Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Quest Glendalough 2017

• 23-02-2017 8:15am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭

After my debacle in Gaelforce I had to get back on the horse asap. Signed up for up for this and am in Wave 2. Absolute bargain at E94 :rolleyes:

Will scout out the area and train up there beforehands

http://www.questadventureseries.com/race/quest-glendalough/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,122 ✭✭✭Peterx

Enjoy it.

It's difficult to say whether this is a runners or a cyclists race.
    The cycling has 4 tough climbs but all the runs are harder than they look on the map and cumulatively total about 20k. The run from the bikes to the kayak, that was surprisingly hard last year.

On the last cycle you can get a sneaky tow along from the stronger sports racers as you merge with their course. It does make it difficult to see where the other lads in the expert race are hiding though.

The kayak on the upper lake is what sets this race apart, it's a stunning beautiful setting in there.

here's a strava file of the course from last year https://www.strava.com/activities/554487520
    Here's just the cycling https://www.strava.com/activities/554983347

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 608 ✭✭✭Bassboxxx

Signed up for the same wave. Done the sport last year and really enjoyed it. The kayak was a visual treat at the end of the race.

Nervously excited about this. Last year was my longest event so this is that bit more. The running training has been hampered with a bit of an ankle niggle.

The aim is to finish at the moment :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,690 ✭✭✭Whyner

How does this compare to Gaelforce Dublin? I know it's longer...seems tougher

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭Homesick Alien

Whyner wrote: »
    How does this compare to Gaelforce Dublin? I know it's longer...seems tougher

For the sport distance the runs are a lot tougher but on the bike there's nothing as bad as first climb in the Gaelforce event

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

I put myself down for the expert on this... Is my first race of its type for me, am I screwed?

YepðŸ˜

If you do a fair amount of running and cycling you'll be grand. It's a tad ambitious alright. I mean the clue is in the title: expert.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭Enduro

It entirely depends on your level of fitness and how much training you're willing to do. But the title "expert" is meaningless marketing. It's just the longest of a set of short multi-sport races. You don't need any expertise to finish the "expert" version of this race.

If you can run approx 20k and cycle approx 40k you will be fine. As Enduro points out below.

Being able to realistically gauge your effort to your current fitness is where the pain or pleasure of the day comes in to it.
    Enduro wrote: »
    It entirely depends on your level of fitness and how much training you're willing to do. But the title "expert" is meaningless marketing. It's just the longest of a set of short multi-sport races. You don't need any expertise to finish the "expert" version of this race.

It's instructive to see how effective the meaningless marketing can be.

Peterx wrote: »
    If you can run approx 20k and cycle approx 40k you will be fine. As Enduro points out below.

Being able to realistically gauge your effort to your current fitness is where the pain or pleasure of the day comes in to it.

It's instructive to see how effective the meaningless marketing can be.

It's hill / mountain running though. Road running is all well and good but won't necessarily have you ready for it.

Getting though the expert event is very doable if you can run 20k, no matter what surface. You might have to go slower but you'll get there.

Once again (and to paraphrase the bould Enduro's advice on the ultra pages), go for it, you are more able then you think you are.

And the expert is most value for money :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 366 ✭✭Jk_Eire

Wave 2 : 57K : Runner Jogger ticket available.

Face value : €94 (includes the €9 ads ons upon check out)

I'm unfortunately pulling out injured.

@mods, I've contacted Quest and they've said it's ok to sell here, and that the name transfers are completed via active.com.

Any takers?

Jk_Eire wrote: »

@mods, I've contacted Quest and they've said it's ok to sell here, and that the name transfers are completed via active.com.

Any takers?

Price drop €75

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jfk247

Price drop €75

Registered for Wave 1 yesterday afternoon... Should have checked boards and saved €20.... Should always check boards before registering/signing up for anything!!!

Hopefully someone takes it off your hands, if any mates are looking for one I'll send them your way.

