Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Garda Helicopter d7

• 19-03-2017 10:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭

Garda Helicopter D7/Phoenix Park area. Just after hanging around for half an hour near cumiskeys pub. Wonder what that's all about?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,097 ✭✭✭bilbot79

bilbot79 wrote: »
    Garda Helicopter D7/Phoenix Park area. Just after hanging around for half an hour near cumiskeys pub. Wonder what that's all about?

Bump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,170 ✭✭✭✭ED E

Not sure what answers you expect, not as if we can listen to Tetra to find out who they're looking for.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 636 ✭✭✭roseybear

Heard it too, almost sounded like it had landed somewhere. They're out again, sitting over the m50/finglas the past 20mins

You won't get an answer unless that information has been made public.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 18,115 ✭✭✭✭ShiverinEskimo

Lifts for any number of reasons if called upon. A driver failing to stop, person fleeing on foot, high-profile searches, pre-search reconnaissance, major events, training exercises, cash-in-transit operations, VIP/prisoner escorts etc.

They are on standby 24/7 and lift whenever called upon even for smaller stuff AFAIK.

It was circling around my gaff and I was thinking was there a burglar hiding around the lanes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,118 ✭✭✭afatbollix

Looking for de bad guyz....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,908 ✭✭✭TallGlass

How many aircraft are in the Garda fleet is it just the one heli?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,833 ✭✭✭billie1b

TallGlass wrote: »

Three

They have a fixed wing Defender aircraft and two EC135 choppers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,015 ✭✭✭Pat Dunne

TallGlass wrote: »

The Garda website shows the following http://www.garda.ie/controller.aspx?page=36
    Wikipedia shows the following https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Garda_Air_Support_Unit
    The Air Corps website shows the following http://www.military.ie/air-corps/fleet/
    The Emergency Services website show this as well http://emergency-services.ie/wp-content/uploads/2015/08/Garda-Air-Support-6.pdf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭jimbis

I must live in a really dodgey spot if the Garda helicopter is a novelty to others. The thing is hovering over my area almost daily. :rolleyes:

I'd say just the one in Dublin anyway?

What do you base that on?
    When all their aircraft are based at Casement Aerodrome, West Dubln.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,862 ✭✭✭✭January

jimbis wrote: »
    I must live in a really dodgey spot if the Garda helicopter is a novelty to others. The thing is hovering over my area almost daily. :rolleyes:

Same. You don't even look up anymore if a helicopter flies over its usually the garda chopper

Pat Dunne wrote: »
    What do you base that on?

I no longer do. Another guy that knows said there are two helis.

Hovered over my house so long last night I could smell the fuel off it

I no longer do. Another guy that knows said there are two helis.

Hovered over my house so long last night I could smell the fuel off it

Grand!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,363 ✭✭✭jimbis

You'll find it's 1 on active duty while the other is in maintanence. I 'think' in the past they might've both been active and the same time when certain raids were being done during the Limerick gang fued thing.
    With crew shortages now I'd doubt we'd see both in the air at the same time.
    All guess work by me though.

You'll find it's 1 on active duty while the other is in maintanence. I 'think' in the past they might've both been active and the same time when certain raids were being done during the Limerick gang fued thing.
    With crew shortages now I'd doubt we'd see both in the air at the same time.
    All guess work by me though.

They have had two operational this year, one for training and one operational, but not in the last couple of months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 309 ✭✭Bog Man 1

January wrote: »
    Same. You don't even look up anymore if a helicopter flies over its usually the garda chopper

During the Celtic Tiger it used to be the neighbours . They now keep silage bales on the pad .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

We must be neighbours so :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,581 ✭✭✭Deep Thought

looking for a late Pint ?

The narrower a man’s mind, the broader his statements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,712 ✭✭✭roundymac

We would'nt know what the Garda helicopter looks like down here in Cork, it's been so long we'v forgotten what it looks like.:confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Danbo!

roundymac wrote: »
    We would'nt know what the Garda helicopter looks like down here in Cork, it's been so long we'v forgotten what it looks like.:confused:

It's white and blue with a spinny yoke on top

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 174 ✭✭jeepcj

They have 2 fully operational ec 135's, with 2 full crews for both a/c, they do not have a dedicated training machine, training is done on a as required basis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭Negative_G

They have had two operational this year, one for training and one operational, but not in the last couple of months.

Not sure where you are getting this information from but it is incorrect.

Both aircraft are routinely available and operating unless down for maintenance. There is not, and never has been, a dedicated training GASU aircraft.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 10,052 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

I'll lock this thread as the OP isnt going to get an answer to his/her question other than some more smart alec answers!

Thanks to those to added some actual facts to the discussion.