Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Poor Journalism

• 30-03-2017 1:52pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,937 ✭✭✭✭

In beef trends in the Journal Darren Carty makes a comment og factory agents paying well for out of spec in the mart. He then points out to Camera at the Mart . There are four pictures of what are factory fit cattle.

In Loughrea
    2 Fresians 898kgs made 1530 euro assuming 50% killout they made 3.4/kg DW
    Black HEX 975kgs made 1860 euro assuming 52% K/O he made 3.66/kg DW
    Red HEx 925 made 1800 assuming 53% K/O( very heavy with flesh he made 3.67/kg

Looking at these three lots I expect the Fresians to make more in the factory and the HE as much biggest catch would be the fat score on the red HEX. Generall with the last 18 months factory's are knocking 20c/kg off the base of over 36 month cattle. The Red HEx should have been moved before is third birthday maybe he was he was a March '14 bullock

At ballymote a White Charolais bullock 735kgs made 1540 I imagine he inspec if he killed 53% he have made 3.94/kg. At a base of 3.9 you expect him to make QA and be an R+ which would mean he make a price of 4.08/kg.

In general mart fees are higher than slaughter fees the only way these cattle would have made substiancially less is if owner was not QA. In generall this means that either these cattle made less than factory price or if owners were not QA then why should the rest of us be

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

I find it hard sometimes to decipher your posts Bass and haven't even gone through your figures. I presume what you are saying is that people would be fools to sell factory cattle in the marts?

Out of spec cattle are exactly that and any lad that books one or two animals over 30mth old cattle directly into factory will get fleeced. At least in the mart you know what you are getting and have a choice upfront.

Marts around here have always been good places to sell good factory cattle. Brexit has fecked that one up now to a certain extent. I haven't seen the journal yet today but they sound like what my father would have termed 'rough' cattle. They come out of the woodwork when cattle get scarce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,576 ✭✭✭Robson99

Have always found that I work out better in the factory than I would in the marts.
    But you should chose a factory to suit your cattle. Most of the time out of spec cattle are better off on a flat rate in some of the smaller abitors /independent processors

Too much messing in the marts around here with lads claiming cattle and you have this one and I will have the next. And our local Muckit is one of the worst for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Robson99 wrote: »
    Have always found that I work out better in the factory than I would in the marts.
    But you should chose a factory to suit your cattle. Most of the time out of spec cattle are better off on a flat rate in some of the smaller abitors /independent processors

Too much messing in the marts around here with lads claiming cattle and you have this one and I will have the next. And our local Muckit is one of the worst for it.

I don't know why people put up with other fellas claiming cattle. If I like the animal I'll bid on it and I stick to a price I have in my head. This thing of leaving him off drives me insane.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    I don't know why people put up with other fellas claiming cattle. If I like the animal I'll bid on it and I stick to a price I have in my head. This thing of leaving him off drives me insane.

Same as. But if the auctioneer puts a stop to it for a week or two they would soon cop on. See other marts where the auctioneer will stop and **** them out of and that stops it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,424 ✭✭✭Grueller

In fairness to David Quinn in Carnew I have heard him telling lads to bid up if you want them. Also have seen him throw a sweet to a fella from the auctioneers box when he got sour and told him that might sweeten you up. No bollixing taken from dealers in fairness there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭croot

Robson99 wrote: »
    Same as. But if the auctioneer puts a stop to it for a week or two they would soon cop on. See other marts where the auctioneer will stop and **** them out of and that stops it
    Saw a sign in my local mart the other day. It's says "Hands in the ring it will be taken as a bid"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,265 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Our local mart is taken over by dealers. Bought a calf that a dealer wanted, dealer came over and said "this is my mart boy and don't think you can start buying whatever you want" I politely smiled and replied " I guess you better get used to not having your own way anymore"

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Our local mart is taken over by dealers. Bought a calf that a dealer wanted, dealer came over and said "this is my mart boy and don't think you can start buying whatever you want" I politely smiled and replied " I guess you better get used to not having your own way anymore"

Fair ****s to you. I love pissing them off. Even if its only to open a beast up 50 Euro more than they were trying to and them smile back at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,937 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Muckit I was just pointing out that while the prices seem quite high the cattle were heavy cattle. None made any more than they make in a factory unless they were way over fat. I calculated the K/O off mart weights which is after cattle have travelled a distance.so they may KO at higher percentages. IMO Darren did not do the sums. All the cattle had good weight so should grade a notch above cattle in the 6-700kg bracket. I suspect the red Hex was an R Grade animal. Even allowing for being docked 20c/ kg the HE would make as much and the Fresians a tad more while the underage Charolais would make nearly 60 more in the factory.