Now.... Time to start training!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,616 ✭✭✭The Noble Nudge

Looking forward to this tough run and cycle but to canoe on the upper lake worth the trip...when I get there....will keep an ear out Jk entry is now closed so you might have a better chance transferring it.
    Check with the mods to see if you start it as a stand alone topic get more views...

I'm going to cycle with runners in a backpack for this one, reckon it will be worth it

Japanese hot tubs at the finish line!!!!!!!

Just looking at the email....
    Is there any registration available the morning of it in Glendalough?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 654 ✭✭✭PoorFarmer

No registration available on the morning last year anyway. I imagine it's the same this year. Kind of a nuisance if you are near enough to drive to the start in the morning especially since there is no bike racking involved.

PoorFarmer wrote: »
    No registration available on the morning last year anyway. I imagine it's the same this year. Kind of a nuisance if you are near enough to drive to the start in the morning especially since there is no bike racking involved.

One last question for you.
    Whats the crack on water stops??
    It says limited so looking like be self sufficient....
    They only look to be at the start and finish of the map..

Honestly I don't know about the water stops. I did the Sport distance last year and what I had on the bike was plenty for me. Possibly had them at Lauragh GAA grounds but can't confirm that. Fire them off an email and They will confirm for you. They are usually pretty good to reply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,982 ✭✭✭Trimm Trabb

Friend of mine is injured and can't participate so PM me if you'd like to buy his entry once JK_Eire has sold his.

Imagine he would take €75 too

Any takers?

No longer available

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 Keller13

Hi Guys,

Sounds like some of you are pretty familiar with how this all works so I was hoping you could help me out with a few questions I have:

I don't see any times for transition opening/ closing on Saturday morning so not sure if there is anywhere you set up?

We are starting of on our bikes and then going onto the run - is there a place where you rack your bike and can leave your helmet ETC?

Is the transition area supervised or can anyone just walk in and take a bike out. When doing a triathlon you can only access the transition with your race number and take the bike that matches your race number - is it the same situation for an adventure race (hope so)?

Last question (I promise) is it ok for someone else to pick up your race pack - I would presume so if they have all the right details but just want to be sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

+1 all the questions I have too

Somebody can pick up race pack if they have your number. Send them on the text you get
    Need your number to take bike out of final transition. Not so strict on the in between transition points though or maybe I never noticed.
    You don't get your own designated area like tri so can be difficult enough to find the bike sometimes if you are mid pack. Tie a balloon to it helps alot 😀

I havent done any Quest brand ones before but from the other adventure races I have done...
    Keller13 wrote: »
    Hi Guys,

Sounds like some of you are pretty familiar with how this all works so I was hoping you could help me out with a few questions I have:

I don't see any times for transition opening/ closing on Saturday morning so not sure if there is anywhere you set up?
    I'd say parking in Laragh GAA pitch on the morning..Mass start from the pitch somehow as there is a drive way in I would imagine

We are starting of on our bikes and then going onto the run - is there a place where you rack your bike and can leave your helmet ETC?
    Bog standard scaffold tubing racks on a first come first served basis throw your bike on the rack with your gear away you go

Is the transition area supervised or can anyone just walk in and take a bike out. When doing a triathlon you can only access the transition with your race number and take the bike that matches your race number - is it the same situation for an adventure race (hope so)?
    I would imagine there is a steward but not sure about checking numbers in transitions

Last question (I promise) is it ok for someone else to pick up your race pack - I would presume so if they have all the right details but just want to be sure.
    Yeah as long as they have the text I am sure its ok

Hope this helps but email them im sure they will respond

Was mandatory kit checked last year? Stinger bringing hats, gloves and jacket on what looks to be one of the best days so far this year

MANDATORY KIT
    It is vital that all competitors bring the following mandatory kit list with them from the start.
    Basic First Aid Kit (Min: 1 x Dressing Pad (field dressing)), Bandage, Plasters.
    Map of the route (included in your race pack).
    Survival blanket and whistle.
    Appropriate food and drink. There will be limited water re-filling points on the course.
    Cycle helmet, bike repair kit, spare tube, pump.
    Hat, gloves and waterproof jacket.
    Suitable footwear.
    Backpack or bum bag.
    All kit will be checked before the race.

