Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How many penalty points do you have?

• 25-02-2017 7:50pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

How many penalty points do you have or what's the max you've ever had? I had 2 points from when I was caught exceeding the speed limit by a van (78 km/h in a 60 km/h zone).

The points were applied in January 2013 and were expunged in January 2016.

What about you?

I voted "None - I haven't been caught yet", because my previous points have expired and I haven't been caught again :P

How many penalty points do you CURRENTLY have? 221 votes

None - I never break the rules
    0%
    None - I haven't been caught yet :)
    16%
    beer enigmaSkatedudeilluminslave1towgerGinger83ytpe2r5bxkn0c1ComhráSabre Manmurphym7anniehoohognefwrmwitZeitgeistGleeD_BEARvandriverMicilin MucpajorWacoKidrobbiew 37 votes
    None - I don't have a license
    57%
    deRangedbyteJoyPadondaflyjesus_thats_gredudaramoby2101Diddy KongLia_liaMaceFaceLIGHTNINGciaran76fred funk }{run_Forrest_runRoanmoremloc123colm_mcmbennyadogmatixcjt156 128 votes
    1%
    EathrinGustavoFringShannon757girlmud 4 votes
    0%
    4%
    emaherxBraveDonutbeertonsSkylinehead12gauge daveGeorge Dalton[Deleted User]tobdomJames Bond JuniorArcade_Tryer 10 votes
    13%
    TheFatGileadimicksSparkopred racerAlquaPappacharlieTropheusDamien360TherapyBoyextremehalodonegaldudeHead_HunterZatoichicoach22klairondavissnorgammygilsblindside88marno21 30 votes
    0%
    Charlie19kefir32 2 votes
    1%
    ZascarThe Bishop Bashercelica00 3 votes
    3%
    kingtutmaamomTombo2001Ah_YeahJ MysterioThe Pheasant2Golfgorfield 7 votes
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%
    0%

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 180 ✭✭stevveyg

I have 8!! Got 6 in space of a month last year.. 2 going in July. I'm the safest driver in the country now .. the amount off assholes up my ass in a 50km zone now is amazing.. dreading my insurance quote in April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,684 ✭✭✭✭Samuel T. Cogley

stevveyg wrote: »
    I have 8!! Got 6 in space of a month last year.. 2 going in July. I'm the safest driver in the country now .. the amount off assholes up my ass in a 50km zone now is amazing.. dreading my insurance quote in April

I feel your pain brother.

Not wanting to get anymore than the three I have for doing 58 in a 50, is probably going to result in me having a major accident sooner rather than later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,968 ✭✭✭blindside88

I'm down to 3, was on 6, went down to 2, back up to 5. Back down to 3 now and these are gone in August. Also managed to offload a set of 3 for speeding to a "friend that was driving my car and happened to have a northern licence" last April

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,021 ✭✭✭Arcade_Tryer

Remember, you were once an asshole too. And still might be if your behaviour does not change when you lose the points.

I have 2. And admittedly too few given the way I drive sometimes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,285 ✭✭✭Summer wind

I'v never had any. Just been lucky so far. I'll probably get 5 this week now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,373 ✭✭✭iwillhtfu

I'm not touching that poll why tempt fate. :D

I'd be more interested to see who get points after selecting zero etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,069 ✭✭✭✭CiniO

I have zero, and always had 0 since I started driving in Ireland 10 years ago.

I absolutely doesn't mean though, that I obey speed limits. I don't - especially in places I know there won't be any enforcement, which is most of area I drive.
    I actually do break speed limits most of the time I drive.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,708 ✭✭✭BeardySi

An option for "none - they've all expired" perhaps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

Zero

I obviously always obey the rules :)
    (This statement may or may not be true)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,406 ✭✭✭sjb25

.. the amount off assholes up my ass in a 50km zone now is amazing

Most likely me sorry but get out the fcuking way will ya :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭wrmwit

I feel your pain brother.

Not wanting to get anymore than the three I have for doing 58 in a 50, is probably going to result in me having a major accident sooner rather than later.

