Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ewe aborting - intervene or not?

• 02-03-2017 9:09am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭

Looking for some advice here.

I have a ewe that looks like she is aborting.

She looked sick yesterday so I isolated her and gave her some extra feed and liquid life aid. This morning her back end is all red and there is an awful smell.

Would ye lads intervene or let her expel the lambs herself? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

Sorry to hear that.. Rookie here, but I'd be inclined to let her do it herself, unless its been going on for a good while and she's losing energy/ struggling... Open to correction though from more experienced hands

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 nagshead

I think you need to get the lambs out asap as to not risk loss of ewe as well , clean and disinfect pen after her as well also a pm on the lambs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

Checked her and brought her to the Vet who pulled out two dead lambs (in pieces). She's high on pain killers and antibiotics now so its 50/50 if she lives...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

arctictree wrote: »
    Checked her and brought her to the Vet who pulled out two dead lambs (in pieces). She's high on pain killers and antibiotics now so its 50/50 if she lives...

When was she supposed to be due to lamb. most sheep that abort here do it themselves, we'd interfere with very few, very hard to get a hand in if it's mid pregnancy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,005 ✭✭✭Green farmer

Fingers crossed. If she's standing up its half the battle. When they sit down they tend to give up. I'd let her back to a small grass paddock with company, if she was mine.

rangler1 wrote: »
    When was she supposed to be due to lamb. most sheep that abort here do it themselves, we'd interfere with very few, very hard to get a hand in if it's mid pregnancy

Due to lamb around now. I couldn't get my hand in so she hadn't opened up fully. Vet managed it though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

arctictree wrote: »
    Due to lamb around now. I couldn't get my hand in so she hadn't opened up fully. Vet managed it though.

You'd get them to open at full term all right, we've had afew stuck in the ewe at mid term....vet says there's nothing can be done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭mcgiggles

ah hope she's alright arctic tree!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33 nagshead

Hopefully she will be ok for you arctic

She's up and about feeding and drinking so I think she'll pull through. But you know sheep, she could be dead in an hour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,332 ✭✭✭razor8

One small nick on a ewe with smell and rotten lambs is usually fatal. Well done to the vet