tub and two space car parking for single mum's

• Registered Users Posts: 7,850 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

the solution quite simply is to build more houses and apartments ASAP.

Theres no lack of zoned land, theres no lack of builders, theres no lack of buyers, the problem is speculators sitting on zoned land, watching the prices rocket and knowing that the more they sit on their investment the higher the return.

They also, unlike any other civilised country, dont have to pay any land tax, so theres zero cost to them of sitting on that prime building land . Their only cost is to pay the accountant every year to rewrite their balance sheet with an even higher asset value.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

The prices range around the €25,000 mark which I think is incredibly cheap.
    The barebones Module 36 м² plus is 30K - this is "tiny living"
    If you want more, like 2 modules together you're close to 100K

• Registered Users Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Assuming that this is viable tech, what would the downsides be to bringing this to Ireland? .

'Have you moved into your new home yet?'

'Nope... f**kin paper jam...''

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 9,005 ✭✭✭pilly

It does look too good to be true doesn't it? Fantastic idea though if it works.

Only problem is where do you put them.

There's an eco village in Tipperary somewhere, can't remember the name of the place now, near where Obama was but there are still empty houses there, completely self sufficient etc. blah blah but no amenities, public transport etc to go along with it so unless you want to live a complete hippy lifestyle it doesn't work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 827 ✭✭✭pxdf9i5cmoavkz

biko wrote:
    If you want more, like 2 modules together you're close to 100K

Still cheaper than the €300k junk currently on sale. 2 modules brings you up to 78^2 which is decent imo and it saves you €200k.
    pilly wrote: »
    There's an eco village in Tipperary somewhere, can't remember the name of the place now, near where Obama was but there are still empty houses there, completely self sufficient etc. blah blah but no amenities, public transport etc to go along with it so unless you want to live a complete hippy lifestyle it doesn't work.

This is the other issue with it. We are creatures of convenience. If something is not convenient it will most likely be rejected.

Still cheaper than the €300k junk currently on sale. 2 modules brings you up to 78^2 which is decent imo and it saves you €200k.

This is the other issue with it. We are creatures of convenience. If something is not convenient it will most likely be rejected.

Not really convenience though in some cases. Lets say for example you are truly environmental and want to have to live in a way that has the least impact on the environment.

Whey then would you go live in one of these where you'd have to drive a car to get anywhere? You'd want somewhere where there's public transport or at least amenities within cycling distance.

You'd have to buy land though also?

It does look too good to be true doesn't it? Fantastic idea though if it works.

Only problem is where do you put them.

Cloughjordan
    http://www.thevillage.ie

• Registered Users Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭quadrifoglio verde

Theres no lack of zoned land, theres no lack of builders, theres no lack of buyers, the problem is speculators sitting on zoned land, watching the prices rocket and knowing that the more they sit on their investment the higher the return.

They also, unlike any other civilised country, dont have to pay any land tax, so theres zero cost to them of sitting on that prime building land . Their only cost is to pay the accountant every year to rewrite their balance sheet with an even higher asset value.

Have a look at financing developments and you'll start to see you why so little is getting built.

That's the one. Thanks. I've been there and all, just have a terrible memory for names.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭myshirt

Have a look at financing developments and you'll start to see you why so little is getting built.

Correct. But the money is there. Projects are getting financed now.

Amongst many problems is we only build the Mercedes house now, we don't do the Nissan Almera. Additionally we culturally have a problem with paying tradespeople too much. If any sparky, brickie, chippy, or spanner monkey ever nets more than 600 quid a week they are way, way overpaid. It's similar to the unions in this country, it causes cost-push inflation, higher wages at the expense of fewer jobs, and distorts wages above the normalised market run rate.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Huge amounts of voids in Dublin City centre and other urban areas above shops and businesses. Spaces that could be converted into apartments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,579 ✭✭✭Mr McBoatface

myshirt wrote: »
    Correct. But the money is there. Projects are getting financed now.

Amongst many problems is we only build the Mercedes house now, we don't do the Nissan Almera. Additionally we culturally have a problem with paying tradespeople too much. If any sparky, brickie, chippy, or spanner monkey ever nets more than 600 quid a week they are way, way overpaid. It's similar to the unions in this country, it causes cost-push inflation, higher wages at the expense of fewer jobs, and distorts wages above the normalised market run rate.

Overpaid according to who ?

Many are working 60 hrs plus on site's now because there are feck all good lads left in the country, thanks to the "professional Class". Lads on sites are generally subcontractors of subcontractors getting paid peanuts compared to what the main contractors and have no job security.

Terrible work conditions have been brought in through the backdoor for the non-professional workers in this country, union's are needed more than ever to protect from the likes of you.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,740 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

zerks wrote: »
    Huge amounts of voids in Dublin City centre and other urban areas above shops and businesses. Spaces that could be converted into apartments.