Ya I see the hands in the ring sign as well however I never seen it e forced. The thing about selling finished cattle in a mart is usually there is only 1-2 factory agents there and a lot of the bidding is only to get the animal put on the market. He usually sell at that price.or a bid above it.

@k up the signals

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Grueller wrote: »
    In fairness to David Quinn in Carnew I have heard him telling lads to bid up if you want them. Also have seen him throw a sweet to a fella from the auctioneers box when he got sour and told him that might sweeten you up. No bollixing taken from dealers in fairness there.

Have been to this mart to buy cattle and only one boss around the ring and that is David Quinn and he runs the show, the only thing you here out of David is keep them coming in and move on lads and go down the road to Enniscorthy and see the messing there where one auctioneer only takes bids from his buddies between coughing up a lung or lighting up a fag.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,234 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

In beef trends in the Journal Darren Carty makes a comment og factory agents paying well for out of spec in the mart. He then points out to Camera at the Mart . There are four pictures of what are factory fit cattle.

In Loughrea
    2 Fresians 898kgs made 1530 euro assuming 50% killout they made 3.4/kg DW
    Black HEX 975kgs made 1860 euro assuming 52% K/O he made 3.66/kg DW
    Red HEx 925 made 1800 assuming 53% K/O( very heavy with flesh he made 3.67/kg

Looking at these three lots I expect the Fresians to make more in the factory and the HE as much biggest catch would be the fat score on the red HEX. Generall with the last 18 months factory's are knocking 20c/kg off the base of over 36 month cattle. The Red HEx should have been moved before is third birthday maybe he was he was a March '14 bullock

At ballymote a White Charolais bullock 735kgs made 1540 I imagine he inspec if he killed 53% he have made 3.94/kg. At a base of 3.9 you expect him to make QA and be an R+ which would mean he make a price of 4.08/kg.

In general mart fees are higher than slaughter fees the only way these cattle would have made substiancially less is if owner was not QA. In generall this means that either these cattle made less than factory price or if owners were not QA then why should the rest of us be

Have not any fat cattle dealer go bust, they all leave a nice margin in a mart animal to cover commissions, transport,factory fee, and a margin.
    Best is to kill fat in the factory and cut out the middle man and do your own dealing with the factory and shop around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Have not any fat cattle dealer go bust, they all leave a nice margin in a mart animal to cover commissions, transport,factory fee, and a margin....
    I've known them to go bust. Simply paying too much for cattle in the marts. Going back a few years now though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,045 ✭✭✭einn32

The marts clamped down on dealers the last few years I think. They were ruling the roost.

I always thought you would send a factory fit animal to the factory.

There are so many variables. It all depends on where you are situated in the country and the type and number of stock you are producing. What will suit one farmer won't suit another.

But the option to sell live through the mart is there and always has been.

Selling to a local butcher is another option that I've explored for certain type heifers. Only way to sell this way is live.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

With respect if you ring a factory for a price on one or two beasts they willonly insult you at least in the mart at the fall of the hammer the choice to sell or not is yours.
    In regard to selling cattle
    1.Know what you have.
    2.Know their weight
    3.Know what its worth.
    4.Do the math and make your choice

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

I noted a spiel in the early pages by Justin recommending reseeding and then increasing stocking rates to pay for it within two years... Work harder, produce more.. The goodmans are depending on us to keep the beef and lamb coming hard and cheap in large volume bless their little cockle hearts!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Front page this week is like ground hog day.. Chinese market for beef just around the corner. Just another hurdle..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,937 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Willfarman wrote: »
    Front page this week is like ground hog day.. Chinese market for beef just around the corner. Just another hurdle..

TBF I think they mentioned Easter but I am afraid they forgot to mention which easter

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,235 ✭✭✭alps

TBF I think they mentioned Easter but I am afraid they forgot to mention which easter
    Do the Chinese do Easter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,528 ✭✭✭50HX

aha ....and what will be the price jump on the back of the last hurdle been jumped.......the same as it was for the US last year for the high end cuts...diddley squat

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

alps wrote: »
    Do the Chinese do Easter?

Well they Easter bunnies over there in a red wine sauce.

(Grabs coat).