Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

What's the unluckiest you've ever been?

• 20-03-2017 11:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭

Backed this fecker earlier today....:(

https://twitter.com/AtTheRaces/status/843861902019108864

If that wasn't bad enough luck... Paddy Power are paying out on him as a winner.... but I backed it in Boyles :mad:

"When it comes to luck, you make your own" is one of my favourite lines from a Springsteen song but I'm not in the mood for being philosophical or rational right now. I'm angry and drink's been taken.

So appease me with your tales of unluckiness if you wouldn't mind, good folk of After Hours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Opening this thread.

Ah no, you're great.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 479 ✭✭mikeoneilly

Nothing I'm poxed with good luck

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Being born.

If it was raining soup I'd only have a fork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,292 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

First day ever going to work. Train cancelled, missed the bus, coolant leaking out of the car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 732 ✭✭✭DontThankMe

I was unlucky enough to read this thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭eamonnq

Sure weren't you lucky enough to have a few bob to put on a horse!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

First day ever going to work. Train cancelled, missed the bus, coolant leaking out of the car

Fawlty_6fa71f_585228.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,510 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

You'll struggle to find anyone unluckier than you OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭Dwarf.Shortage

Backed this fecker earlier today....:(

https://twitter.com/AtTheRaces/status/843861902019108864

If that wasn't bad enough luck... Paddy Power are paying out on him as a winner.... but I backed it in Boyles :mad:

"When it comes to luck, you make your own" is one of my favourite lines from a Springsteen song but I'm not in the mood for being philosophical or rational right now. I'm angry and drink's been taken.

So appease me with your tales of unluckiness if you wouldn't mind, good folk of After Hours.

"Aftertiming filth"

- Gamebred

That's what Nostradamus used to call people too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

Went to the toilet earlier only to discover, after sitting there for 10-15 minutes, that there was no jacks roll.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Went to the toilet earlier only to discover, after sitting there for 10-15 minutes, that there was no jacks roll.

That is an awful long time to be taking. Are you semi constipated?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 315 ✭✭Teddington Cuddlesworth

That is an awful long time to be taking. Are you semi constipated?

No, it's me time.
    If people know I'm in there they leave me alone while I'm in there, and I announce it to everyone when I'm going in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,017 ✭✭✭Four Phucs Ache

Not me but around 2005 I was waiting at the bus stop outside college green along with 20 or so others.

Bus pulls up but not mine.A few get on and get off.
    Just as the doors are closing a fella runs up behind the bus trying to catch it before it pulls away.Somehow he slips and falls and headbutts the back if it.
    As about 15 of us are standing watching what just happened and help him, he gets up and dusts himself off and goes mental because he smashed his phone which he had been holding.We ask is he ok. He doesn't answer.

The bus starts to pull away.
    He starts to scream and curse and starts running after the bus screaming "my wallet"

Somehow his fookin wallet got jammed between the light fitting and the bumper when he fell which was also in his hand.

The bus is halfway up Dame St and he walks back and asks can he use somebody's phone to ring the bus depot urgently.

He had just picked up boarding tickets from budget travel for his wife's sisters hen party to London flying the next day.Poor chap was crying.

If this was you I was the lad that helped you up!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,048 ✭✭✭Rumpy Pumpy

That was a suspiciously poor ride by the jockey.

Speaking of which; Ruby Walsh on Annie Power in the Mare's Hurdle in 2015. The bookies were standing to lose tens of millions on the Willie Mullins four timer coming in. They'd already taken a terrible beating on the earlier singles, doubles and trebles.

Then the shortest price starter ever does this:

https://youtu.be/UQJ_GGxGVVw

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

About 5 years ago I was on the train from Limerick to Dublin and needed to take a slash. Headed for the jacks and locked the door behind me. I lifted the lid to see someone had blocked it and the bowl was full to within two inches of the rim with the durtiest concoction of assorted shíte I'd ever seen. I was bursting so I thought there's surely enough room in there for my contribution... Thankfully there was and I pulled up me zipper and dropped the lid again, happy days.

Opened the door to see a fairly decent looking gal queuing up for the jacks herself. I didn't hang around long enough to see her reaction :p

That was a suspiciously poor ride by the jockey.

Ah I don't think there was anything nefarious there.

If you watch it again you'll see that there is a bit of a gravel path running across the track and I think the horse seen it, thought about the last stone he had in his shoe and though 'fcuk that' and jinked.
    Speaking of which; Ruby Walsh on Annie Power in the Mare's Hurdle in 2015. The bookies were standing to lose tens of millions on the Willie Mullins four timer coming in. They'd already taken a terrible beating on the earlier singles, doubles and trebles.

Was that you Ruby took for a spin recently? :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

It was a 2/1 fav OP...how much did you not win by him keeling over?
    Probably not a whole lot.

If that's the unluckiest you've been then you're doing well.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 227 ✭✭Dubs1990

Flushed an old lady's set of dentures down the sluice in work after she had been sick!

"I love my job"

can't wait to tell the cnm tomorrow!