Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Access & Maintenance

• 21-02-2017 11:36am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 312 ✭✭

Hi, I'm not sure if this is suited to here or parenting. Mods please move if necessary.

Myself and my ex have a court order for maintenance and supervised access. It says that we can rearrange times within 48 hours if the already agreed time doesn't suit. For the last six months, he has been either showing up an hour late and only staying for 30 minutes or not showing up at all. He hasn't turned up in about 6 weeks now. A few times he has asked to rearrange and I have obliged, and organised a different time but then he doesn't show up, doesn't let me know that he won't be showing up. My question is if he texts to say he won't be coming, should I be the one rearranging, or leaving it up to him? Obviously at this point, I'm very reluctant to rearrange with him but don't want to be seen that I'm stopping my child from seeing him.

Also, a question on maintenance. I brought him to court last year as he owed a grand in maintenance. I used the last known address and it was delivered properly. He didn't turn up to the court date. There is a bench warrant out now for him. My solicitor is saying I can inform the guards that I know his whereabouts on the day of access but I'm not sure if I want to as I don't want the Gardai turning up at my door to arrest him. My ex will also be furious and there is a certain part of me that fears him. So my question is, would I get in trouble for not informing the guards about him, that I know where he'll be on a Saturday morning?

Thanks in advance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,554 ✭✭✭Pat Mustard

Legal advice cannot be sought here, per forum charter.

Your solicitor is the most appropriate person to offer legal advice to you.

You should ask these questions of your solicitor.