Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Letting out cattle

• 02-04-2017 9:39pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭

just wondering what people are giving to weanlings/stores cattle before letting them out, injections drench's etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

We never give anything on turnout.
    Will have them back in on 6-7 weeks for worm drench and tail trimming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

not even black leg vac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,753 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

gerryirl wrote: »
    just wondering what people are giving to weanlings/stores cattle before letting them out, injections drench's etc

Copper injection to all and blackleg vaccine to younger stock (under 2 years).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Youngs pouron

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

_Brian wrote: »
    We never give anything on turnout.
    Will have them back in on 6-7 weeks for worm drench and tail trimming.

What's the story with the tail trimming?

not even black leg vac

Oh God yes if you are in ablackleg spot. But never had it here so no need if therr isn't a history of it.

Muckit wrote: »
    What's the story with the tail trimming?

Pet hate to see stock with big long dirty tails, picked it up from the father.

not even black leg vac

Nope, nothing at all.

So the switch? I suppose it grows back fairly fast but l find cattle clean up themselves once they go to grass.

Since I was a nipper I'm used to tail trimming every time stock are in the crush, you get used to the look on them and even detest to see stock with long untidy tails.
    A form of OCD I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 506 ✭✭✭dryan

+1 on the tail trimming. Again, its a habit handed down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 426 ✭✭rushvalley

Since I was a nipper I'm used to tail trimming every time stock are in the crush, you get used to the look on them and even detest to see stock with long untidy tails.
    A form of OCD I suppose.

+1 I'd even pull the lumps of muck off them if they're quiet enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,978 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Trim them at housing as it reduces the risk of a broken tail. This happens when dung hangs off back of tal build up into a clump. It can then goes down between the slats and when the animal get up they break there tail. Real issue with finishing cattle

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

Trimmed two cows this morning. The father used to do it every few months a good sharp knife and cut away. Level with the hock gives them enough to swat away flies in summer months

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,500 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Use a good pair of aldi scissors here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,586 ✭✭✭Robson99

dryan wrote: »

Same as. When ID have them in the crush dosing the Auld lad would have a shears at their tail. Hate to see long tails

• Closed Accounts Posts: 495 ✭✭Attie

Robson99 wrote: »
    dryan wrote: »

Same as. When ID have them in the crush dosing the Auld lad would have a shears at their tail. Hate to see long tails

I use sheep Spears leftover from the day's I kept sheep, when sharp great job .

This has started to turn into a cattle tail clipping thread :P

No the creating work for yourself thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,055 ✭✭✭Dickie10

i didnt fluke dose heifers that are 24 months no during the winter should i give them a dose now going out? also will i give them a copper bullet or two?

I wouldn't do either. But that's just me.

All cattle let off here this evening.

Dickie10 wrote: »
    i didnt fluke dose heifers that are 24 months no during the winter should i give them a dose now going out? also will i give them a copper bullet or two?

We do everything for fluke in January. I would do them if I were you, should only cost €3-4 a piece with trodax. As for copper it depends on Your land if they need it or not.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    We do everything for fluke in January. I would do them if I were you, should only cost €3-4 a piece with trodax. As for copper it depends on Your land if they need it or not.

If they were done for fluke at housing where would they have gotten it since ?

If they were done at housing for fluke (depending on the product used) the immature fluke may not have been killed. It is usually advised to house stock for a few weeks before treating for fluke for this reason.

Cavanjack wrote: »
    If they were done at housing for fluke (depending on the product used) the immature fluke may not have been killed. It is usually advised to house stock for a few weeks before treating for fluke for this reason.

Yea we wait for 4 weeks after housing and then dose.
    I just don't see how stock should need any dosing going out to grass.

Yea we wait for 4 weeks after housing and then dose.
    I just don't see how stock should need any dosing going out to grass.

I asked my vet at herd test about dosing before letting out.I had dosed with pouron(wormer)and white drench for fluke he said no other treatment required for turnout.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Always use Bayticol for redwater.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 879 ✭✭✭Parishlad

restive wrote: »
    Always use Bayticol for redwater.

Would you apply Bayticol this early in the year...i.e. at turnout?

I have bought in a few heifers and want to do them. I have never done my own cows, calves etc and have not had a problem but with the newbies I am not taking a chance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 577 ✭✭✭gerryirl

when do ye do for black leg so

I'm not a vet but I'd do them now and then again in 4/6 weeks again to let the immunity built up for whatever needed.

Never 😱

Attie wrote: »
    I'm not a vet but I'd do them now and then again in 4/6 weeks again to let the immunity built up for whatever needed.

Exactly the same here. Do them before they go out and again in 6 weeks.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,066 ✭✭✭restive

Parishlad wrote:
    Would you apply Bayticol this early in the year...i.e. at turnout?

Parishlad wrote:
    I have bought in a few heifers and want to do them. I have never done my own cows, calves etc and have not had a problem but with the newbies I am not taking a chance.

Yes, I have never had a problem with red water once I apply it when letting them out. I have heard it said cattle are prone red water three weeks after going into a new field. I do not know if that is an old wife's tale or not.

i never had blackleg or redwater how would i know i have it? where is it common in the country?

You'd know fairly quickly..

wernt done for fluke at all, weanlings were done in january , 2 year old heifers were not done for fluke or worms

Did the calves for blackleg last night. Was some craic trying to catch them in the pen. They are lively feckers when they are a month or two old!! :D

Dickie black leg they go black ish between back legs on the belly, when found it's all over.
    Redwater they piss all the blood out if found soon after they take it this can be treated by vet.
    When looking stock always try to see them after they have been lying a while that way they will get up and stretch and pee if pee red time for vet.
    Attie

thanks never heard of either round here im in south meath?