Maybe so in Dublin. Not true in galway, we have lots of apartments over commercial buildings already. (I live in one.)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

One Way The government could buy ever house for sale in Ireland Today and put homeless Families into them Tomorrow . Problem Solved.

Tax paying PAYE worker you mean.

Sure let's price out the hardest working people and possibly most screwed over generation of workers even more. ( Said as a middle aged guy doing ok , but god do I pity the younger generation )

Plus many homes on sale wouldn't be close enough to mammy for a large amount of the homeless

• Registered Users Posts: 6,209 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

ive often wondered why they dont build houses for cheap out of a special made plastic block,like giant lego, heat resistant ,insulated etc, the whole house could be dont that way,roof n all ,would surely be cheaper and faster,longer lasting

Tax paying PAYE worker you mean.

Sure let's price out the hardest working people and possibly most screwed over generation of workers even more. ( Said as a middle aged guy doing ok , but god do I pity the younger generation )

Plus many homes on sale wouldn't be close enough to mammy for a large amount of the homeless
    Who is Paying Dead Money for Hotels? If the Government buy them Homes we the Irish State will have asset Investments instead of wasting Dead Money on Hotels.

What about the fact that regardless of people living in hostels there are more people currently trying to buy a house than there are currently houses to buy.

As ridiculous as the basic ignorance of your plan is you also need to realise by removing the possibility of them being even able to buy a house they are just gonna leave, that's a hell of a lot of tax payers suddenly vacating the country after you've just spent a lot of taxes on buying houses. Who's gonna pay for them then?

VinLieger wrote: »
    What about the fact that regardless of people living in hostels there are more people currently trying to buy a house than there are currently houses to buy.

As ridiculous as the basic ignorance of your plan is you also need to realise by removing the possibility of them being even able to buy a house they are just gonna leave, that's a hell of a lot of tax payers suddenly vacating the country after you've just spent a lot of taxes on buying houses. Who's gonna pay for them then?
    This Would be Cheaper Option in the long term for the Irish/State. instead of wasting Dead Money on Hotels which is cost more in the Long term We Would have asset Investments for the future generations .

You got figures to back that up ?

There is no one fix solution to the problem. Government messing about with private housing for social housing needs has backfired any further action would backfire even more.

The introduction of rent allowance all those years back was one of the worst things that ever happened to the social housing situation in this country. It gave the government and councils a quick out, a reason not build any more houses for social needs.

The people who received rent allowance where then stuck in a poverty trap. If they they took up work they would become homeless. It's affects are still present today and will be for generations.

The solution is multi solutions. The building of social housing (attaching social responsibility to those who recieve them)

Looking at current stock, thousands of council family homes in the country have just one or two people living in them while family's are stuck in hotels.

HAP/RAS need to be looked at, private landlords should not have to bear any risk if the tenant stops paying the small fee they are required to pay the council. It's un acceptable that a private landlord should not be paid by the council because the tenant missed thier small contribution.

The selling of council property at reduced prices has to stop.

A change in mindset is also needed, sense of entitlement should be replaced by sense of social responsibility. In high demand area's for social housing preference should be given to low pay workers over non-workers

Also it's not talked about alot but many of those on the streets have serious mental issues that years ago would have had them in secure institutions. They have been let down by the community care approach, the institution are long gone and where unfit for purpose but they at least kept roofs over thier heads.

Planning changes, more high density stock

• Registered Users Posts: 28,150 ✭✭✭✭looksee

I am intrigued by the fact that they are produced (?) in Kiev and that there is a zombi apocalypse version which has 'extra toilet paper storage' and a free bible!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 903 ✭✭✭MysticMonk

Who do you suppose is going to pay for all these free houses?

The Unemployed?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

So we build houses and give them to people in hotels or whatever?

What message does that send out to young people? Don't bother working or anything sure you will get a house anyway.

Nah bolox to that.

MysticMonk wrote: »
    Who do you suppose is going to pay for all these free houses?

The Unemployed?

Who the fcuk even mentioned free houses? This conversation was started by someone genuinely interested in ways to solve the housing crisis in general and some posters just have to turn it into another "free houses" argument.

Get over yourselves.

Who the fcuk even mentioned free houses? This conversation was started by someone genuinely interested in ways to solve the housing crisis in general and some posters just have to turn it into another "free houses" argument.

Get over yourselves.

No one poster definitely suggested buying up all the houses currently for sale and putting homeless families in them tomorrow.

VinLieger wrote: »
    No one poster definitely suggested buying up all the houses currently for sale and putting homeless families in them tomorrow.

That wasn't the post that was answered though.

The poster you mention posts rubbish all day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,024 ✭✭✭Owryan

One small change would be to only assign council houses for a fixed period that could be reviewed to assess whether or not the tenants still meet the eligibility.

There are plenty of council houses out there where the tenants are no longer in need of social housing. I ve worked with families bringing in a grand a week and living in a council house.