Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Old RTE programming that was bad...

• 02-04-2017 12:29pm

...any efforts by RTE that were memorably bad. Or maybe, of all the bad efforts by RTE, which were the worst?

From the 80s, Leave It To Mrs O'Brien. A comedy that was so bad that I avoided Fr. Ted for a year or 2 when it came out on the basis that the whole Irish priest thing could not possibly be a source of humour. Got that wrong.

From the 90s, Upwardly Mobile. Just dirge. Awful story, awful acting, awful jokes.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,868 ✭✭✭gifted

Fair city...just brutal...from the acting to the shadows on the walls from the camera lights...i leave the room if herself wants to look at it.

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,099 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Glenroe

Not only was the show absolute dirge, it was also a sobering reminder that it was back to school in the morning!

gifted wrote: »
    Fair city...just brutal...from the acting to the shadows on the walls from the camera lights...i leave the room if herself wants to look at it.

Does it still have the Bistro? The Bistro was a restaurant that catered for someone looking for a sandwich on the way home from a few early jars, right up to someone looking for Michelin starred food for a special occasion. Still a step up from Hughie in Pizza Action though...

byte wrote: »
    Glenroe

Not only was the show absolute dirge, it was also a sobering reminder that it was back to school in the morning!

I liked the local stripper, at least that's what I presumed any woman called Teasey did for a living...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Fair City. Should be used as punishment for young offenders, stuck in a room with it on a loop.

• Registered Users, Subscribers Posts: 47,282 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Wanderly Wagon. How they thought they could insult kids' intelligence with that drivel for so long is beyond me. But thankfully I was too old to be around for Bosco. What little clips I've seen of that would have had me putting my foot through the TV screen, even as a kid.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,571 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Just googled Upwardly Mobile and the Wikipedia page has two references. The first is an article in the Indo about the top 10 worst Irish TV shows ever.

It's pretty funny and while Upwardly Mobile is mentioned, this is the best one:
    Play The Game
    In any other country, Play The Game would have been scheduled in mid-morning to find its target audience of students, alcoholics and nursing home inmates. In Ireland, this charades-based charade ran as prime-time entertainment several times weekly for 10 years. The format involved Derek Davis, Ronan Collins, Twink, two sofas and a procession of 'special guests' who were so low-profile that carpet burns were an occupational hazard.

Play the Game had one hilarious factor, which was Twink getting visibly annoyed with her teammates. That woman was ruthless about her charades.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,692 ✭✭✭✭blueser

I thought Derek Davis and Ronan Collins WERE the two sofas?

• Registered Users Posts: 16,571 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

My own entry would be O'Gorman's People.

Didn't watch much of it, but whenever I saw it, it was just some unfortunates being patronised and condescended to by the great man himself, under the thinnest veneer of concern or interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,438 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

Play the Game was utter bottom of the barrel TV. I remember watching Upwardly Mobile during my college days, I would love to watch a few old episodes again just for nostalgia's sake although I wouldn't be surprised if RTE recorded over the entire series. I believe one of the actors died of of an asthma related heart attack while on the way to beat someone up with a baseball bat.

Another show was The Cassidy's. I never watched an episode myself but I heard it was utterly horrendous.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,815 ✭✭✭stimpson

Another show was The Cassidy's. I never watched an episode myself but I heard it was utterly horrendous.

My claim to fame is that I was an extra on that. I met Ed Byrnes ma in the "Green Room" (a table in the corridor with warm cans of Heineken) and you could tell she was ashamed for what her offspring had become.

Celebrity Farm!! Anyone here remember this one? It was a reality show where z list celebrities such as Mondo from Fair City and Kevin Sharkey would perform tasks on a farm for a number of weeks to nobody's amusement.

Ryantown - Never watched this myself but I heard it was so bad that even Gerry Ryan disowned it.

Live at 3 - A dykewater dull afternoon show hosted by Derek Davis to cater for nursing home residents and the unemployable.

Mattie - Dreadful Pat Shortt sitcom about s rural Gard who moves to the city. The city is Limerick but this is never mentioned in the show, and the camera shots are taken in such a way that most of the background is out of view so you can't really tell that it's Limerick.