Mandatory kit was checked last year on the expert route. Not on the Sport.
    Controlled rolling start from the GAA grounds. Speedbumps on the driveway in so they give it a bit of a run out the road before leaving it off

PoorFarmer wrote: »
    Mandatory kit was checked last year on the expert route. Not on the Sport.
    Controlled rolling start from the GAA grounds. Speedbumps on the driveway in so they give it a bit of a run out the road before leaving it off

Cheers, doing expert. Going with backpack. How are you carrying?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,423 ✭✭✭fletch

Mandatory kit should easily fit in the pockets of a cycle jersey.

Mine is going in jersey pocket. Get somebody on the start line to safety pin the pocket closed.
    I usually get away with carrying a gilet instead of jacket

They checked my kit on the sport last year but it wasn't the most rigorous check.

I had no jacket , hat or gloves and they didn't ask to see it.

It's be a bit of a farce if it's 15 degrees and sunny and they're asking to see your hat and gloves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 101 ✭✭jfk247

I asked a friend who did the sport last year as well.  didn't bring hat and gloves either but told them they were in their jacket and didn't ask to see them...not sure will they be a bit stricter on the expert?

They checked mid race on Expert last year. The check at the start is a glance at best.
    Throw everything in the helmet and you'll be fine

fletch wrote: »
    Mandatory kit should easily fit in the pockets of a cycle jersey.

True, but wearing cycling shoes. Can leave backpack on the bike when running

You need your mandatory kit with you on the runs though....

Are there really only two water stations?

They seem to be on the last 6k run and at the finish line. Strange placement.

I'll have to dig out a second cage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Bassboxxx wrote: »
    Are there really only two water stations?

They seem to be on the last 6k run and at the finish line. Strange placement.

I'll have to dig out a second cage.

Only water at start and finish. Best of luck tomorrow folks. Weather looks great!

4:11:40... What a day.. Even the scarcity of bog roll and water couldn't ruin it.. Was aiming for under the four hours but that'll do.

Bassboxxx wrote: »
    4:11:40... What a day.. Even the scarcity of bog roll and water couldn't ruin it.. Was aiming for under the four hours but that'll do.

Super stuff........I was an hour behind you :(

Legs were having none of it after the second run. They got a serious talking to later that night

I found the cycles grand but the runs were torture, fair play to anyone who didn't walk up part of those hills, especially Croaghanmoira

The descent on the second cycle was hairy. Reckon I topped 70kph, my mate told me someone came off right in front of him at that spot

Great day alright but they could have given more than a coffee cup of stew and an apple at the finish line, was expecting more on the t-shirt front also. Scenery was unbelievable but even at that I'm not sure I'd cough up E94 to do it again

That back support on the kayak was a gift from the Gods and then getting off into the knee deep cold water was soooo refreshing. Felt great on the last 2k...

Legs were having none of it after the second run. They got a serious talking to later that night

I found the cycles grand but the runs were torture, fair play to anyone who didn't walk up part of those hills, especially Croaghanmoira

The descent on the second cycle was hairy. Reckon I topped 70kph, my mate told me someone came off right in front of him at that spot

Great day alright but they could have given more than a coffee cup of stew and an apple at the finish line, was expecting more on the t-shirt front also. Scenery was unbelievable but even at that I'm not sure I'd cough up E94 to do it again

That back support on the kayak was a gift from the Gods and then getting off into the knee deep cold water was soooo refreshing. Felt great on the last 2k...

I think the field was more competitive this year. I did the sport and improved my time by around 7 mins compared to last year but finished 5 places further back. Lots of people passed me on the cycle which was demoralising but I picked up a few places on the runs so I guess it evens out.

Incredible day for it. Thought the whole thing was so well run compared to Gaelforce Dublin. Even got a rub down after!

