Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Umbilical slurry spreading

• 10-02-2017 11:30PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭

What does this cost roughly? Per hour i presume including rolling out and rolling up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

What does this cost roughly? Per hour i presume including rolling out and rolling up?

One twenty per hour I think is mentioned on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 48 diesel druggie

130 including vat rolling out and in not charged for

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

€120/hr
    Clock stops for blockage unless it's bale mesh
    8-9 acres per hour 24-26k gallons per hour
    You'll lose output if rolling and unrolling.
    Slurry needs to be very well agitated, our guy uses a dribble bar so water may need to be added to slatted tanks. We pump all slats to lagoon and spread from there.
    He's got 1200m of pipe which will cover most farms in Ireland.
    Id highly recommend it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭tractorporn

He's got 1200m of pipe which will cover most farms in Ireland.

Really depends on what part of the country your in. Pipe is a great job if all your land is around the shed but he would need 7k of pipe if he was to come here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,609 ✭✭✭Mooooo

I think they are a great job, our fella crosses two minor roads here, one of which would have feck all traffic alright. In and out in a day or two without constantly back and forth with tankers. If lads have ground together in anyway soft ground can't beat it really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,313 ✭✭✭TITANIUM.

Ya it's definitely the way to go if you have enough ground near the shed(within 1km).
    You could spread any day of the year really. Our guy uses double wheels aswell so there is minimal damage and he can spread high fields that wouldn't have seen a drop of slurry in there lives.
    Expect to spend abit extra on agitating and you might have to water it down aswell. I use pig slurry to water it down here.
    Once they get rolling you'll be amazed how quickly they can empty a tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,501 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Have them coming here on Monday. They have a good area around the yard to spread on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

Really depends on what part of the country your in. Pipe is a great job if all your land is around the shed but he would need 7k of pipe if he was to come here.

Would you haul slurry 7k?

They've come here different times and covered from 25 acres up to 110 acres, I wouldn't say you'd have to have a big acreage either, particularly if getting a contractor anyway, fair enough if you have the tanker and time to do the smaller acreage yourself. Only issue can be getting them as the same as anything they are all wanted the same time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭coolshannagh28

Interestingly I have used a piping contractor for a few years but found the cost creeping up ,more time mixing , more blockages and general whinging etc so I got a lad in last year with a 1600 gl lgp tanker he mixed in 15 mins and put out 40000 gallons on poor steepish ground in 6 hours never left a mark ,never cried halt and charged €210 .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭cute geoge

Interestingly I have used a piping contractor for a few years but found the cost creeping up ,more time mixing , more blockages and general whinging etc so I got a lad in last year with a 1600 gl lgp tanker he mixed in 15 mins and put out 40000 gallons on poor steepish ground in 6 hours never left a mark ,never cried halt and charged €210 .

So you are saying you can get a contractor with tank to get out 4 loads per hour and charge €35 per hour .I would say something does not add up there 3 loads per hour would be mighty tipping around yard at that

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭tractorporn

Would you haul slurry 7k?

Yep that's where the silage ground is and it's also the driest land we have so can get out there before the ground at home. It's an hour round trip per load with a 1600gal tanker. That's the nature of a fragmented farm we have land in 4 different places the furthest away is 13 km we don't bring slurry there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭visatorro

100/hr including reeling up etc. If I was more organised I'd get all done in a day or so but it takes me a few visits to organise water into tanks etc. Very happy with service. Dribble bar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 858 ✭✭✭tismesoitis

I presume the dribble bar lets the slurry down to the base of the grass so contamination is minimised. How soon after could you let stock out to graze?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Dribble bar used here the last few times land around the yard in and out no messing.Only in the field and out no damage done going in and out a gate 6 or 7 times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,703 ✭✭✭visatorro

I presume the dribble bar lets the slurry down to the base of the grass so contamination is minimised. How soon after could you let stock out to graze?

