Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Amazing Halford 3/4" Socket set Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,569 ✭✭✭Special Circumstances

Alfie for taoiseach!

• Registered Users Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Alfie1

Thanks for the nomination :D

The post that started it all http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=102458330&postcount=648

• Registered Users Posts: 6,261 ✭✭✭emo72

i got one. dont know if ill ever use it. i keep the bars under a bed as a self defense thingy.

• Registered Users Posts: 600 ✭✭✭Cocoon

Got one too, went out today to do an oil change on the prius and unfortunately the sockets wont fit :confused: Might have to buy a Massey Ferguson.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,023 ✭✭✭Satriale

Cocoon wrote: »
    Got one too, went out today to do an oil change on the prius and unfortunately the sockets wont fit :confused: Might have to buy a Massey Ferguson.

14mm on the Prius sump I believe, might be possible to get an inner reducer sleeve for the 19mm socket. 4 foot pipe in the 3/4 cracker bar and Bobs your uncle! This set is obviously indispensable!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,661 ✭✭✭Zimmerframe

Satriale wrote: »
    Lads and Lassies. Is this the deal of the year and we only a few wet weeks into the new one?

Yes, done and dusted, will be a hell of a BA to take top spot from this one.
    Did you get one?

Yes
    Are you happy?
    Ecstatic
    Will life ever be the same again?
    I have actually totally forgotten my life , prior to getting these sockets, but I presume it was more an existence rather than actually living the dream.
    I have little doubt, that in our twilight years, we will look back to the day, when Alfie1 changed our lives for ever.
    Is Alfie1 our favourite new Boardsie?
    Yes, of course.
    What will you do with yours?

Loads of uses, when you live on a farm.

Anyone who doesn't live on a farm, who finds themselves with one of these sockets sets, should seriously consider buying a farm and at least two tractors.

I previously chickened out of making some alleged handling improvements as my rear subframe is a few mm forward of where it should be.... and the fear of wringing bolts that have happily sat under the car for how many years in Irish weather.

I'm reconsidering it with this beast. I'm not sure that's a good thing!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,947 ✭✭✭cletus

Go for it. In fact, I'd recommend stripping the entire body from the chassis and doing a full rebuild. Is there any 50mm nuts or bolts on it at all?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,560 ✭✭✭porsche boy

Am I missing something....
    That set is €300 & doesn't have a wratchet.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,835 ✭✭✭s8n

I can feel my nuts tighten at this deal !!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,310 ✭✭✭positron

I find this socket set great way to unwind after a stressful day working on laptop. Hefty and proper man sized bars and sockets, pick them up, fix some imaginary bolts - it just so therapeutic. I am considering installing some bolts thru the wall of the shed to take the experience to next level.

Alfie1 for President!

• Registered Users Posts: 7 Sarsfields22

As porsche boy pointed out, there is no rachet in this set but look closely at the box and you will notice that the moulding where the sliding T-bar sits is exactly the fit and shape for a rachet. My neighbour has a 3/4 set with a ratchet and guess what?.......the rachet from his set fitted exactly into the Halfords moulding. So it must be either a manufacturing cock up or a bargain basement spec. €30 is still great value though, even without a rachet.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,893 ✭✭✭rex-x

Am I missing something....
    That set is €300 & doesn't have a wratchet.

It was 30 quid, which is an insane bargain

• Registered Users Posts: 6,211 ✭✭✭marklazarcovic

I'm using the larger sockets for shaping scones in the kitchen and indestructible flower pots

I use them to scoop up the tears of people who missed out and feel they must be negative about the €30 3/4 socket set.

I use these fantastically tangy bitter tears to make a big bath of sauerkraut.

I lower myself into the bath with the socket set just out of my reach and try to empathise with these people.

• Registered Users Posts: 734 ✭✭✭sealgaire

Satriale wrote: »
    Lads and Lassies. Is this the deal of the year and we only a few wet weeks into the new one?

http://www.halfords.ie/workshop-tools/tools/socket-sets/halfords-advanced-professional-21-piece-socket-set-3-4

Did you get one? Are you happy? Will life ever be the same again? Is Alfie1 our favourite new Boardsie?

