Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Have you eaten any Easter eggs yet?

• 11-04-2017 2:43pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭

Am I the only philistine around here who has demolished two already?

The first was a posh belgian chocolate egg that I got from a client and the second was a malteasers one that my boyfriend bought and that I was halfway through before I realised what I was doing.

Am I the only fattie who can't wait til Easter Sunday?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

I sure have. Was tesco was doing them 5 for €5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,814 ✭✭✭harry Bailey esq

Bambi985 wrote: »

The first was a posh belgian chocolate egg that I got from a client and the second was a malteasers one that my boyfriend bought and that I was halfway through before I realised what I was doing.

I got a galaxy one for me 13 year old son and skilfully unwrapped it, took the bars out and repackaged it. It's the first and only time I've ever felt guilty for eating chocolate,but by my reckoning he's far too old to be getting f*%@ng Easter eggs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,211 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I've eat those little tiny little Lindt eggs!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 31,152 ✭✭✭✭KERSPLAT!

Shared one... :/

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I would never open one to eat myself before Easter but a colleague opened one in the office and i had some.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

I got a galaxy one for me 13 year old son and skilfully unwrapped it, took the bars out and repackaged it. It's the first and only time I've ever felt guilty for eating chocolate,but by my reckoning he's far too old to be getting f*%@ng Easter eggs.

I'm 30 years old and my dad still buys me an easter egg every year. You're never too young for over-priced chocolate :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Nope, but will probably have one later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

Delighted to see Snickers eggs back after a brief absence of a few years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

No, Easter means Easter for me. So, roll on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,119 ✭✭✭andrew1977

The weekend Tesco had 5 for 5 euro I bought 5, ate every one of them over the weekend, and the bars/crème eggs which came with them didn't see the end of the weekend either.

Pig that I am. Enjoyed every crumb. Sure they are not the size they once were .. that's my excuse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,456 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Bought 2 for myself didn't open them yet

I prefer going to dealz and places like that and getting the bagged chocolate like Maltesers, galaxy golden eggs, mini eggs etc. Cheaper and easier to eat (no breaking up eggs and letting them go stale)

I prefer a nice roast of a Sunday, but a nice chicken fillet roll with mayo and cheese isn't without its charms :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭me_irl

Just ask for forgiveness. Jesus won't mind.

I prefer a nice roast of a Sunday, but a nice chicken fillet roll with mayo and cheese isn't without its charms :D

That's a poor attempt.:(

Turkey and ham etc for Easter Sunday afternoon. The night will be spent devouring a few Easter eggs.

me_irl wrote: »
    Just ask for forgiveness. Jesus won't mind.

But, I would.

That's a poor attempt.:(

God loves a tryer...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,841 ✭✭✭lertsnim

Bought some for my niece and nephew. Will need to get them replacements before Sunday.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 10,446 Mod ✭✭✭✭xzanti

I've been eating them since February :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

I've been eating chocolate eggs. Nothing to do with easter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

Had half a small one drunk. Actually went and got it out of the boot of the car and all :(

I was off chocolate for lent :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,605 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Had half a small one drunk. Actually went and got it out of the boot of the car and all :(

I was off chocolate for lent :(

What's the normal punishment for such a sin?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,488 ✭✭✭Fighting Tao

blade1 wrote: »

4 hail Mary's and 3 our farthers

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,058 ✭✭✭whoopsadoodles

blade1 wrote: »

Well I ended up, quite literally, in the desert until Easter so I think I've done my penance!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,789 ✭✭✭✭ScumLord

I haven't bought any because there's no way I'd be able to not eat it. I don't even keep sugar in the house. I try and wait as long as possible because I have to buy some for the nephews and it's a case of, if I buy too early I'll eat the eggs, wait too long and there will be no eggs left in the shops. My nephews haven't gotten eggs from me for the last two years because those two things happened.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Bought one yesterday. Smashed it as soon as I got home. I was hanging out the back of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,404 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Had a bag of those aldi mini eggs. Nom

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,203 ✭✭✭Parchment

I always put my easter eggs in the fridge - they are far nicer and more "substantial" when chilled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,150 ✭✭✭✭Malari

It never occurred to me people buy themselves Easter eggs to eat before Easter :D Of course I realise that's why shops stock them so early...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 473 ✭✭__Alex__

No, I hate the manky yokes! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29 Trotters

No, not a single solitary one. I be brave and strong.