58 in a 50, jaysus that's harsh!

I had 6 but I'm clean now.

First 2 I was going 100 in a 60 crossroads in Gurtymadden in Galway.
    Second 2 I was done where the M4 ended in Kinnegad. I was raging but I didn't complain cos I was on my way home after spending the weekend in Amsterdam!
    Last 2 was along the quays at the Guinness factory.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Commotion Ocean

Treadhead wrote: »

That's actually me. I only realised my error after the poll was posted 😋

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,998 ✭✭✭Dr Turk Turkelton

wrmwit wrote: »
    58 in a 50, jaysus that's harsh!

I had 6 but I'm clean now.

First 2 I was going 100 in a 60 crossroads in Gurtymadden in Galway.
    Second 2 I was done where the M4 ended in Kinnegad. I was raging but I didn't complain cos I was on my way home after spending the weekend in Amsterdam!
    Last 2 was along the quays at the Guinness factory.

Was driving down the quays a couple of months ago and was keeping up with traffic when I saw the cops out with their hairdryer.
    I braked reasonably hard and nearly caused a pile up.
    Fücking dumb cops,either have speed checks there all the time or don't have them at all rather than the shooting fish in a barrel approach they use.
    Speed limit is stupid there as no-one sticks to it,if they want to enforce it properly they should do it with zero tolerance or not at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

are you for real?

why have it there all the time when they could have speed traps in a couple of dozen place now and again using the same resources , with the same result everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,562 ✭✭✭Sono

None, was done for speeding about 10 years ago but ended up in court over it and the judge never applied penalty points so I was lucky. Thankfully nothing ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Treadhead wrote: »

. . .because I left the country 6 years ago and I can't get points on my Irish licence over here :D

I did get lumped with safe driving course for doing ~40 in a 30 zone a few years ago. It was more expensive than the alternative bloody fine - I didn't know that until after I opted for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,578 ✭✭✭monkeysnapper

Feel like I'm tempting fate but I'm 41 and been driving since I was 17 .

How I have a clean licence is nothing short of a miracle.

So many times I though.....o shyte , then watched post every day for weeks .

Dam it I be tempted fate haven't I ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,728 ✭✭✭George Dalton

I have 2 arising from a very dodgy manoeuvre I pulled in the S4 with the guards a couple of cars behind me. I've done plenty of things over the years that would probably have landed me in jail if I was caught so all in all I'm happy with the 2 points..

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,781 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zascar

I have 5 but 2 should be falling off soon. How do you check?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 156 ✭✭bisounours

Brother lives in the States and is a bit of a Motorhead. Usually gets pulled over in the 80-100+mph range. Lives in a state that believes in safety education and community service so has been back to traffic school 3 times in the past 2 years and re-painted little old ladies' houses instead of fines and points...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭blade1

0 since during the week
    o9mb6yba.jpg

bisounours wrote: »
    Brother lives in the States and is a bit of a Motorhead. Usually gets pulled over in the 80-100+mph range. Lives in a state that believes in safety education and community service so has been back to traffic school 3 times in the past 2 years and re-painted little old ladies' houses instead of fines and points...

I'd have gladly given up an afternoon and picked up litter in Fairview Park (got done by the gatso in Fairview) than paid €80 and got three points which have taught me absolutely nothing other than watch the Speedo not the road when going through Fairview.

I was pulled doing '180' on the M50 not two weeks before and got a stern warning. I know there has to be discretion and I applaud that. The warning I got actually changed my driving. The Gatso is there probably because of the poor lad that got killed up there, I applaud that also but its on the wrong side of the road and too far down towards town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,219 ✭✭✭The_Honeybadger

Got six in the space of a couple of weeks last year. Three for 62 in a 50 in Dublin when I was lost in an unfamiliar area and just drifted over.

The next three a few weeks after were fairly harsh I thought. I was stopped in gridlocked traffic and plugged my phone in to charge. Garda looking straight at me and did me for holding a phone while in charge of a vehicle. But of common sense wouldn't have gone amiss there I thought. I have Bluetooth in the car and never normally hold a phone or text while driving.