What will you do with yours? Post your pictures, tell us your socket anecdotes.

Roll up, roll up!

Argh, missed this! Anybody selling? 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 2,701 ✭✭✭Cheensbo

I use a 3/4 to 1/2 adaptor so now I have a grand beaker bar for the main socket set & a few associated paper weights.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,836 ✭✭✭✭cormie

If I stumbled across this on the Halfords website and saw it for €30, I wouldn't have been aware it was a bargain at all. What's the difference between this and what they have in Lidl and Aldi every few weeks for €20 odd? Just the size of the sockets?

cormie wrote: »
    If I stumbled across this on the Halfords website and saw it for €30, I wouldn't have been aware it was a bargain at all. What's the difference between this and what they have in Lidl and Aldi every few weeks for €20 odd? Just the size of the sockets?

About 15.5kg of lifetime guaranteed metal.

cormie wrote: »

You couldnt take down a suspension bridge with a Lidl set...

• Registered Users Posts: 3,605 ✭✭✭Kat1170

I use them to scoop up the tears of people who missed out and feel they must be negative about the €30 3/4 socket set.

I use these fantastically tangy bitter tears to make a big bath of sauerkraut.

I lower myself into the bath with the socket set just out of my reach and try to empathise with these people.

Have to agree. A new just thread to save the feelings of the few. BA is becoming more PC than a Californian College Campus.

3658036.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 2,595 ✭✭✭emeldc

rex-x wrote: »
    It was 30 quid, which is an insane bargain

The link in the OP says €300 :confused:
    Was it a typo?

Not a typo, but that's only the Delboy price to lure you in to the real 150 sale sticker

• Registered Users Posts: 2,538 ✭✭✭sunny2004

Got to say that I have ZERO use for any socket set, I have never used one in my life, but after reading the original thread and this one I can't help but think I have missed out. Haha.

Glad for the boardies who got the deal.. For those that didn't. Better luck next time.

• Registered Users Posts: 699 ✭✭✭landmarkjohn

I think it only fair that the first person to round off a big nut with these 12 point sockets posts..... a sort of therapy for those that missed it.

I for one am kind of hoping that I am finished taking off hub nuts to replace CV boot...... that said there is a lot of satisfaction in a well fitted boot, all greased and secured and watertight protecting an outrageously expensive Japanese OEM joint!

Well wear to all that got them, sure to bring a smile to your face whenever you use them! :D:D

I think it only fair that the first person to round off a big nut with these 12 point sockets posts..... a sort of therapy for those that missed it.

I for one am kind of hoping that I am finished taking off hub nuts to replace CV boot...... that said there is a lot of satisfaction in a well fitted boot, all greased and secured and watertight protecting an outrageously expensive Japanese OEM joint!

Well wear to all that got them, sure to bring a smile to your face whenever you use them! :D:D

If you ever give up the day job, you've a career writing soft porn anyway... :D

Im not sur why everybody is complaining about them being too big, or not having a user for them. I'm finding uses all over the house, little day to day jobs

Son's getting a little taller, used it to adjust the saddle on his bike
    408816.jpg

Broken screen on your mobile device? The precision screwdriver adaptor attachment is perfect for those small delicate jobs
    408815.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 28,403 ✭✭✭✭vicwatson

Jesus those pictures are as big as the sockets themselves :D

I could have resized them, but then you wouldn't have experienced it in all its 3/4" glory

• Registered Users Posts: 590 ✭✭✭Monkeynut

cletus wrote: »
    Im not sur why everybody is complaining about them being too big, or not having a user for them. I'm finding uses all over the house, little day to day jobs

Son's getting a little taller, used it to adjust the saddle on his bike
    408816.jpg

Broken screen on your mobile device? The precision screwdriver adaptor attachment is perfect for those small delicate jobs
    408815.jpg

Where is the Yorkie Bar?