Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vincent Browne

• 11-04-2017 9:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,416 ✭✭✭

Very clever man or a fking idiot who can barely string a verbal sentence together?

no pole attached ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Who cares? I don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,900 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

Both.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

"verbal sentence. Terrible english" - Vincent Browne

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

He recently described Simon Harris as "prematurely waistcoated", which was a brilliant description.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,214 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

What did the Polish ever do that you won't attach them OP?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

I like his no nonsense couldn't give a flying f*ck who you are approach.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,166 ✭✭✭Are Am Eye

I think that he has so perfected the art of badgering someone that he no longer
    needs to consciously pay any effort or focus to it. He can just concentrate on
    his sneer. Multi tasking - sneering derisively at his victims feeble attempts to
    answer and badgering them all at the same time. twitter machine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

sonofenoch wrote: »
    Very clever man or a fking idiot who can barely string a verbal sentence together?

no pole attached ...

Doddery idiot with a lot of friends in important places. A waffler who fakes "outrage" well . Then laughs. One of the D4 set. Him and yer wan with the poodle perm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

He's from West Limerick and should retire there.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,390 ✭✭✭please helpThank YOU

I love The Man Vincent Browne. Love to See him in a Boxing Ring With Enda and Mick Wallace as the Boxing Referee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

I like his politician badgering and his total disdain for people who waffle, avoid questions, or misdirect. He has a good eye for separating the odd virtuous politician with the dozens of spoofers who are only in it for the prestige.

Still, I think Eamonn Dunphy described him best. A sheep in wolf's clothing. Browne is a champagne socialist and part of the media circus he pretends to hate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

sonofenoch wrote: »
    no pole attached ...

Christ, is he still on about those lads!?

Water John wrote: »
    He's from West Limerick and should retire there.
    Vincent Browne why will Enda not go on his show?:rolleyes:.

There's substance to Browne. When all O'Reilly's rags/Independent Newspapers ganged up on John Hume for talking to Gerry Adams/initiating the peace process in the early 1990s, Browne had the mother of all rows with O'Reilly and then Tony Ryan because he refused to join them. He held his ground. Hugely admirable for this (as was Damien Kiberd in The Sunday Business Post).

Leaving aside his groundbreaking investigative journalism in Magill and the like, or his penchant for spotting talent (Ross O'Carroll Kelly started in the Sunday Tribune, as did JJ Lee's superb weekly history column), history will be very kind to Browne because of his courage in the face of the might of Anthony O'Reilly. Delighted to see O'Reilly is now bankrupt and the Harris-Fanning mob who controlled the Sunday Independent are hasbeens. Karma.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,166 ✭✭✭Beyondgone

There's substance to Browne. When all O'Reilly's rags/Independent Newspapers ganged up on John Hume for talking to Gerry Adams/initiating the peace process in the early 1990s, Browne had the mother of all rows with O'Reilly and then Tony Ryan because he refused to join them. He held his ground. Hugely admirable for this (as was Damien Kiberd in The Sunday Business Post).

Leaving aside his groundbreaking investigative journalism in Magill and the like, or his penchant for spotting talent (Ross O'Carroll Kelly started in the Sunday Tribune, as did JJ Lee's superb weekly history column), history will be very kind to Browne because of his courage in the face of the might of Anthony O'Reilly. Delighted to see O'Reilly is now bankrupt and the Harris-Fanning mob who controlled the Sunday Independent are hasbeens. Karma.

Codswallop. He'd be on the dole if that was even vaguely true.

Vincent Browne is what Ireland needs more people like this Man he is as Wise Man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,810 ✭✭✭✭Water John

The badgering style of interviewing, of Browne and Paxman doesn't work. It's more self promotion than seeking the truth.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,833 ✭✭✭✭ThisRegard

Vincent Browne is what Ireland needs more people like this Man he is as Wise Man.

He's a has been now unfortunately. His show is a dodery mess these days and the audience numbers must be through the floor..

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Codswallop. He'd be on the dole if that was even vaguely true.

