Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Looking to learn a new language - what would you recommend?

Options
  • 08-03-2017 6:33pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 85 ✭✭

My background is in Java mainly. I have over 4.5 years writing it commercially. I was thinking of learning Python, but then I reconsidered as I only want to do it if it is worth my time. I know bash scripting and that helped me in my day-to-day job before but not in the job prospects front. I want to invest my time in learning a new language for which there is great demand at the moment. Would python be in this category? Or would python be another language that would help me as a software developer in day-to-day tasks (log file analysis etc...). Do Java and Python complement each other? What language would you recommend learning if you know Java based on the current job market?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 580 ✭✭✭ddarcy

InTheAttic wrote: »
    My background is in Java mainly. I have over 4.5 years writing it commercially. I was thinking of learning Python, but then I reconsidered as I only want to do it if it is worth my time. I know bash scripting and that helped me in my day-to-day job before but not in the job prospects front. I want to invest my time in learning a new language for which there is great demand at the moment. Would python be in this category? Or would python be another language that would help me as a software developer in day-to-day tasks (log file analysis etc...). Do Java and Python complement each other? What language would you recommend learning if you know Java based on the current job market?