I'm like driving miss daisy now sticking rigidly to the limit everywhere. When I'm on my way home I have to go through a number of villages and have lads overtaking me and and sitting on my back bumper all the way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,780 ✭✭✭carzony

I had 2 but they have since expired. Like many on this thread it's a miracle I've no points.

I'm always in a big hurry. I work night so driving home at 6am on a saturday,sunday morning is always fun..

I wonder if anyone is going beat me.
    About 15 years ago, I managed to collect 28 points within a year (in Poland where limit is 24).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 55 ✭✭tom85

CiniO wrote: »
    I wonder if anyone is going beat me.
    About 15 years ago, I managed to collect 28 points within a year (in Poland where limit is 24).

Well tell me how is anyone going to beat that when you off the road in Ireland with 12 point and this is an Irish website so we don't care how many point you can get in poland anyway

tom85 wrote: »
    Well tell me how is anyone going to beat that when you off the road in Ireland with 12 point and this is an Irish website so we don't care how many point you can get in poland anyway

Well if limit in Poland is 24, and in Ireland 12 which is half, let's say someone getting more than 14 is going to beat me :D

Besides, if you don't care about info from my posts, then why do you bother reading or replying to them?
    I don't care about info from probably about 90% of posts in this forum, so if I'm not interested in something I just skip it, and only involve in posts I'm interested in.
    Pretty simple.

tom85 wrote: »

I cared deeply.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,821 ✭✭✭✭Charlie19

No points at the moment.

Had 4 a few years back, I was caught on two occasions not having the seat belt on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,262 ✭✭✭✭Autosport

Got 2 points in 2005 for doing 80 in a 70 zone near Dublin airport but to be fair it was at 3am and there wasn't much traffic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭CorkMan_

Mine was back in Nov 2005, coming onto a long straight, (I'd say it's at least a km or 2), just after Castletown going towards Borris-in-Ossary, about 10/11 pm at night. 100kph road, car in front doing around 75kph. A few car lengths before the continuous line ended I passed out the car. (I was more or less at the end of the line). An absolute miserable cnut of an older Guard in an unmarked car. I've never met a more ignorant or rude person since. No way was he seeing common sense as there was no car coming towards us and in fact nothing went by in either direction the whole time he'd me pulled over. Did me for overtaking on a white line. Thankfully nothing since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,285 ✭✭✭cros13

None at the minute.... but I was powering up a hill outside Rathdowney today doing 107 in an 80 and there was a van over the crest of the hill. I hit the brakes sharpish... but if he got me.. fair enough...

I've been saved in the past 'cause my i3's reg didn't show up in PULSE due to a manual adjustment being done during registration.
    But I suspect they may have fixed that after I was referenced in an incident report (guy in front of me had a heart attack at the wheel, I submitted dashcam footage and a statement) and the guard discovered I wasn't on the system...

Waiting on the letter in the post :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,384 ✭✭✭pred racer

3 at the moment, first ones ever!

So if you go to overtake an unmarked squad car and he puts the boot down, dont overtake him, and then the van in front of him to get him off your arse, and then piss off into the distance :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,887 ✭✭✭IrishZeus

Have had 4 over the years. 2 for doing 58 in a 50 at the back of Dundrum Shopping Centre and another 2 for doing 58 in a 50 on the Navan Road, in a bus lane. (Dropping brother who was late for a flight to the airport and chanced using the bus lane to skip traffic)

Clean license now for the past 2-3 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

IrishZeus wrote: »
    Have had 4 over the years. 2 for doing 58 in a 50 at the back of Dundrum Shopping Centre and another 2 for doing 58 in a 50 on the Navan Road, in a bus lane. (Dropping brother who was late for a flight to the airport and chanced using the bus lane to skip traffic)

Clean license now for the past 2-3 years.

