Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Challenging God TV3

• 09-03-2017 12:54am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭

Vincent Brown is a disgrace on TV3 tonight :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,228 ✭✭✭✭expectationlost

that a repeat?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,485 ✭✭✭✭The_Kew_Tour

What he say?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,232 ✭✭✭Sam Quentin

that a repeat?
    Don't know
    What he say?

Along with his words, his demeanour, body language and total disregard and non respect for the Catholic faith was hard to watch :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,031 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Don't know

Along with his words, his demeanour, body language and total disregard and non respect for the Catholic faith was hard to watch :mad:

Why should anyone have any respect for a load of made up nonsense?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,945 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Fair play to him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,303 ✭✭✭Temptamperu

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Why should anyone have any respect for a load of made up nonsense?

made up nonsense that stands in front of a pile of childrens bones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭JackTaylorFan

Grow up, OP

"I believe in God"

"There's no proof God exists"

"How dare you insult me and my delusions and insinuate I'm some sort of gullible moron"

Just saying he was a total disgrace to the majority of Irish people who practise publicly or privately the Catholic Religion.

Err... That's not how that works.

Err!? That is how it works when he's allowed to sit there on an Irish TV station and spout his anti Catholic views for everybody to see :mad:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

I found it trivially annoying and going to do a write up on my blog.

Err!? That is how it works when he's allowed to sit there on an Irish TV station and spout his anti Catholic views for everybody to see :mad:

No, it isn't.

He hasn't the diagraced the church; the church has diagraced itself. Yeah, that's how that works.

Sure won't "God", who loves everybody apparently, get his revenge and let him burn in hell for eternity?

So what's the problem?

After all "God" dude gave us free will so we can commit sin. Thank you Jaysus Mohameed Ganesh Allah mate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Zebra3 wrote: »
    Sure won't "God", who loves everybody apparently, get his revenge and let him burn in hell for eternity?

It's ok, you can sort it all out by getting a splash of water on your head.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,775 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If it's offending you I'd suggest changing the station.

People just love to find something that offends them so they can complain about it. Change the station and get over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,199 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

More in your line to wipe the foam off your mouth and get down on your knees praying to your god for the thousands who were thrown away like last week's rashers by His good and faithful servants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 221 ✭✭CaptainR

Well its a good thing you're a good Christian, you can just forgive him right?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

Don't know

What was so different then? He tends to be rather impatient with people who don't discuss a topic directly. Such as yourself as it so happens.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 93,857 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

<yawn>

majority ?
    http://www.irishcatholic.ie/article/who-still-goes-mass-ireland-nowadays
    Pollsters also enquired about the frequency of attendance at religious services. Weekly attendance was found to be 34%.
    only 12% of 18-24 year old voters, and 13% of 24-35 year old voters, say they attend a service weekly.

current event
    The state is making noises about taking over the hospitals they've paid for.

the state is chasing up the religious orders (of all denominations) over the costs of the bad things

the vast majority of schools are controlled by religious. single mum teachers have had problems getting jobs http://www.irishcatholic.ie/article/who-still-goes-mass-ireland-nowadayswith them. Limerick is our third largest city. Most births there are to single mums.

• Site Banned Posts: 35 ROVER_1912

oh god

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,785 ✭✭✭KungPao

So what do you want, Sam Quentin? For TV3 to sack him?

Sack him?

He made the TV3.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

As long as Vincent knows The Riddle of Steel when he kneels before Crom he'll be ok.

Otherwise, Crom will cast Vincent out of Valhalla and laugh at him.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,162 ✭✭✭MadDog76

I think he meant the majority of Irish people who are still practising Catholics (would/might be offended) as opposed to saying the majority of Irish people are practising Catholics ..........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

The church dug its own grave and lost the respect of the people all by itself, don't think what he says or does makes any difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Easy target.

They wouldn't have the balls to go after Islam in the same way. #SoBrave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,236 ✭✭✭✭astrofool

The church dug its own grave and lost the respect of the people all by itself, don't think what he says or does makes any difference.

I think you'll find one of the problems is that they didn't dig graves, and just fecked the dead down the sewer.:pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭Virgil°

Easy target.

I'm no fan of Islam but to date Islam has had little to no effect on Irish society as a whole.Thus it won't get much airtime. Lets not forget the rape of our children and subsequent cover-ups weren't borne of Islamic faith. #Reality

Virgil° wrote: »
    I'm no fan of Islam but to date Islam has had little to no effect on Irish society as a whole.Thus it won't get much airtime. Lets not forget the rape of our children and subsequent cover-ups weren't borne of Islamic faith. #Reality

FGM.

The media are rightly castigating the catholic church for their past crimes to children but there are current crimes happening to young girls in having their genitals mutilated, and kids being radicalised in Clonskeagh but we'll sweep those under carpet.

Exactly like in old Ireland, people don't want to get labeled or shunned for not toeing the establishment line. We'll just keep quiet and say nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,552 ✭✭✭✭Grayson

Mr. Hillman is a one topic guy. He has quite the fetish for islam. You'll be amazed as the threads he's managed to squeeze it into.

Grayson wrote: »
    Mr. Hillman is a one topic guy. He has quite the fetish for islam. You'll be amazed as the threads he's managed to squeeze it into.

Shhhhhhh! Don't be talking about the church.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,761 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

On 9/11, one-sixth of the dead were in some way Irish according to Irishtribute.com, or going further Irish central say "an estimated 1,000 people who were of Irish descent or of Irish birth were lost in the violent events of that day".

Air travel has been affected by Islamic extremism as we have to limit the amounts of liquids we bring on board a plane and have to get our shoes scanned because of Islamic extremism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,980 ✭✭✭Lucy8080

Easy target.

It 's not an easy target.

This is a "Catholic Country" calling out it's own shadows.That requires balls.

I think Islam is playing catch up!

Maybe we can show the way.

Lucy8080 wrote: »
    It 's not an easy target.

This is a "Catholic Country" calling out it's own shadows.That requires balls.

I think Islam is playing catch up!

Maybe we can show the way.

Catholicism has very little power in Ireland anymore. Very few people lose votes or viewership or job security for criticising Christianity in politics or the media.

Criticise a non Christian religion and boom, the media will hang you out to dry. The media are the new catholic church in our country. They intimidate, they isolate, they socially ostracise people that do not toe their line.

Catholicism has very little power in Ireland anymore. Very few people lose votes or viewership or job security for criticising Christianity in politics or the media.

Criticise a non Christian religion and boom, the media will hang you out to dry. The media are the new catholic church in our country. They intimidate, they isolate, they socially ostracise people that do not toe their line.

O.K.

What lessons have you learned that you can apply to the media and Islam?

Lucy8080 wrote: »
    O.K.

What lessons have you learned that you can apply to the media and Islam?

That people need to able to speak out against wrongs committed by movements without the fear of being socially ostracised.

I don't think that many folks would disagree with you on the above.

"Wrongs committed by movements" therein lies our problems.

It brings me back to "us" calling ourselves out. We are doing that now.

Maybe the media and Islam and all others can take heed at the courage and brutal self honesty it requires.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 198 ✭✭mark13

Watching it now, I'm thoroughly entertained by his belligerence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,415 ✭✭✭chupacabra

God doesn't exist. Move on with your life, you'll be far happier.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,231 ✭✭✭Jim Bob Scratcher

Religion is horse ****. Get with it folks, there is no invisible man in the clouds. Death will just be like before you were born, can you remember that ? No of course you can't, that's what death will be like. PS smoke weed everyday :)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Music Moderators, Politics Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 22,360 CMod ✭✭✭✭Dravokivich

RobertKK wrote: »
    On 9/11, one-sixth of the dead were in some way Irish according to Irishtribute.com, or going further Irish central say "an estimated 1,000 people who were of Irish descent or of Irish birth were lost in the violent events of that day".

Air travel has been affected by Islamic extremism as we have to limit the amounts of liquids we bring on board a plane and have to get our shoes scanned because of Islamic extremism.

No more so than Irish Extremism.

I remember when bags were scanned at the door in Dublin Airport. No-one is doing that again.

The Liquids / Shoes is just to be seen to do something. I doubt they really care about them at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

The usual anti God rants with people equating Catholicism to Christianity.

Just because they wore dog collars and habits while abusing kids doesn't equate to Christians abusing kids.....It just means people who were religious abused kids as opposed to those who aren't religious doing it.....But let's not get in the way of a good rant:)

The usual anti God rants with people equating Catholicism to Christianity.

Just because they wore dog collars and habits while abusing kids doesn't equate to Christians abusing kids.....It just means people who were religious abused kids as opposed to those who aren't religious doing it.....But let's not get in the way of a good rant:)

Mormons and Protestants were are it too.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Mormons and Protestants were are it too.

I never said they weren't..See my post above for how I classify them^^^:)

The main rants are against the RCC which is why I mentioned them specifically.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,575 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Maybe you should turn the other cheek?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,555 ✭✭✭valoren

Spoiler alert.

You didn't exist before you were born.
    You live. You die.
    You no longer exist after you die.

There's a wonderful reassurance in that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

Lot of happy back slapping going on,

The usual, I must tell everyone there is no God, and everyone must know im an Atheist bla bla bla bla bla

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Its all very fashionable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

valoren wrote: »
    Spoiler alert.

You didn't exist before you were born.
    You live. You die.
    You no longer exist after you die.

There's a wonderful reassurance in that.

I think Bruce Forsyth would disprove that statement!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,730 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

Mod:

There are already threads about the Tuam babies here, some religious forums here and a TV forum here. Another one of these threads really isn't necessary.