Is it now? You're either too young to remember, or you're an Independent Newspapers employee. As Fintan O'Toole notes (The Ex-Isle of Erin, 1997) O'Reilly several times tried to sack Vincent Browne, and in 1994 he finally succeeded in sacking him via his representatives on the board of the Sunday Tribune. Browne's crime this time? To condemn the Sunday Independent's mob attacks on Eamonn Casey. O'Reilly, the great autocrat of the Irish media, didn't like an editor whose agenda he couldn't dictate.

Fortunately for Irish democracy, Browne survived to tell everybody in 2007 that "Sir" - as O'Reilly infamously corrected an RTE journalist - Anthony O'Reilly had just held a secret meeting with Bertie Ahern and Brian Cowen before the 2007 election where the Independent rags would support FF in return for FF looking after O'Reilly's other business interests. Not the sort of information one would have read in the Sunday Independent in 2007.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I sent him a one word e-mail that described one of the panel.
    He looked at the camera and smiled.

Vincent Browne will Bust Your Head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

He was born to wealth right?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I thought his radio show in the nineties was more powerful, I remember him ripping Michael Noonan apart in 1997 during the hepatitis scandal on the radio, riveting stuff.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

I thought his radio show in the nineties was more powerful, I remember him ripping Michael Noonan apart in 1997 during the hepatitis scandal on the radio, riveting stuff.

He once introduced the disgraced lobbyist Frank Dunlop with the words: "Frank Dunlop, you're some little bollix, aren't you?"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,018 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Watched a few minutes of his show last night for the first time in ages. He's always been a bit doddery in delivery, but it took him a very long time to get a sentence into working order at times, even if I did laugh at his undisguised cynicism at what he was hearing from the panel. But it all has the feeling of a bit of a pantomine at this stage. I remember it was dynamite TV every night back around the time of the bailout, when the likes of Paul Sommerville and Constantin Gurdgiev were like economic hearthrobs to the nation. Your heart would drop if only Brian Lucey was on the panel.

Still respect Vinnie immensely as a journalist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,261 ✭✭✭Baron Kurtz

I love The Man Vincent Browne. Love to See him in a Boxing Ring With Enda and Mick Wallace as the Boxing Referee.

Leave the shift key alone, would ya!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,593 ✭✭✭Wheeliebin30

RayM wrote: »
    He recently described Simon Harris as "prematurely waistcoated", which was a brilliant description.

He is a bitter man after not been allowed join Fianna Gael and never got over it. He has a personal vendetta behind all his ranting.

Pathetic really.

"In 1994, he sought a nomination for the Fine Gael party in that year's European elections or the possible general election of that year (it was thought a general election might follow the collapse of the Albert Reynolds' government). He was rebuffed by the leader of Fine Gael and future Taoiseach, John Bruton. He then became a vocal critic of the party."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭Robsweezie

He doesn't have the polished media training that RTE/ TV3 crowd appear to have. He just shoots off the bat, he doesnt care for pleasantries, just the truth

• Site Banned Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭Ralf and Florian

Jaysus! What a knob! This Boland guy.

https://twitter.com/samrboland/status/882725557640757249

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

Beyondgone wrote: »
    Doddery idiot with a lot of friends in important places. A waffler who fakes "outrage" well . Then laughs. One of the D4 set. Him and yer wan with the poodle perm.

He's from Limerick.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,628 ✭✭✭darkdubh

What point is he trying to make? Seriously?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Robsweezie wrote: »
    He doesn't have the polished media training that RTE/ TV3 crowd appear to have. He just shoots off the bat, he doesnt care for pleasantries, just the truth

The first time i seen his show

I taught it was a pisstake like apres match

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

Agricola wrote: »
    I like his politician badgering and his total disdain for people who waffle, avoid questions, or misdirect. He has a good eye for separating the odd virtuous politician with the dozens of spoofers who are only in it for the prestige.

Still, I think Eamonn Dunphy described him best. A sheep in wolf's clothing. Browne is a champagne socialist and part of the media circus he pretends to hate.

Great phrase. Very true.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,563 ✭✭✭dd972

I was waiting for a southbound Dart at Tara St during a quiet mid morning and he walked past me staring at me like I'd just come off a spacecraft.