To be fair my first Quest event and after my experience on Gaelforce Dublin I was just expecting another expensive day out...
    How wrong was I! Maybe the great weather added to it but really enjoyed it and was kinda a party feel to the finish.
    Tough event, great scenery when I had the chance to take it in and to paddle on the upper lake was once in a lifetime job...(thanks Triona from Kerry)
    Comparing my time to the winner how do you make up an hour?? fair play all who completed regardless of time.

Anyone any ideas to find the photos of the event seen plenty of lads taking shots?
    Usually freelance lads trying to make few quid as i dont see any on the official website..im not on FB..

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,686 Mod ✭✭✭✭melekalikimaka

Anyone any ideas to find the photos of the event seen plenty of lads taking shots?
    Usually freelance lads trying to make few quid as i dont see any on the official website..im not on FB..

Ian Pelly, search on FB, it looks like hes slowly uploading alot.

I found him on the events FB page, lots of very low res,, not printable versions, hes selling prints.

Yeah the descents were scary...I was on the brakes nearly constantly, thought they were gonna go up in flames lol...I'm not surprised there were fallers, I lost a bottle on that decent and luckily there was nobody behind me.

If anyone ran up Croaghanmoira fair play to them..It was the only point I questioned was I gonna finish it...what a view from the top tho!!

I seen a load of pics on FB last-night..wasn't in any of them, I'll check again hopefully there's more.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 8,766 Mod ✭✭✭✭mossym

Mod Note: have removed talk about copyright infringement on photos, which having checked with the mods in the photography forum, is illegal. feel free to say what users on facebook have them, but no more talk about how to get around protection mechanisms the owner of the pic has placed on them, even if you are in them. contact the owner if you want to use them

any questions pm me or one of the other mods, don't reply in thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭AdpRo

To be fair my first Quest event and after my experience on Gaelforce Dublin I was just expecting another expensive day out...
    How wrong was I! Maybe the great weather added to it but really enjoyed it and was kinda a party feel to the finish.
    Tough event, great scenery when I had the chance to take it in and to paddle on the upper lake was once in a lifetime job...(thanks Triona from Kerry)
    Comparing my time to the winner how do you make up an hour?? fair play all who completed regardless of time.

It was my 4th quest race, 2 in Killarney and 2 in Glendalough, the organisation of the events is superb and way ahead other similar events, they are expensive but in my opinion they are worth it, especially when they organised weather like Saturday!!

Does anyone know if those first 2 runs are always open to the public?

Yes...I recce'd them last year with no issues.

Coilte trails as far as i know so youll be grand...
    Presuming you are driving over and not to frighten you empty your glovebox/compartments and leave them open and bring whatever other valuables you have with you. Some amount of car break in's around the Wicklow area as people know you are away from the car for a while in remote areas. Terrible to have to say but just let you know.
    I intend going over again soon to take in the views...

Coilte trails as far as i know so youll be grand...
    Presuming you are driving over and not to frighten you empty your glovebox/compartments and leave them open and bring whatever other valuables you have with you. Some amount of car break in's around the Wicklow area as people know you are away from the car for a while in remote areas. Terrible to have to say but just let you know.
    I intend going over again soon to take in the views...

Ah that's crap to hear. I always throw everything in the boot but never thought of opening the glove box. Hopefully they just take my car...:D

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 254 ✭✭Excuseless

The section of the first run after you leave the fire road and go uphill between fence and ESP poles is on private farmland and we get permission for the event to use this, make a gap in fence to access, etc.

The farmer is an agreeable sort but naturally does not want fences damaged so that stock might escape and is very insistent on No Dogs on his land so please keep that in mind if enjoying this run.

Run 2 is generally fine as long as folk do not stray from paths and down into Ballinacor estate which is private.
    Normal walker access to Croghanmoire mountain is from the Slieve Mann / Drumgoff Gap highpoint on the road between Glenmalure and Aughavannagh.