Got caught in that spot too. 57 bloody km an hour. Cheeky Guard asked did I know how fast you were going.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Cheeky Guard asked did I know how fast you were going.

Arra jaysus Gard, I couldn't be sure now, but if I had to guess I'd say it was somewhere between the pace of a drunk snail and a lame tortoise?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,737 ✭✭✭Tombo2001

I have been done twice in the same spot, as have several friends and a few family members.

That spot is where you ask.

Conyngham Road by the Phoenix Park.....a long straight 4 lane road with no houses on either side; and yet its a 50k zone. Its a 60k, that turns into a 50k....and just at the point is where the van parks.

You drive at 50k there and you feel like you are going backwards.

On one of the occasions I was completely baffled, as I'd just bought a wooden kitchen door, and it was in the passenger seat beside me. I was crawling along, because I didn't want the door moving about beside me; and yet I got the notice to say I was driving over 50. Couldn't believe it.

57 is the lowest so far, any advance? :pac:

2 point in 2013 which will expire in July. Was doing 92 in an 80 zone on the Kilcock to Clane road. Gatso was hiding in the shrubbery so it was impossible to see until you are passing it.
    Theoretically I should have dozens of points from my frequent trips down the M4/M6 to Galway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

None. Although have felt like a dope doing 100 on an empty M50 at two in the morning, and being over taken on the M7 by Artics, when going through the roadworks with zero sign of road works, Barr the temporary speed signs, and about 2 average speed cams, which I now know were just surveying.

Saying all that, probably have also been quite lucky for the odd slightly over during overtakes or on downhill sections of N roads or on HQDCs on known sections.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 416 ✭✭wrmwit

IrishZeus wrote: »
    Arra jaysus Gard, I couldn't be sure now, but if I had to guess I'd say it was somewhere between the pace of a drunk snail and a lame tortoise?

"I don't know what speed I was doing Gard, I was texting!"

An old Tommy Tiernan joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,639 ✭✭✭andekwarhola

None.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,795 ✭✭✭Isambard

57 is the lowest so far, any advance? :pac:

57 is quite a lot over the limit though in reality, over 10%. Bear in mind the guy's speedo was probably reading well over 60 too.

Speed tickets are a hot topic of conversation on here always, but it's amazing to see how few people actually have points.

I find it hard to believe that many people claim never to speed. I suspect some of them never check their speedo.

Isambard wrote: »
    57 is quite a lot over the limit though in reality, over 10%. Bear in mind the guy's speedo was probably reading well over 60 too.

Speed tickets are a hot topic of conversation on here always, but it's amazing to see how few people actually have points.

I find it hard to believe that many people claim never to speed. I suspect some of them never check their speedo.

It's hardly anything really in terms of external cues. People tend not to check their speedos when they're pretty much in line with other traffic or thinking they're about right in terms of speed. They're rightly looking around them to be aware of the situation and it's easy to drift a bit.

I'd say pretty much everyone speeds even if it's a few KPH. It's very rare you'll find someone puttering along at 45.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,313 ✭✭✭Mycroft H

Plus the dundrum bypass is downhill clearway with without lights/footpaths. It was a bit of a joke to get those points to be honest.

Mycroft H wrote: »
    Plus the dundrum bypass is downhill clearway with without lights/footpaths. It was a bit of a joke to get those points to be honest.

Yep - very rarely do you see a car doing 50kph there and if you are stuck behind one, its feels like you are absolutely crawling for the road that it is. Should be an 80 zone IMO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,910 ✭✭✭Comhrá

None now.

Got 2 points for doing 109kph in 100kph zone on N20 Cork-Limk. road around midnight on a dry night with no traffic about in 2011 . Felt peeved about it at the time but learned the lesson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,612 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Isambard wrote: »

The change to km's makes things seem worse.
    Using mph he'd be only around 4mph over the limit.
    Nearly sounds twice as bad using kph.

blade1 wrote: »
    The change to km's makes things seem worse.
    Using mph he'd be only around 4mph over the limit.
    Nearly sounds twice as bad using kph.

1.6 times :pac: