Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Fatigue

• 10-03-2017 11:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

Well lads and lassies I've been flat out for the last 2 months now and it's catching up on me I'm not starting as early as I was last year (1hr later) and doing the same hours about fair enough I'm doing more outside farming this year compared to last year I have training 2 nights a week try do other exercises 2 of the other nights of the week and I've a woman for the weekends I've always something on I had 2 days off last weekend but to say I was resting would be a lie I got 9hrs uninterrupted sleep one night this week and I felt terrible the morning afterwards my whole upper body feels like lead in the mornings have any of ye any tips to get a bit of life back into me or any tablets he could recommend not drugs as such more so fish oils or vitamins eye

Thanks in advance

Better living everyone

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

If your over 40 forget about it

• Cocaine does the job

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,355 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Same as your self carrolsno1
    Getting 8 hrs sleep most nights and still bollixed. Fell asleep driving the other night and v lucky not to have written off the car or killed myself, and I had a coffee an hour before that.
    Heading to docs next week to get blood tests done to see if I'm lacking anything.
    Get to bed at 10 most nights and up again at 5.30/6
    I'd be found asleep on the couch an hour after sitting on it. Get into a passenger seat in a car and I'm asleep in minutes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

My advice would be to visit your GP and get your bloods checked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,980 ✭✭✭Genghis Cant

Outside of working hard you're training 4 nights a week?
    Winter or spring training can be gruelling, can you drop even one of the nights. Recovery is as important as training.
    Your diet wants to be pretty good too or it can drag you down.
    As you get older all this gets harder and harder and the recovery longer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

Base price wrote: »
    My advice would be to visit your GP and get your bloods checked.

Yep run down is all.
    I'm gone back on the tinned pink salmon and feel better for it.
    Also Centrum for men vitamins.

Doc probably could give you a vitamin D injection too.

Too much whole grain and not enough omega 3 from fish oil to conteract the acid from grain can actually cause soreness and tiredness.
    Tinned salmon is a good assured source of omega 3 and they reckon the wild stuff is better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

2 months lambing and calving sure we are all tired. If you keep going at that pace you have to be wore out.
    All we can do is keep going till its finished, its a mugs game.

Actually another one if you're very run down is nettle soup or tea.
    Full of iron and you won't forget it in a hurry.:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,573 ✭✭✭✭Base price

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Cooked nettles would have been a regular "pick me up" remedy in Spring. My Mam used to regularly cook nettle tips as a veg for lunch/dinner when I was a child.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

6hrs sleep last night never feeling as fresh have training a miss due to a section at home I'm not over forty early 20s is all thanks for the advice lads and ladies

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

Take omega 3 tablet and a good multi-vitamin here and try and eat right most of the time.

With that amount of work and training your burning Alot of calories and your probably not eating often enough. Food is fuel!!
    Always good to get checked by Doctor though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

6hrs sleep last night never feeling as fresh have training a miss due to a section at home I'm not over forty early 20s is all thanks for the advice lads and ladies

Get the bloods done as other posters have said.Try and cut out sugar if ya can from diet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,101 ✭✭✭bogman_bass

Have you a sore tongue? If so could be a sign of vit B-12 deficiency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,271 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

You could have an under active thyroid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,028 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Well lads and lassies I've been flat out for the last 2 months now and it's catching up on me I'm not starting as early as I was last year (1hr later) and doing the same hours about fair enough I'm doing more outside farming this year compared to last year I have training 2 nights a week try do other exercises 2 of the other nights of the week and I've a woman for the weekends I've always something on I had 2 days off last weekend but to say I was resting would be a lie I got 9hrs uninterrupted sleep one night this week and I felt terrible the morning afterwards my whole upper body feels like lead in the mornings have any of ye any tips to get a bit of life back into me or any tablets he could recommend not drugs as such more so fish oils or vitamins eye

Thanks in advance

If your in your 20's more then likely grandular fever know a few lads that got it and the above was very similiar to what your expirencing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,590 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Berocca boost ,porridge lots of coffee ,at least 5/6 hours sleep ,virtually no alcohol and trying my best to stay positive have got me through the last 5 weeks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

jaymla627 wrote: »
    If your in your 20's more then likely grandular fever know a few lads that got it and the above was very similiar to what your expirencing
    I got this too , just when you think you are over it it comes back.

Thanks everyone for the advice I remember getting my thyroid looked at when I was younger and it was grand but I'll try get to the doctors next week sometime I thought first stress night might have something to do with it but I'm no way stressed at all only the odd milking a few weeks ago training in heifers thanks again

Better living everyone

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,430 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

If i may on a related but slightly different angle.are you suffering from stress.it can affect alot of things but can be dealt with using mechanism s once you realise it s happening.edit just seen your post now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

6hrs sleep last night never feeling as fresh

Too much sleep is worse than too little. It's all about sleep quality. 6hrs of quality sleep is better than 8-9 hours of restless sleep.

When l was your age and less commitments would have lay ins and l'd be as groggy and yawning the while time the following day.

Working and training like you are, you should be eating well, plenty of carbs.... aka spuds and bread. You'll burn more calories when you are tired towards the end of the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,299 ✭✭✭orm0nd

most ppl don't drink enough water,.... coffee, chocolate etc as a boost isn't the answer maybe ok in younger but long term will do more harm than good

if you find drinking water diifficult maybe add some sugar free fruit squash

always carry a bottle with you or have convenient and take sups little and often

It's called "Burning the candle at both ends". Have a look at all your activities for a full week and see what can be cut out. Include what you eat and drink. How much if any that you smoke. Units of alcohol.

