Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No success with dentist teeth whitening?

• 17-03-2017 3:00pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭

So I went to the dentist to get my teeth whitened. I have got the moulds and the gel etc which I have been
    using over night for the last 3 weeks.No difference.To say I am shocked is an understatement!

The dentist used yotuel.

I have an appointment in 2 weeks to see him and see what he says.

Dentists, and/or people who have got their teeth whitened?
    Does this happen.i.e no result?

Should I be using a different gel?

I think I will have to spend another few hundred getting them lasered now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 536 ✭✭✭Smile111

Anyone at all?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Smile111 wrote: »
    Anyone at all?

I expect most people have hangovers :eek:

I'll let the dentists reply on this one but there could be many reasons why it's not working

I rang a few dentists.They think a lower grade gel might be needed.

I have an apt to see dentist where got it done next week.

I was speaking to the dentist secretary whose husband got it done and she really just said his teeth were white before....
    Not exactly what I wanted to hear.

I am thinking I might buy a different gel from a different dentist if this one can be of no help.

The one I have now is 16%.

At least it's not been a complete waste of money as have moulds.

Fitzgeme or any other dentists here have ye heard of yotuel being used?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,535 ✭✭✭btkm8unsl0w5r4

The concentration of the gels is not the primary issue, the fit of the trays is the most important thing, after that the activity of the gel is important. It left the factory at 16% carbamide but by the time it reaches you its down to 5%. Or the gels have a ton of preservatives in them that push the equlibrium away from the bleaching side and make it hard to get results.

Its also true that the micro-structure of some peoples teeth make it hard for them to bleach. Maybe look into a combination treatment like Enlighten or KoR. These are pricey mind you.

Thanks for getting back to me.
    When you say get a combination treatment of enlighten or kor.What do you mean exactly?

A treatment in the dentist or just buy the gels?

Thanks again :)

Update:

Went to dentist.Waste of time.
    Told me that is the whitest they will go ( they are nowhere near white)
    Then contradicted himself saying if want whiter use more...

Safe to say will not be going back there again.I deliberately did not tell anyone was getting it done and not one person noticed. Says a lot.
    The results I got there are about the same my sis got but she went to a beautician.
    I honestly think that dentist is just getting money off people but at least I got the trays:)
    Now going to research and get them done in-house somewhere else:)

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 21,706 Mod ✭✭✭✭helimachoptor

Smile111 wrote: »
    Update:

Went to dentist.Waste of time.
    Told me that is the whitest they will go ( they are nowhere near white)
    Then contradicted himself saying if want whiter use more...

Safe to say will not be going back there again.I deliberately did not tell anyone was getting it done and not one person noticed. Says a lot.
    The results I got there are about the same my sis got but she went to a beautician.
    I honestly think that dentist is just getting money off people but at least I got the trays:)
    Now going to research and get them done in-house somewhere else:)

Where are you based?

South East but no problem to travel for quality work.

I had forgotten had actually told sis was getting them done.
    So she was down today and said I thought you were getting your teeth whitened?
    She had not seen me in a month...

Told her I had but obviously correct that no difference made.

I gonna call in again to the dentist on Monday and explain again no difference .

Any advice what to say bearing in mind he told me last time that's whitest will go when nowhere near white!
    This will be second time in about it.

** Would love to hear dentists advice.**

Thanks.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Dianthus

OP can you post any before& after pictures of your teeth?

Thank you for your response.

Unfortunately did not take any before pics as really thought be no need.

Here are they now with camera phone.

They are more yellow in real life.

Really appreciate and grateful to anyone who takes time to reply:)

Any advice lads from over a 1000 views?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 933 ✭✭✭Dianthus

Unfortunately the photo is too dark to tell the proper shade of your teeth (no amount of whitening can make teeth glow in the dark!)
    Can you take a photo of them in natural daylight?
    Seek a 2nd opinion from another dentist if your original one feels they cannot go any whiter.

Here you go

Dianthus wrote: »
    Unfortunately the photo is too dark to tell the proper shade of your teeth (no amount of whitening can make teeth glow in the dark!)
    Can you take a photo of them in natural daylight?
    Seek a 2nd opinion from another dentist if your original one feels they cannot go any whiter.

You've clearly never seen that episode of friends!

Thought D would have guessed that was the look I was going for 😂😂

Think I'll go with your recommendation Helim maybe next year.
    Thanks a mil for your help.

Went down to dentist but he wasn't free but to be honest I don't think there is much point going to him again.

If I use it for months continuously I might see some sort of a change:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,641 ✭✭✭Teyla Emmagan

I think they're already really white. You don't want to be one of those people going around with a glow in the dark mouth.

Thanks.
    No, I definitely do not want glow in dark but when ppl say I thought you were getting your teeth whitened when I already have, it's a bit of kick in the teeth.No pun intended!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 78 ✭✭Books4you

I have just finished nearly 4 weeks of teeth whitening myself and i can really see the difference. The brand my dentist gave me was Philips Zoom and i had to use it every night for 18 days but i ended up doing it longer (was getting other work done so was told to skip bottom teeth and concentrate on the top after 16 nights to get more out of it). A few knew i was getting it done and could really see the difference.

A few didn't know and have commented saying did i whiten them. I don't know if you said how much yours cost but i paid €220 for the trays and gel and honestly it was well worth it. I think it said 16% on the box and like you i wore them every night. I hope you find a dentist that can sort you out.