Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Parking Fine from nosy neighbour

• 06-03-2017 6:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭

Going unreg for this and only forum I could think of posting in...

I've just received a parking fine for parking on double yellow lines outside my apartment complex for stopping very temporarily whilst my phone was going off. I pulled in as was awaiting an important call but when I saw it was a personal call I didn't answer and prepared to pull out.

I then noticed a neighbour who was behind me driving out of complex parked behind me and on his phone visibly taking a picture of my car stopped (which at the time was on double yellows).

In total, I reckon I was pulled over for 20-30seconds maximum but somehow this was enough time for said individual to pull in behind me, get his phone out and take a picture. I noticed what he was doing so took a note of his car registration in case of this exact reason.

The problem is our complex is near a train station so people do occasionally park to pick up people (never bothered me). However, I live in the complex with my own parking so would have no reason to do that. I noticed after I pulled away he started pulling behind every other parked vehicle Im guessing to do the same thing before I went out of sight of him.

I fully intend on appealing the fine but it's stressed me out completely because it's money I don't have, and I can't believe a neighbour (who I don't know btw, part of a large complex) would stoop to such a low level.

Does anyone have any advice or thoughts? I'm so angry I'm considering going to the Guards to report this guy for; parking illegally to take the picture (behind me on double yellows), using his phone behind the wheel, and causing a nuisance by purposely driving around parking behind people to take pictures. Do I have a ground to stand on or what should I do with the fine?

Can't believe there are such pathetic busy-bodies in this world. argh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,394 ✭✭✭ManOfMystery

I'm confused here. Your actual NEIGHBOUR has issued the fine, rather than any parking attendant or Garda or whatever? If so, then he has absolutely no power to enforce it. Throw it in the bin and don't sweat it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Wesser

Next time, jump out if the car and take a photo.of him!!!

Gggrrr . I always think of something really cool I Should have said or done after the incident!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Where did the parking fine come from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,222 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

I'm very lost about your post to be honest.
    I don't think the Gardai/traffic warden would be bothered issuing parking fines just going on a picture from your neighbor. People would always be in the Garda station if this was the case. Any parking fine I've ever heard of anybody getting was issued by a traffic warden/Garda directly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

You have no fine.

What's the point in this post ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,843 ✭✭✭tea and coffee

I'm very surprised that they took the neighbours word for it and issued a fine on that basis. What if you were puking or had to pull over for an emergency. seems very odd. are you sure fine correlates to the same incident (date /time /place)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

Was the fine issued by the Gardaí or the apartment management company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,095 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

i couldn't see the gardai willing or able to issue a fine for parking on double yellow lines on private property.
    do you have the actual fine (paper) in your possession?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,211 ✭✭✭✭beertons

I'd say he's compiling a folder of pictures to show at the next management meeting. You'll get no fine, but make sure you make note of his reg and pass it to someone who will be at that meeting. Have it read out and say he's making a nuisance of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38 Tramore Tilly

Presumably you live in a gated community and the fine came from the management company? To be fair to the neighbour, he didn't know you had been there a short period of time. All he saw was you on the double yellow, and then taking off when he appeared. I would think the yellow lines are there for a reason, in that at one stage people were parking where they liked causing dreadful annoyance to other residents and so some have gone all gestapo on it? Are you in a delivery van or something? We're you causing an obstruction or blocking his view as he was exiting?

Anyhow...the rule is, no parking on double yellows. He saw you parked on them and so theasy management company sent the fine. By all means appeal it. Hopefully you will get results. But if you're nearly home anyway..maybe next time wait till you are before answering your phone..or pull up some where else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,022 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Throw it In the Bin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 240 ✭✭Macer123

How would the management company get your address in order to send a fine from the registration number of your car. Surely they don't have access to this information. I'm confused ??

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

Macer123 wrote: »
    How would the management company get your address in order to send a fine from the registration number of your car. Surely they don't have access to this information. I'm confused ??

The OP may have a parking permit issued to his registration number, if they know the registration number from the photo then they have his name and address.

If the OP recognised the neighbour then the neighbor most likely recognised the OP and may have included the OPs house / apartment number when he contacted them to report the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 166,026 ✭✭✭✭LegacyUser

Op here.

So yes, as many of you suspected, it seems I jumped the guns a bit and this is not in fact a legal parking penalty.

The letter was in fact from the apartment management company threatening a fine.. I should have clocked it when the letter arrived at my apartment address and not where my car is registered but guess I overlooked it with the shock of receiving it.

I rang them today and they confirmed a complaint and photo had been sent to them but they looked at their resident records and matched my details so therefore sent me the letter threatening a fine in the future. (but I guess from reading above a fine can only be issued by parking warden or Garda)

They said it is a warning but they are hoping to crack down on illegal parking near the block so to be aware.

Stress over. Thanks for the replies and for wasting anyones time... it's about the last thing I could deal with right now so relieved is an understatement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,518 ✭✭✭✭dudara

@I Am not Ice - this is the Personal issues forum. Posts here are required to offer constructive advice to the OP. I recommend to read the charter before posting here again.

dudara

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,711 ✭✭✭Hrududu

Does that mean that he also parked on the double yellow lines to take the picture?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,268 ✭✭✭✭uck51js9zml2yt

Hrududu wrote: »
    Does that mean that he also parked on the double yellow lines to take the picture?

He wasn't parked....Just resting ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,711 ✭✭✭Joeseph Balls

He wasn't parked....Just resting ;)

Whilst using a mobile :O

• Closed Accounts Posts: 646 ✭✭✭hungry hypno toad

Whilst using a mobile :O

He may have activated his cars cloaking device (i.e. his hazard lights).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,371 ✭✭✭TheAnalyst_

This makes no sense. 

Why would they assume you live in the block if the problem is with outsiders and presumably you had just left your private parking spot.

Double yellow lines mean "no parking" not "no stopping". It's an important distinction that most people don't actually know.