It may just be a case of getting the balance right. Good Luck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

Muckit wrote: »

Working and training like you are, you should be eating well, plenty of carbs.... aka spuds and bread.

Wouldn't agree with that, gave up eating spuds and grains a few years ago, replaced almost entirely with animal fats and am going much better since. Gives a very good sustained supply of energy even if I don't eat all day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

If you have too much iron in your blood it has the opposite effect, makes you tried all the time and can have the same effect on your liver as drinking half a bottle of whiskey a day. Only cure for that is to donate blood regularly to get your iron level down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

Agreed with the get your diet right comments, too many of us have dire diets, with wayy too much sugar and processed/fast foods which are just full of empty enough carbs and do not provide us with a sufficiently balanced enough diet. If a cow is lacking in her diet she will certainly not thrive, it's no different for us humans. A reasonable balanced diet should solve any issues like reduced iron, lacking vit d etc.

The other thing I'd say is your mid 20s can often be a very stressful time, I know I was alot less sure footed back then, I'm in my early 30s now but definitely handle pressure better now, I can see the bigger picture better now, I've a much better idea of where I'm heading in life (against just "milk as many cows as I can and I'll eventually be rich and have made it"), I can see the warning signs earlier of when I'm overdoing it, I'm not afraid to say no, to call the contractor when needed, to pull the plug on a training session when I'm not up to it etc etc. The way I was heading in my 20s during the early years of being full time on the farm here was not healthy at all, I was certainly on a road to depression, and calving season etc would very quickly tip me over the edge and leave me extremely deluded, many restless nights wondering what was I at etc etc.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    If you have too much iron in your blood it has the opposite effect, makes you tried all the time and can have the same effect on your liver as drinking half a bottle of whiskey a day. Only cure for that is to donate blood regularly to get your iron level down.

That's Haemochromatosis though.
    Isn't it?
    It's a genetic disorder.
    "Normal" people won't really overload on iron intake unless they are abusing the vitamin supplements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

That's Haemochromatosis though.
    Isn't it?
    It's a genetic disorder.
    "Normal" people won't really overload on iron intake unless they are abusing the vitamin supplements.

Yup and the blood bank wouldn't take blood from suffers till a few years ago because it wasn't purely voluntary as they were getting a benifit from donating the blood.
    One of the diseases I know I don't have...2 of my uncles have it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,457 ✭✭✭ford2600

http://ss.fitness/#nutrition
    Learn to eat properly.

Learn to switch off and rest. Yoga/meditation/enjoy a long walk/mass whatever the fcuk works for you.

Put away the phone/labtop/TV for at least an hour before bed. Learn to sleep properly, leave phone away from you completely in bed.

Get all the sex you can; be fresh for the weekend ffs

Drink as little as possible.

Above all listen to your body.

Oh and introduce yourself to punctuation OP!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,488 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

This time of year I try to get a "power nap" or a snooze, half an hour in the middle of the day works wonders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 353 ✭✭Nobbies

What are you training so hard for?a marathon?life is just that.not a sprint.unless one wants an early grave,try an take things easier.lifes along road and you will find loads of time to fit things in.you may not realise it now but when ur abit older you will see what imean.by the way i take kiddi pharmathon meself.seven an ahalf mls aday when theres an r in the month.last thing at nite.would,nt want anything washing it away on me.

Nobbies wrote: »
    What are you training so hard for?a marathon?life is just that.not a sprint.unless one wants an early grave,try an take things easier.lifes along road and you will find loads of time to fit things in.you may not realise it now but when ur abit older you will see what imean.by the way i take kiddi pharmathon meself.seven an ahalf mls aday when theres an r in the month.last thing at nite.would,nt want anything washing it away on me.

I have rugby training twice a week and I try do a bit on the side to improve myself

Better living everyone

Wouldn't agree with that, gave up eating spuds and grains a few years ago, replaced almost entirely with animal fats and am going much better since. Gives a very good sustained supply of energy even if I don't eat all day.

Have a good energy reserve built up over the years myself

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,235 ✭✭✭Sheep breeder

Working full time off farm and a lot of daily travel and farming from 6 to 9 prior to work and home at 6 30 and then farm till 9 and bed at 11 or 12,
    Learned to try to make every thing easier each year to cut out manual work,
    Number one thing prior to lambing is doe with the doctor and check blood and eat lots of veg and fruit and water all day when out at work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭queueeye

Tell that woman to go easy on ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

What do you mean by animal fats??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 404 ✭✭yessam

Porridge and coffee in mornings gets me trough first half of day. Best time of day to get work done is morning's.
    Always wrecked after eating for second half of day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

yessam wrote: »
    Porridge and coffee in mornings gets me trough first half of day. Best time of day to get work done is morning's.
    Always wrecked after eating for second half of day.
    God I'm the same. After lunch/dinner I am like a zombie. A snooze would be lovely. Get a good kick then again in the early evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

What do you mean by animal fats??

Double cream, fatty cuts of meat

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,267 ✭✭✭davidk1394

I thought cows were meant to be an easy life :P ahh no but seriously a descent diet, plenty of water and if you can manage to get at least 6 hours sleep a night the energy will come back bit by bit. If possible don't drink tea or coffee an hour before bed and put the phone on silent.

Are you still off the fags ?