Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hereford or Angus

• 18-03-2017 10:28pm
    Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Have ran a fr and a hereford bull last few years but with expansion over moving to buying second beef bull and wondering which breed.having a second hereford would mean bigger bunchs together for buyers but i noticed over the years one or the other is in fashion and the calves make more so you would have an each way bet by having an angus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,194 ✭✭✭alps

K.G. wrote: »
    Have ran a fr and a hereford bull last few years but with expansion over moving to buying second beef bull and wondering which breed.having a second hereford would mean bigger bunchs together for buyers but i noticed over the years one or the other is in fashion and the calves make more so you would have an each way bet by having an angus

I reckon if you put an Angus and a Hereford in competition with one another, the black would win it hands down. However, there was a photo on twitter in yhe last few days of a cow that had twins, one an Angus and one a Hereford.

If anyone can remember back to the term "superfecondation".....maybe the gardai idn't just make up the word

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,361 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

alps wrote: »
    I reckon if you put an Angus and a Hereford in competition with one another, the black would win it hands down. However, there was a photo on twitter in yhe last few days of a cow that had twins, one an Angus and one a Hereford.

If anyone can remember back to the term "superfecondation".....maybe the gardai idn't just make up the word
    Wouldnt put two bulls in together as they would each bull every cow whereas the idea is to alternate them to give them a rest at higher cow/ bull ratios

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

I'd go for an Angus of I was you. They seem tobe far more available compared to Whitehead's and these no dehorning which is handy.also,just from reading here ,there seems to be a higher proportion of Whitehead "monsters" than aa. There is damn all between them in prices too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,715 ✭✭✭Bellview

I'm bias so would say angus. ..only advise I would give is one bull by day and one by night..if two bulls in together they might spend too much time fighting and miss what they should be doing.
    If getting an angus for cows stay away from anything with a lot of Scottish breeding as some are as hard as char ie nightingale el paso, bosollow elmark, Dunbar or lot of rawburn bred bulls.
    Enjoy shopping lots of sales over the next month.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭Wildsurfer

How about a Limo or Saler, think outside the box an all that? Angus would be my first choice but way overpriced IMO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,083 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

I would say HE. Some camera with x-bred calves are putting the black ones down as AA. Some buyers are becoming cautious with blacks now. With the white head the buyer knows it's a beef calf.

This is no fault on the Angus as a breed or its breeders. It's just some lads playing silly monkeys ruining it for other people

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,611 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Wildsurfer wrote: »
    How about a Limo or Saler, think outside the box an all that? Angus would be my first choice but way overpriced IMO

Limo gestation is too long don't know about saler?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

Either would be good. I have pedigree Angus but I have a Hereford with commercial cows. I don't even check them at night anymore. Newborn calves are up and sucked waiting to be tagged every morning. Calves are put straight out whatever the weather. Both breeds are as hardy.
    Will have 15month old Angus bulls for sale shortly if you want to pm me
    Stabilisers are also handy and can bring a bit of colour

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,262 ✭✭✭Farrell

Can you source a polled HE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,881 ✭✭✭mf240

If buying a Hereford try get one with a nice sweet head.

Some of them can have a big head which make me the valves hard got out.

You'll always sell whiteheads.

Cattlepen wrote: »
    Either would be good. I have pedigree Angus but I have a Hereford with commercial cows. I don't even check them at night anymore. Newborn calves are up and sucked waiting to be tagged every morning. Calves are put straight out whatever the weather. Both breeds are as hardy.
    Will have 15month old Angus bulls for sale shortly if you want to pm me
    Stabilisers are also handy and can bring a bit of colour

Are stabiliser a crossbreed between the two?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭Tail painter

Hereford averages about 285 days gestation length. Angus is about 282 days. It might not seem to be a lot but it makes a big difference on a late calving cow. Plus 3 days extra milk worth €20+

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,471 ✭✭✭Panch18

For Dairy cows I'd be looking to Angus, especially at the end of the bulling period where they will tighten up your calving rather than letting it drag on, and easy calving

You could run him with the heifers for 6-8 weeks and then having him mopping up for the cows

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,823 ✭✭✭kk.man

A fella was telling aurbac me the other day that aurbac are the new AA now given that the AA does not come into big weight to justify the suckler cows keep. I don't know how true it is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

What about Murray Grey?
    There's a few breeders in Ireland and come a bluey grey out of a Friesian and easily calved.

