Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wedding car thoughts

• 05-04-2017 11:07am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3

Hi everyone,
    Weighing up getting a wedding car at the moment.. what are people's experience with having/getting one - a yay or nay?
    We will be able to get a relative with a nice car to drive us so it is not an essential. Ceremony and venue are about 30 mins apart

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,767 ✭✭✭GingerLily

For a friend's wedding we got a wedding bus for the bridal party and it was great fun, all the cars on the way were beeping at us :) go for it if you want it, but it's definitely not a necessary expense!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,165 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

The only reason I had a car was because it was included in our hotel package. My husband drove himself and the lads and my dad drove the bridesmaids in my car

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,512 ✭✭✭baby and crumble

We're getting married all in one venue, in Dublin city centre, but I think even if that wasn't the case, I wouldn't be hiring a car, especially if you have someone with a nice/ fancy car to drive you. It's such a waste of money, in my opinion, unless one or both of you have a passion for a certain vehicle. If we were going to get a car I'd probably get a VW bus or something, because herself is mad about them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,644 ✭✭✭✭lazygal

Waste of money, unless you're really into cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 kittykat9

Thanks for the advice everyone!

We had originally decided against getting one for all the above reasons. But I let other people's opinions creep in and started second guessing our decision :P

kittykat9 wrote: »
    But I let other people's opinions creep in and started second guessing our decision :P

Rule #1 of wedding planning- don't let this happen!

We're paying for our wedding ourselves, and so if any of the family or anything says there's something we "have" to do, I tell them if they're that bothered we have it, they can pay for it for us.

Surprisingly, not many take up the offer. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Citygirl1

Was at a cousin's wedding a few years ago. The weather was awful that day.

Obviously we arrived before the bride. On leaving the church I recall getting a brief glance of a really impressive vintage wedding car. Would have loved to take a good look at it, but as it was tipping rain we simply raced to our own car. The venue was over an hour from the church, and the wedding party got there before us. So, we missed the car at that end also.

Moral of the story: Due to weather, the car was a complete waste in terms of photo opportunities, and impressing anyone. Hope the bride and groom enjoyed travelling in it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

We're getting married all in one venue, in Dublin city centre, but I think even if that wasn't the case, I wouldn't be hiring a car, especially if you have someone with a nice/ fancy car to drive you. It's such a waste of money, in my opinion, unless one or both of you have a passion for a certain vehicle. If we were going to get a car I'd probably get a VW bus or something, because herself is mad about them.

Pretty much everything to do with a wedding is a waste of money, depending on your viewpoint.

As mentioned above, it can work both ways.

OP
    If you want to hire cars and spend some money on them, fire away. If you don't, that's okay too. It's your call and sometimes listening to the opinions of others on calls like this isn't a great idea.

kippy wrote: »
    Pretty much everything to do with a wedding is a waste of money, depending on your viewpoint.

As mentioned above, it can work both ways.

OP
    If you want to hire cars and spend some money on them, fire away. If you don't, that's okay too. It's your call and sometimes listening to the opinions of others on calls like this isn't a great idea.

Definitely. I'm sure loads of folks here would balk at what I'm paying for my suit or our photos & videographer, but those are our priorities. It's all horses for courses. Still, the OP did specifically ask for peoples opinions and reasoning for them re: wedding cars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,988 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Definitely. I'm sure loads of folks here would balk at what I'm paying for my suit or our photos & videographer, but those are our priorities. It's all horses for courses. Still, the OP did specifically ask for peoples opinions and reasoning for them re: wedding cars.
    Ah yeah, understood - just trying to put things in context.