Yeah, I'd say a fortnight would be no bother. I'll try post pic's tomorrow of stuff done on Monday. Last time I tried pic's it wouldnt let me post.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 808 ✭✭✭degetme

Lads could someone that is used to umbilical slurry spreading tell me is the farm layout in attached picture suitable for the above job. All the yellow lines are the boundaries of land eligible for spreading. I could take down wires over the winter for the pipe system. Just looking for advice as to what way a contractor should set up and what should I have set up. Paddock sizes are 1.5ac to 5.5ac. Average 2.5ac

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 182 ✭✭Freejin

degetme wrote: »
    Lads could someone that is used to umbilical slurry spreading tell me is the farm layout in attached picture suitable for the above job. All the yellow lines are the boundaries of land eligible for spreading. I could take down wires over the winter for the pipe system. Just looking for advice as to what way a contractor should set up and what should I have set up. Paddock sizes are 1.5ac to 5.5ac. Average 2.5ac

Got a fella in last spring and had concerns similar to yourself. Field sizes similar to yourself, ditches around most of them. He took the most direct route to the furthest paddock and worked back, no issues. Obviously slower than if you had a big open 40 acre field, but he pumped 80000gallons in about 4.5hours on 40 acres.

On dropping wires, don't bother. In a couple of places where we had wires rather than ditches, they dropped one post, drive over the wire and put it back up after

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,367 ✭✭✭tanko

Freejin wrote: »
    Got a fella in last spring and had concerns similar to yourself. Field sizes similar to yourself, ditches around most of them. He took the most direct route to the furthest paddock and worked back, no issues. Obviously slower than if you had a big open 40 acre field, but he pumped 80000gallons in about 4.5hours on 40 acres.

On dropping wires, don't bother. In a couple of places where we had wires rather than ditches, they dropped one post, drive over the wire and put it back up after

Can you say what this cost you?

tanko wrote: »
    Can you say what this cost you?

Off the top of my head about €620 i think

The last time i got slurry pumped out a few years ago it was €150/hour for the time he was pumping.

Any other tips. Never had this system done. Always with tankers. Just don't want them to be bolloxing rolling in and out pipes if I could speed things up

The main thing is to have the slurry very well mixed and the thinner the better for spreading.
    Having it too thick is a disaster.

The main thing is to have the slurry very well mixed and the thinner the better for spreading.
    Having it too thick is a disaster.

Ya I'd second that, and have a route planned to the furthest field

So the go to the furthest point with the umbilical spreading and work backwards. What about posts and wire??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 567 ✭✭✭1373

So the go to the furthest point with the umbilical spreading and work backwards. What about posts and wire??

On our place ,the driver came out the week before and looked at the setup and told me how they would do it . €120/ hr from arrival to departure. You’re place looks a godsend for this. First time is usually the slowest,after that every one gets better at knowing your place. We have pumped 2km . Just add enough water as thicker liquid is slower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,242 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The cord is best suited tp overground tanks and lagoons where the slurry is well dilluted .For tanks under slats you would wants the tanks about 2/3 full and top up with water and then mix for the cord otherwise the slurry will be too tihick

1373 wrote: »
    On our place ,the driver came out the week before and looked at the setup and told me how they would do it . €120/ hr from arrival to departure. You’re place looks a godsend for this. First time is usually the slowest,after that every one gets better at knowing your place. We have pumped 2km . Just add enough water as thicker liquid is slower

Ya watery slurry is not a problem. How do you make out my place is a godsend? The open tank is at the top of the farm and the land is falling away from the open tank

Your land is in one block beside the yard with no roads to cross, easier to pump slurry downhill also.
    The best thing you can do is talk to the contractor who will be doing the job, he’ll tell you which posts will be in the way of the pipe as he pulls it around the fields.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,327 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Do many lads have their own umbilical systems or would it be almost all contractors?

I was talking to a fella who told me that you could get a "basic" setup for yourself with umbilical and a dribble bar plus about 1k of pipe for around 35k +Vat. I had thought they'd be a fair bit more than that. He said that average would probably be about 45k. I don't know how accurate he would be though.

New tanker with dribble bar would be coming in around 30k+Vat I think (depending on brand and features .... I think you could get down to around 25k for some makes for 1800-2000 gallon one .... but that's probably getting heavy for traveling across fields in soft weather ....even with good tyres.)

We have a 3-section tower here that's about 60' in diameter. It would be being emptied in dribs and drabs over the Spring and Summer depending on weather and other work and having ground ready for it.

Is the umbilical system really only for getting a lad in for a day to get it all out and done the one day? Or would it be feasible for say spreading behind cows in the Spring? Say doing 15 acres once a week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,241 ✭✭✭alps

Do many lads have their own umbilical systems or would it be almost all contractors?

I was talking to a fella who told me that you could get a "basic" setup for yourself with umbilical and a dribble bar plus about 1k of pipe for around 35k +Vat. I had thought they'd be a fair bit more than that. He said that average would probably be about 45k. I don't know how accurate he would be though.

