Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

VW Golf...To sell/to fix...Need advice

• 14-03-2017 6:14pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭

Woke up yesterday morning to see my 2012 golf edition r had its side skirt on the passenger side stolen along with the r line badges, think they tried to remove the drivers side but must have got spooked.

Now for the usual bull****! Cameras in my apartment block don't work, Gardai called and checked for prints but they were wearing gloves. So realistically i can't park my car in my block anymore as the second side skirt is quite an attractive prospect!

I've had enough hassle already over the past 12 months , wind deflectors have been stolen and badges also robbed before.

Long story short, if i fix the car i just want to sell it as I'm sick of the scumbags around Limerick. Alternative is ask my mechanic to strip the drivers side off so there's nothing removable left on the car!

Sunday's incident has left a lot of adhesive and nuts and bolts that were holding the original panel on which will need to be sorted in any case.

http://www.cfsoundnstyles.ie/VW_Golf_MK6_VI_0912_Sideskirts_Pair_PLASTIC_R20_Look_3DR_5DR/p1072369_12220880.aspx

This is the cheapest I've found a new set.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Not nice. Have you considered moving to a better area?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 456 ✭✭The Little Fella

Not nice. Have you considered moving to a better area?

Living in annacotty and there aren't many better areas in Limerick. Starting to look at buying a house to move out of the city but unfortunately need a quick fix as having to park my car a couple of miles away to avoid it happening again is not ideal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,760 ✭✭✭Effects

So sorry to hear that. Absolute scum bags. Closest I came to that was when scumbags popped the nut covers off my A8 replicas and leaving when they found the locking nuts. I didn't notice and drove over the covers, breaking them. Horrible thing to have to deal with.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 17,861 Mod ✭✭✭✭Henry Ford III

Living in annacotty and there aren't many better areas in Limerick. Starting to look at buying a house to move out of the city but unfortunately need a quick fix as having to park my car a couple of miles away to avoid it happening again is not ideal

Annacotty isn't a bad spot at all! I'm amazed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

Unfortunately the scum have a love for anything Audi/VW. They are a popular mode of transport with the unwashed, that and they know they can sell the bits on to people who don't ask where they came from.

I'd be very careful with those aftermarket spurious parts, in alot of cases they don't fit correctly despite the claims.

bazz26 wrote: »
    Unfortunately the scum have a love for anything Audi/VW. They are a popular mode of transport with the unwashed, that and they know they can sell the bits on to people who don't ask where they came from.

I'd be very careful with those aftermarket spurious parts, in alot of cases they don't fit correctly despite the claims.

Thanks, considering trading the car in as it is now and see what sort of trade in value I'll get against a bog standard mk7 golf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 980 ✭✭✭macroman

Don't allow these scum get the better of you, invest in a dash cam that records events, so if there is a bump or movement of the car it will record. My cousin had a similar incident, decided to fit the dash cam he'd already bought at caught the scroates coming back for another crack at it - few nice clear shots of their faces, known to guards and local head bangers who had a few words.

Nicer and rural areas are always a target for these gimps, as even a dog wont **** where they sleep.

macroman wrote: »
    Don't allow these scum get the better of you, invest in a dash cam that records events, so if there is a bump or movement of the car it will record. My cousin had a similar incident, decided to fit the dash cam he'd already bought at caught the scroates coming back for another crack at it - few nice clear shots of their faces, known to guards and local head bangers who had a few words.

Nicer and rural areas are always a target for these gimps, as even a dog wont **** where they sleep.

Reluctant to spend 600 quid when same thing could just happen again. With the side skirt being on the bottom of the car, thief can play his cards smart and not get caught by a dash cam.

Having to fork out a few grand in a trade in for a car that will probably have a lesser spec has me pretty pissed off tbh. Lesson learned... Don't live in Limerick city.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,363 ✭✭✭✭bazz26

That's a bit unfair, this sort of thing isn't exclusive to Limerick.

Reluctant to spend 600 quid when same thing could just happen again. With the side skirt being on the bottom of the car, thief can play his cards smart and not get caught by a dash cam.

Having to fork out a few grand in a trade in for a car that will probably have a lesser spec has me pretty pissed off tbh. Lesson learned... Don't live in Limerick city.

Getting a standard looking lower spec. Golf won't render it invisible OP.

I'd suggest your issue is where you park and the class of individual wandering around the area. Annacotty isn't a bad spot in general. I'd have a word with your local Garda and see what do they suggest.