Talking to a man that deals in bulls today and he was saying you d get a grand lim or sim fir nearly half the price of aa or hd.the only problem i have with aubrac is they are not mart calves unless you are prepared to give them 5 or 6 weeks milk cause fellas are of the colour until you get the flesh up.ideal for home sale as fellas can see your bull but donedeal dosent work for us as people wont travel .the hereford has a great advantage for me as you can move them on very quick

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 786 ✭✭✭Cattlepen

kk.man wrote: »
    A fella was telling aurbac me the other day that aurbac are the new AA now given that the AA does not come into big weight to justify the suckler cows keep. I don't know how true it is.

They are good cattle alrite but I don't think they will take over from Angus. The marketing has been done for the Angus worldwide. Customers know what an Angus burger is but an aubrac burger just doesn't have the same appea
    L

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

How much would a good hereford bull for cows cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,561 ✭✭✭visatorro

whelan2 wrote: »

You've a fair idea what I paid a couple of years ago. Big money doesn't buy success.

whelan2 wrote: »

2k + but depends on quality and age

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

3k plus for very few good bulls in kilkenny last week, going to sale today midlands .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,224 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

leg wax wrote: »
    3k plus for very few good bulls in kilkenny last week, going to sale today midlands .
    What were prices like today?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,597 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Op IMO at present Hereford is the best option. Too many beef farmers becoming disillusioned wit AA with the move to to easy calving bulls which have no growth potential and the problem with Jex calves. The price with these issues are being transfered back down to the AA calf. He calves are still holding there premium above all other calves.

Murray grey's are good cattle and have the advantage of the charley grey colour but may struggle as farmers are more accustomed to looking at breeds on the mart board and are not familar with the breed abbreviations. What most forget that you are getting paid for the Hereford by the premium he makes above AA and LM etc.

While the bulls are expensive they are docile and because of this good longnevity compared to AA bulls which can get quite dangerous at an early age. I have see HE bulls in a herd at 10+ years of age

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

Op IMO at present Hereford is the best option. Too many beef farmers becoming disillusioned wit AA with the move to to easy calving bulls which have no growth potential and the problem with Jex calves. The price with these issues are being transfered back down to the AA calf. He calves are still holding there premium above all other calves.

Murray grey's are good cattle and have the advantage of the charley grey colour but may struggle as farmers are more accustomed to looking at breeds on the mart board and are not familar with the breed abbreviations. What most forget that you are getting paid for the Hereford by the premium he makes above AA and LM etc.

While the bulls are expensive they are docile and because of this good longnevity compared to AA bulls which can get quite dangerous at an early age. I have see HE bulls in a herd at 10+ years of age

We sold a aa bull that was still there ten years later albeit we've sold bulls that only lasted one year too

first time at this sale, a lot better bulls to pick from, only saw 2 bulls selling as i bought lot 4 , at 3700, other bull was sold for 5400,was on the road for home at 2.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,891 ✭✭✭Bullocks

first time at this sale, a lot better bulls to pick from, only saw 2 bulls selling as i bought lot 4 , at 3700, other bull was sold for 5400,was on the road for home at 2.

Do you keep a blue or Part bull at all now?
    Good luck with the Hereford

Have an aa bull here 8 years old. Here 4 seasons now. He can be noisy enough but been OK so far. At least with him being noisy anyone here will take more care around him. Have kept him over winter with fr bulls fine although he didn't get on with one 2.5 year old fr we had one year

Bullocks wrote: »
    Do you keep a blue or Part bull at all now?
    Good luck with the Hereford

still have my part and in talk with a lad for a blue .going just ai on highest ebi fertile cows and bull power for compact calving.

How'd calving go with the part?, you have a rel young herd yes?

Mod Snip .

You may as well say your involved with it.

Mooooo wrote: »
    How'd calving go with the part?, you have a rel young herd yes?

part bull was no bother, carried 287 days on average so happy enough, selling bullocks in 2 weeks time ,just gone 12/13 months ,i would say they are 360 kg.oldest cows on their 3rd calf this year, so production way up.