New tanker with dribble bar would be coming in around 30k+Vat I think (depending on brand and features .... I think you could get down to around 25k for some makes for 1800-2000 gallon one .... but that's probably getting heavy for traveling across fields in soft weather ....even with good tyres.)

We have a 3-section tower here that's about 60' in diameter. It would be being emptied in dribs and drabs over the Spring and Summer depending on weather and other work and having ground ready for it.

Is the umbilical system really only for getting a lad in for a day to get it all out and done the one day? Or would it be feasible for say spreading behind cows in the Spring? Say doing 15 acres once a week.
    not out of the question for a farmer himself.

2 main items required..pump and dribble bar...some sort of semi permanent pipe layout found be easily achieved..

Grant aided..

alps wrote: »
    not out of the question for a farmer himself.

2 main items required..pump and dribble bar...some sort of semi permanent pipe layout found be easily achieved..

Grant aided..

That is what I was wondering. Because you don't hear of many fellas having them. Plenty of lads with their own tankers.

Why would you want a semi permanent pipe layout? Would it not be better off the reel it up when finished? I'd imagine it would deteriorate lying out and still with slurry in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,230 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

That is what I was wondering. Because you don't hear of many fellas having them. Plenty of lads with their own tankers.

Why would you want a semi permanent pipe layout? Would it not be better off the reel it up when finished? I'd imagine it would deteriorate lying out and still with slutty in it

I'll let Alps finish his own answer but there's guys burying pipes with outlets every so often along lanes.
    Grasstec have clips filmed recently of a farmer with umbilical pipes going underneath a road. It doesn't show it they just mentioned it about the farm.
    Some farmers have them down and buried must be twenty years now.

I'll let Alps finish his own answer but there's guys burying pipes with outlets every so often along lanes.
    Grasstec have clips filmed recently of a farmer with umbilical pipes going underneath a road. It doesn't show it they just mentioned it about the farm.
    Some farmers have them down and buried must be twenty years now.

I'd understand across the road. You'd need to get a fella in to run a "bullet" across and leave a pipe in it I'd say.

What would the buried ones be made of? Steel? Or some kind of heavy duty plastic?

Would be a right pain in the hole if a buried one blocked!

I'd understand across the road. You'd need to get a fella in to run a "bullet" across and leave a pipe in it I'd say.

What would the buried ones be made of? Steel? Or some kind of heavy duty plastic?

Would be a right pain in the hole if a buried one blocked!
    Heavy duty plastic I believe.

It would take two people/ tractors to do an umbilical and the fella pulling the pipe / dribble bar would need to know the knacks involved so to speak to avoid kinking or knotting the pipe. Easier to get a lad in to drive a tanker if things are busy. An option no doubt but in terms of hours if you include two people at the umbilical it maybe as easy to have the tanker for following cows etc or different paddocks and get the contractor with the pipe for largers areas.

I think they're able to work them just with the one tractor on the spreader and an engine in the yard working the pump operated by remote control by the one operator on the tractor.

What happens here at the minute is that by the time we'd be happy enough to go out on a lot of the ground with the tanker in the Spring, there is already a few inches of grass. Being able to get out a couple of weeks earlier might be a big help. Dribble bar would probably be a help in that regard anyway. Splash plate going to be gone soon I think with the nitrates.

Two tractors/people wouldn't be an insurmountable issue here either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,844 ✭✭✭49801

The buried pipe is installed to a couple strategic locations so you connect the flay flat pipe in those locations. Speeds up the laying of pipe and makes it handier job of it.

Pipes are blown clean with a compressor and a sponge ball. Concrete pumping trucks use similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 721 ✭✭✭fastrac

Super job to get a lot out before spring work starts.No roadway/field damage.As long as its watery and clean the output is fantastic.

Is there a closed period during the winter where farmers aren't allowed to spread "dairy washings"???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,583 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

Is there a closed period during the winter where farmers aren't allowed to spread "dairy washings"???

No dont think so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,367 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

49801 wrote: »
    The buried pipe is installed to a couple strategic locations so you connect the flay flat pipe in those locations. Speeds up the laying of pipe and makes it handier job of it.

Pipes are blown clean with a compressor and a sponge ball. Concrete pumping trucks use similar.
    Yes and its water mains pipe thats used, would be very beneficial on big farms over couple hundred acres where it takes alot of time and lay flat to get to the far corners