I do expect to get given at least one for Easter...
    and in my house, there's a general free-for-all chocfest all day Easter Sunday. Plus dinner and cake.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Update: make that three Easter Eggs.

giphy.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

xzanti wrote: »
    I've been eating them since February :o

Same as. Bought and ate a mars one the week after Valentine's day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 128 ✭✭JimmyTClarke

Bambi985 wrote: »

I've been scoffing Creme Eggs since New Year's Day, Bambi. So don't worry about a thing, enjoy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

I've eaten about three in the last two weeks. No point leaving it til Easter Sunday and then when you want more they're all gone from the shops. Might as well eat them when they're in stock.
    Cadbury's all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭Bananaleaf

I've not eaten any, although I can understand why so many of ye have, considering they were on the shelves from before New Year's Day :eek:

I bought myself and the OH one small egg each, one dark choc bunny to share and I have a small tray of mini Butlers chocolate eggs - I think there are about 10 or 11 in the tray and they each have a different flavour. I bought them in Feb and I still haven't opened them. I'm one of them ... :rolleyes:

I've them all hidden because while I'm good with chocolate, the OH is a total fiend and would have the lot gone in about 10mins. He wouldn't be even the slightest bit remorseful about it either.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

Bought 15 eggs for my students in school. Totally forgot to bring them with me on Friday so had to buy some replacements.
    I then had 15 easter eggs at home. Felt I had to get rid of them some way so now I'm down to 10 :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

Just had a full Terrys Chocolate Orange if that counts.

Corkgirl18 wrote: »
    Bought 15 eggs for my students in school. Totally forgot to bring them with me on Friday so had to buy some replacements.
    I then had 15 easter eggs at home. Felt I had to get rid of them some way so now I'm down to 10 :o

Off topic I know, but why did you buy 15 eggs for your students and did you pay for them yourself?

I'll keep it on topic by giving you a tale from my past - had a friend who bought her whole family and grandparents eggs and a gigantic dairy milk bar (remember those?) we were only about 16 - first part-time jobs. She ate them all. All of them. And I remember her giving me my egg on Easter Sunday (ridiculous buying so many to begin with) and it was just the egg - bars gone. Same with our other friend who she also gave an egg to. It was actually kind of sad, because she felt terrible guilty about it but just hadn't the control to stop.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 894 ✭✭✭Corkgirl18

Bananaleaf wrote: »
    Off topic I know, but why did you buy 15 eggs for your students and did you pay for them yourself?

I'll keep it on topic by giving you a tale from my past - had a friend who bought her whole family and grandparents eggs and a gigantic dairy milk bar (remember those?) we were only about 16 - first part-time jobs. She ate them all. All of them. And I remember her giving me my egg on Easter Sunday (ridiculous buying so many to begin with) and it was just the egg - bars gone. Same with our other friend who she also gave an egg to. It was actually kind of sad, because she felt terrible guilty about it but just hadn't the control to stop.

That story is like something I would do :p
    I just bought them for my own class group. I just got the 3 for €5 ones so weren't very expensive. To be honest, for a lot of those kids they'll probably be the only eggs they'll be getting this year. I bought replacements on Friday morning so they did get them :D

Corkgirl18 wrote: »
    That story is like something I would do :p
    I just bought them for my own class group. I just got the 3 for €5 ones so weren't very expensive. To be honest, for a lot of those kids they'll probably be the only eggs they'll be getting this year. I bought replacements on Friday morning so they did get them :D

That's lovely - fair play to you. I had a feeling you paid for them yourself alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,731 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

No, but I had to buy other chocolate to ensure the eggs stayed intact.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,240 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hannibal_Smith

I've had one :o it was only a small one. But it had a little bag of mini oreo biscuits inside. I ate them too :o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,084 ✭✭✭oppenheimer1

__Alex__ wrote: »
    No, I hate the manky yokes! :)

There's no yolk in an Easter egg :confused:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

No not one, as much as I would like to I have the will power to not gorge myself in them.