Val Falvey TD - Boring Ardal O'Hanlon sitcom about a caravan dwelling TD.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

The "Anything Goes" programme where the female presenter showed how to make your own wanderly wagon out of a cereal box and 2 coffee jars ( in the twilight years of that other kids programme) It was clear that she was'nt at all enthusiastic about the project and that there was no other topic available for the programme to choose.

early 80's a series on Sunday nights set in an Irish Prison. Show prisoners puking into plastic bowls. Showing Morison management. Forget the name. On RTE 1.

utter Misery Porn.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

As mentioned already Mattie and Val Falvey TD were both dreadful.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,653 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Does anyone here remember Finbars Class?!

It had a good few Fair City heads in it.

Today Tonight

Naval gazing at the then ongoing Troubles in Norn iron from the point of republic of Ireland and hand wringing at contemporary industrial unrest at that time.

Does anyone here remember Finbars Class?!

It had a good few Fair City heads in it.

Jesus I had scrubbed that from my memory until you said it. I'd give that the award for worst RTE program.

Karl Spain wants to Rock - I don't care!!
    Making Jake - I like PJ Gallagher but I could never "get" the Jake Stevens character

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Bosco.

"Knock Knock open wide
    See whats on the other side
    Knock knock any more
    Come with me thru the magic door".

The fckin zoo again. Always the fckin zoo.

Trom agus Eadrom.

In case school didn't make you hate the Irish language enough.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,350 ✭✭✭Cortina_MK_IV

Quicksilver. - "Will you play for 5 pence?"

Youngline

• Registered Users Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

Trom agus Eadrom.

In case school didn't make you hate the Irish language enough.

Liam o Murichu. My father hated him. He used to do an up for the match type programme before the all ireland finals. One night he was interviewing guests about their time playing hurling. Anyway was quizzing some fella about his hurling career. Won a few all Ireland medals.
    "Were they for hurling or football?" Murichu enquires.
    Well my fathers reaction was priceless. Lost his sh1t. Football football? The man was a renowned hurler with a strong hurling county being interviewed the night before a hurling final and yer man starts enquiring about football. Telly nearly went out the window that night.

Liam o Murichu. My father hated him. He used to do an up for the match type programme before the all ireland finals. One night he was interviewing guests about their time playing hurling. Anyway was quizzing some fella about his hurling career. Won a few all Ireland medals.
    "Were they for hurling or football?" Murichu enquires.
    Well my fathers reaction was priceless. Lost his sh1t. Football football? The man was a renowned hurler with a strong hurling county being interviewed the night before a hurling final and yer man starts enquiring about football. Telly nearly went out the window that night.

It was crushingly twee. Friend of mine used to do a great Liam O'Murchu impression.

Go halainn ar FAD. Agus...I believe you sang in Covent Garden...agus...what sort of place was that now, tell us all.

Well Liam, it's bigger than Duhallow Parish Hall, you cultural ignoramus...

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,620 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Mailbag - aul wans moaning at how a chaste kiss on a RTÉ drama meant the country was going to hell in a hand basket.:rolleyes:

Dillin O Dheas - rubbish

The weather forecast - up until the late 80s, featured an unseen Met Eireann dry sh*te with a stick pointed at a grainy B&W satellite photo

JoMaxi - drivel

Murphy' Micro QuizM - whoever thought a game show featuring the feeble ability of a BBC microcomputer was cool needs to be shot a dawn. Prizes were a joke.

And quite a few more...

• Registered Users Posts: 12,423 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I have to say Killinaskully got tired very quickly in its lifetime.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Yourself isit

THis thread is bringing back bad memories.

I don't think glenroe deserves to be in it though as it was pretty solid in terms of acting. Also unlike other drama soaps it wasnt all misery. It was leavened with some humour. More corrie than eastenders

I have to say Killinaskully got tired very quickly in its lifetime.

That was during the opening credits on the very first programme...because once one or two lines of script were aired, it became clear that is was painfully unfunny.

I was told there was an episode where the joke was the resemblance between the name "Philip Eno" and the nationality Filipino, so the village was horrified at the thought of getting an Asian priest. I watched it to see what I could endure...I've seen Scór plays with better plot lines and gags.