Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Buying a van

• 27-02-2017 11:12pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭

Folks just wondering what costs etc would be involved in owning a van.

I have a main car for normal use but as I'm buying a house I'd like a very cheap van to use for rough work and transporting items.

I'm thinking in terns of a Transit or Trafic with a few months DOE, just cheap really.

Is insurance and tax expensive these days? Over 10 years since i last had a van.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Tax is a fixed €333 on Hiace, Traffic, Tansit etc vans, insurance probably comparable to a car. You may run in to trouble taxing as commercial depending on the council area of where you live, easiest would be to get a van currently taxed, then you just simply renew when ownership transferred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,244 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

, easiest would be to get a van currently taxed, then you just simply renew when ownership transferred.

They look for a new goods only declaration when ownership changes. They are plenty wide to that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,203 ✭✭✭Jack the Stripper

Tax is a fixed €333 on Hiace, Traffic, Tansit etc vans, insurance probably comparable to a car. You may run in to trouble taxing as commercial depending on the council area of where you live, easiest would be to get a van currently taxed, then you just simply renew when ownership transferred.

Op says doe uk resident.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85,547 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Op says doe uk resident.

Well it's an Irish forum, his mistake then :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

ba_barabus wrote: »
    Folks just wondering what costs etc would be involved in owning a van.

I have a main car for normal use but as I'm buying a house I'd like a very cheap van to use for rough work and transporting items.

I'm thinking in terns of a Transit or Trafic with a few months DOE, just cheap really.

Is insurance and tax expensive these days? Over 10 years since i last had a van.

They would tax a small donkey in Nenagh once you have money ;)

My father has no Vat number, declarations etc etc and happily taxes his van no problem, commercial insurance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,617 ✭✭✭ba_barabus

Op says doe uk resident.

OP is definitely an Irish resident. I thought it was a DOE when I last owned a van a decade ago.

At that time tax was grand but insurance was a pain. I was wondering would owning a private car help make it cheaper.

What kind of money would people think I'd be looking at to buy a roadworthy van (cheap as possible).

pred racer wrote: »
    They would tax a small donkey in Nenagh once you have money ;)

My father has no Vat number, declarations etc etc and happily taxes his van no problem, commercial insurance.

Nenaghs just great like that lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

Op says doe uk resident.

loads of people, nearly everyone in fact, still call the CVRT "DOE" .

He's Irish I'd say.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭me_right_one

Caddy are too small I'd think. Looking for something that could carry couches, beds, tables and heavy equipment.

Think something like this but with longer road cert

https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/2002-ford-transit-t300/14828922

What kind of money would people think I'd be looking at to buy a roadworthy van (cheap as possible).

Can be done for small money to be fair.

Asking €1650 https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/renault-traffic-test-amp-tax/14431024
    MTNiOTk2N2U3OWVhZmUyY2M5MmNkNzRjYTRmNzJjNmUSlYIbytcHGHjJVv5Y_rcXaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b182Nzg2NDQ1MXx8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

Asking €1050
    https://www.donedeal.ie/commercials-for-sale/2005-transit/14832575
    ODVmNmQ3NjNiMjU5YzA5YmI0ODVjYzZlODc2ZjM4NDIQTph3GpRrA_ckvrJYI0gTaHR0cDovL3MzLWV1LXdlc3QtMS5hbWF6b25hd3MuY29tL2RvbmVkZWFsLmllLXBob3Rvcy9waG90b183MDExODg0M3x8fDYwMHg2MDB8fHx8fHx8fA==.jpeg

both are tested............ rough as feck though but might be ok ish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,467 ✭✭✭h3000

You would really have to look at the LWB versions if you want to move beds and couches.

0118 999 881 999 119 725 3

I don't know what the OP means by rough work but a van, insured & taxed will be €2k minimum. That's not overly good value for moving items house to house IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Augeo wrote: »
    I don't know what the OP means by rough work but a van, insured & taxed will be €2k minimum. That's not overly good value for moving items house to house IMO.

Yeah, building a house, or doing a lot of renovations maybe... but for moving I'd personally be inclined to rent from the likes of enterprise who will include insurance for a commercial vehicle, pick you up drop you off etc.

Its not for moving as such. That will be part of it however. I'm buying a house with a builders finish so there'll be work involved. I'd also like to avoid trashing my car carrying paint and tools around abd other equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Its not for moving as such. That will be part of it however. I'm buying a house with a builders finish so there'll be work involved. I'd also like to avoid trashing my car carrying paint and tools around abd other equipment.

A passenger car with tax and test and just remove the rear seats might be an easier option.

A Volvo estate could be picked up tested and possibly taxed for €1000. That's the option I would go for.

166man wrote: »
    A passenger car with tax and test and just remove the rear seats might be an easier option.

A Volvo estate could be picked up tested and possibly taxed for €1000. That's the option I would go for.

An old MPV might actually make some sense but the higher tax will be a pain.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,575 ✭✭✭166man

Sure something like a 1.6 Opel Zafira or equivalent will be relatively low tax.

In fact, if you could find an older E200 Estate, they're huge inside with folding rear seats and have the 1.8 supercharged engines. Low tax etc...:)

Edit; Or buy seat covers for the 159 and a boot cover :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,105 ✭✭✭selectamatic

1.6 Nissan serena
    Take out the seats and you've got a mid size van. Reliable and handy tax too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

O.p.
    Buying the van is not the issue.
    The problem will start when You first go to insure and tax it.
    First off not many insurers will insure a commercial for private use, so unless you have a legitimate business that would use a van, that could be your first hurdle.
    Next is tax.
    If your van does not have a current DOE or CVRT you Cannot get it taxed.
    If you do not have an insurance policy for business / commercial use they most likely will refuse you the lower tax and charge you as per the size of the engine.
    If you do get commercial insurance, before You can first tax it you will have to sign the declaration at the Garda station stating that the vehicle will only be used solely for your business purposes.

Thems the new rules.

Just thinking about this more, getting a car will mean putting my own car off the road however Id prefer keep it. The whole point if this would be to get something to avoid wrecking my own car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

166man wrote: »

Did you ever try to remove the rear seats from a 159 saloon :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87 ✭✭homik

If you get the van, is there a way of having both the car and the van insured at a reasonable cost at the same time? (Well..insurance and reasonable these days, lol... but still)
    I was looking into the same scenario - to keep my car and get a van, but the van insurance would have been mad. I could only use my no claim bonus on the car and the van would get no discount whatsoever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,629 ✭✭✭✭elperello

You might consider a camper van conversion.
    Some of the conversions retain the opening back doors and you could get some fairly big items into them.
    Conversions on Transit, Renault Master, Citroen Relay/fiat Ducato are often on Donedeal.
    Tax is €105. Insurance c. €350.