Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can a current banned driver be covered to drive under someone else's trade insurance?

• 06-04-2017 12:13am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 239 ✭✭

So I know a guy who was banned from driving less than 6 months ago for 5 years. He had previous convictions for dangerous driving offences and was caught driving with no licence, insurance etc so got a suspended sentence and a 5 year ban.

Thing is he is still driving, he has bought a van, there are no tax or nct discs on it or anything since buying it a month ago. He has said he bought his way out of it ( the banned driving), I don't believe you can buy your way out of it immediately...then has said he's covered to drive under an uncles trade insurance. He also drives his girlfriends car daily.
    ( I know you can get a licence back earlier if your half way through a ban but never heard of buying your way out of it straight away)

I thought a ban from driving means you cannot drive at all under any circumstances but he's saying he can. He's after saying so many different things, it's confusing but I think he is just spinning lies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 195 ✭✭toptom

Call the Gardaí on him. He is lying and putting other road users at risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 953 ✭✭✭Nodster

leheaven wrote: »
    He had previous convictions for dangerous driving offences and was caught driving with no licence, insurance etc so got a suspended sentence and a 5 year ban.

Last thing I want is a chav like this driving the very same road as me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 84,707 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

His insurers are gobsheites not taking a record of his licence prior to giving him a policy, will be fun if he has a claim and they have to pay out for being idiots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,316 ✭✭✭✭the_syco

He most likely isn't insured, and all discs are fake. Fairly easy to do, to a point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

His insurers are gobsheites not taking a record of his licence prior to giving him a policy, will be fun if he has a claim and they have to pay out for being idiots.

his uncle's policy....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

the_syco wrote: »
    He most likely isn't insured, and all discs are fake. Fairly easy to do, to a point.

there are no discs....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,697 ✭✭✭goochy

Report pure and simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,986 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

A disqualification is a disqualification. He may not drive. You cannot "buy your way out of it".

He is either lying outright about the insurance arrangements - they simply do not exist - or he has failed to disclose to some insurer that he is disqualified.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,193 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

How could that happen? He has no license, which voids any cover it might look like he has, not to mention breach of Full Disclosure.

OP, this character is the two ends of a mule's tool and should be reported immediately and quare lively.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

jimgoose wrote: »
    How could that happen? He has no license, which voids any cover it might look like he has, not to mention breach of Full Disclosure.

OP, this character is the two ends of a mule's tool and should be reported immediately and quare lively.

The problem is, as the boards insurance experts have admitted in the various "first time drivers over 30 are loaded because they are probably banned drivers" threads.... insurers haven't a balls what they are insuring but they want it both ways.

You would assume it is cheaper and easier for them to just insure people assuming bona fides rather than checking everything.... but then they want to complain about fraud at the same time.

I wonder... if a 10 times banned drug dealer is insured as a student teachers... do the companies put any of his claims into the loading calculations for a banned drug dealer ... or student teacher? You'd have to wonder really based on their pretty dire systems.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

He has lost his liecence to have insurance you must have a liecence therefore he is not insured no matter what B.S he wants to spin report him let him have an extra ban for driving while disqualified

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

only one solution OP and its not giving us something to chat about on boards.ie :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Report him and his uncle to the Gardai. His uncle is as guilty as he is as I'm sure he knows he's disqualified. You cannot buy your way out of a disqualification, that is just a lie to cover for his offending. If he had an accident then the other driver will be left to cover their own costs and damages as that scumbag isn't likely to pay for it. Report him now.

Isambard wrote: »
    there are no discs....
    Thus no insurance. The uncle probably doesn't exist; just something to fob people off.

Report him, and be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

the_syco wrote: »
    Thus no insurance. The uncle probably doesn't exist; just something to fob people off.

Report him, and be done.
    This. He knows damn well that, "I'm driving with no insurance" is a scumbag thing to do, so he won't admit it. He'll just give some vague, "my uncle's company policy" answer that actually makes no sense when you think about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,072 ✭✭✭✭Esel
    Not Your Ornery Onager

sjb25 wrote: »
    He has lost his liecence to have insurance you must have a liecence therefore he is not insured no matter what B.S he wants to spin report him let him have an extra ban for driving while disqualified

Liecence - very apt here! :)

Not your ornery onager

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

He might have appealed that decision and is waiting for the appeal hearing to come up. If he lodged his appeal in time that would put a stay on the order. Just putting this out there as a bit of info.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,536 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

He might have appealed that decision and is waiting for the appeal hearing to come up. If he lodged his appeal in time that would put a stay on the order. Just putting this out there as a bit of info.

Report to gardai anyway, if there's no problem then nothing to worry about. If there is an issue it's better for everyone that the gardai get the scumbag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭cocoman

This guy is currently on a 5 year ban for driving without a license or insurance. Obviously the message isn't getting through his thick skull. I see he also has convictions for dangerous driving.

If and when this guy is involved in an accident it is the rest of us that will be paying the price through our massive insurance premiums.

Report him. He'll probably do time when he's caught again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,267 ✭✭✭mikeecho

cocoman wrote: »
    This guy is currently on a 5 year ban for driving without a license or insurance. Obviously the message isn't getting through his thick skull. I see he also has convictions for dangerous driving.

If and when this guy is involved in an accident it is the rest of us that will be paying the price through our massive insurance premiums.

Report him. He'll probably do time when he's caught again.

Time.. doubtful

A fine and a longer ban.. now that sounds more realistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,537 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

Interestingly you can drive in NZ while disqualified. You need a declaration from your company that you're required to drive for your livelihood and get an exemption for work related driving only or similar
    http://www.nzta.govt.nz/driver-licences/driving-offences-and-penalties/driving-offences/limited-licence/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭dev100

Lads this is Ireland anything is possible . Big difference between law and justice !!! Nothing surprises me anymore.

Unless he has appealed the ban and gotten his license back early and has paid a big fine in court for that privilege but It's like everything else he probably is disqualified and is telling himself with a technicality of an open policy that he is insured and therefore has started to believe it ....

Keep telling yourself something and you start to believe your own ****e....

He doesn't have discs on the window for insurance, tax, and NCT, so I doubt it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

Probably ok if he is from a good family and is a promising footballer. :rolleyes:
    Seriously, report him and get him off the road. He is a weapon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

So OP,
    What did the guards say when you reported him?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,112 ✭✭✭PMBC

So OP,
    What did the guards say when you reported him?

You are posting about a fellow who's behaviour is very poor, to say the least. Be careful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,756 ✭✭✭demanufactured

PMBC wrote: »
    You are posting about a fellow who's behaviour is very poor, to say the least. Be careful

Huh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,557 ✭✭✭✭lawred2

leheaven wrote: »
    So I know a guy who was banned from driving less than 6 months ago for 5 years. He had previous convictions for dangerous driving offences and was caught driving with no licence, insurance etc so got a suspended sentence and a 5 year ban.

Thing is he is still driving, he has bought a van, there are no tax or nct discs on it or anything since buying it a month ago. He has said he bought his way out of it ( the banned driving), I don't believe you can buy your way out of it immediately...then has said he's covered to drive under an uncles trade insurance. He also drives his girlfriends car daily.
    ( I know you can get a licence back earlier if your half way through a ban but never heard of buying your way out of it straight away)

I thought a ban from driving means you cannot drive at all under any circumstances but he's saying he can. He's after saying so many different things, it's confusing but I think he is just spinning lies.

Did you really need to ask the question here?

You know well he's lying. I'm impressed that he's so brazen about it.

You need to go to the guards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,620 ✭✭✭✭coylemj

Interestingly you can drive in NZ while disqualified. You need a declaration from your company.....

There are categories of people who could legally drive here while disqualified though in practice they do not.

The disqualification handed down by the courts is not against driving, it's against 'holding a driving licence' so if you are in an exempt category such as the Gardai or Army, you could legally drive an official vehicle while on duty even though you've been disqualified though the authorities in both of those organisations have a policy of grounding people who get disqualified in the courts.

And the offence commonly referred to as 'driving while disqualified' doesn't actually exist on the statute books. If you are found guilty of driving without a licence and the Garda informs the judge that you were disqualified at the time, the judge can impose harsher penalties (than if you were not disqualified) but the judge wouldn't get to that stage if the driver was exempt from the requirement to hold a driving licence in the first place.