Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another fecking tractor thread

• 08-02-2017 11:14AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭

I have a 2006 McCormick cx 105 with loader. Nothing fancy but the auld man (non farmer) won't drive it. because of the loader but mostly cant get his head around the declutch button.

So we are thinking of maybe buying a handy tractor for him, for drawing a bit of turf , square baler and maybe a wrapper or single roto rake

I have been searching donedeal for the last 2 months but the description put up by most sellers are at best lacking a lot of detail.

Criteria
    5-8k (can be in NI as have an irish vat number)
    2wd or 4wd tractor
    40k box - 95% of adds done specify the 30 / 40k box
    Ideally trailer brake connector or ability to fit it
    a little comfort (ie no mf 165 type yokes)

Im open to been told what brands and models carry 40k boxes

My searches have been through case xl like 895 , JD 2650/2850 and some of the 2040 etc, and some of the 3910 and 4610 fords but they might be a little small. Also seen a zetor 8111 with a 40k box but she was a bit tired looking. Im not a brand snob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,981 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

,you really will struggle to get a tractor with a 40k box for that money. You are looking at a pre 1990 tractor It is unlikely you will get Vat back on a southern tractor in that price bracket.In NI most farmers have tax numbers so there is a chance there. You only hope is to buy a high hours contractor tractor that might need a bit of an overhaul but they can bust the budget as well. A 40 k box rules you out of the 2wd market in that era. Ford 10 series had 30 k boxes but you have the porus engine issue However on the other hand gears are in a good position and you have a good cab. A 2wd one of them would be in budget.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

If he saves it and loads it sure won't you drive it home

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,735 ✭✭✭lakill Farm

Muckit wrote: »

I do but its a 28 mile round trip for me , where as he is 3 mile from the bog. And he works weird hours

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭mengele

surely a fiat is the answer here. Your problem will be to find out in your budget which hasn't rusted away.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,485 ✭✭✭Keepgrowing

mengele wrote: »
    surely a fiat is the answer here. Your problem will be to find out in your budget which hasn't rusted away.

Bought a Fiatagri 2wd 40k box Not sure of model number 62 hp. Bomber of a tractor, all tedding and use for light work during summer, scraper tractor during winter €9000 ex BnM perfect condition

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

If you drop the requirement for a 40k box that budget would get you something.
    Is it really going to be on the road that much ??

Bought a Fiatagri 2wd 40k box Not sure of model number 62 hp. Bomber of a tractor, all tedding and use for light work during summer, scraper tractor during winter €9000 ex BnM perfect condition

You can see model here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭selectamatic

There's quite a few 2wd tractors from the late 70's on that don't have a "40k" box but they will do as good as 40kph if ya know what I mean so it's worth researching.

David Brown 1410 is one that springs to mind but they're rare.

Also the line of zetors you mentioned. The ursus equivalent would be one to consider too.
    (Zetor crystal style)

Muckit wrote: »

I do but its a 28 mile round trip for me , where as he is 3 mile from the bog. And he works weird hours

If it a 3 mile journey I would not bother with a 40k box. The little deutz 6206 that will gather put up on another thread.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/deutz-6206/14091923

It would be a grand little tractor for what your father-in-law unless he has a load of road work. What I would do is put an air seat in any tractor like this as the seats in them are very bad for your back

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/tractor-machine-air-seat/14517694

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,829 ✭✭✭White Clover

Does she have 750rpm pto KeepGrowing?

Yes and ground driven pto.

Very good. Kinda looking for a handy tractor too for light jobs. 540e or 750 pto is one of the main criteria for jobs like tedding, fertilizer etc.

Op, there's a German built case ih 956xl 2wd on done deal in mayo. A proper tractor and in a different league to the Doncaster built ones.

_Brian wrote: »
    If you drop the requirement for a 40k box that budget would get you something.
    Is it really going to be on the road that much ??

No way would I drop the 40k requirement. 40k essential. 2wd /4wd optional.
    If it was 30k it would be parked in the shed never taken out and left in current position

No it's for my dad and me. Dad isn't a farmer but grew up on one.

It's 3 mile from him to the bog. That's not the issue. It's the other 360 odd days a year where either him or me could be using it. He is 14 miles away from me. Now if we bought a 30k I'd never drive it 14miles. A zetor 6911 took 1hour 15mins to do each way. My McCormick does a full round trip in 1 hour 20mins.

If it a 3 mile journey I would not bother with a 40k box. The little deutz 6206 that will gather put up on another thread.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/deutz-6206/14091923

It would be a grand little tractor for what your father-in-law unless he has a load of road work. What I would do is put an air seat in any tractor like this as the seats in them are very bad for your back

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/tractor-machine-air-seat/14517694

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,842 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

No way would I drop the 40k requirement. 40k essential. 2wd /4wd optional.
    If it was 30k it would be parked in the shed never taken out and left in current position

Ohh, I got impression the 3k trip to big was it's only road work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 889 ✭✭✭mengele

could you not keep one tractor in one place and the other tractor in the other place? No road work at all then?

_Brian wrote: »
    Ohh, I got impression the 3k trip to big was it's only road work.

Ah no. I'm 11 mile to bog. He is 3 mile the far side of it. Hence the 14 miles.

No I'd be looking at running it with a square baler during the summer or tedder and fert spreader or roller. She would be earning her keep all be it easy enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

I remember seeing that tractor on donedeal!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 728 ✭✭✭MF290

MF290 wrote: »

I think darragh_haven has one?

I wonder are the 3070 2wd 40k

I know the datashift or electro shift in the larger versions gave issues.

I remember seeing that tractor on donedeal!

She's a real peach. I was looking for a Massey 390 but they were silly money and in bad shape or mega money for good shape, thought this was bette value but would flip for a handy Massey in a heart beat

could you not keep one tractor in one place and the other tractor in the other place? No road work at all then?

No land at parents at all. So would be a complete waste. Any land I have is what I bought or lease.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I think darragh_haven has one?

Have a(1990) 3090 here and a (1994) 3065. They are good order, but the 5 (newer model) like the 3085 in the add are that bit better. Just a forward/reverse gearstick rather that the A-B forward/Reverse in the older model witch caused some problems. Neither has a 40k box tho

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,297 ✭✭✭✭Nekarsulm

You would be lucky to get 30kph out of a 90 series Fiat.(although some had a different ratio crown and pinion).
    And to get there you would be at 2400 rpm, and drinking diesel.

Have a look for a "Winner" series Fiat, a lot more civilised.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-f100-40-kph/12945934

I have a 2006 McCormick cx 105 with loader. Nothing fancy but the auld man (non farmer) won't drive it. because of the loader but mostly cant get his head around the declutch button.

So we are thinking of maybe buying a handy tractor for him, for drawing a bit of turf , square baler and maybe a wrapper or single roto rake

I have been searching donedeal for the last 2 months but the description put up by most sellers are at best lacking a lot of detail.

Criteria
    5-8k (can be in NI as have an irish vat number)
    2wd or 4wd tractor
    40k box - 95% of adds done specify the 30 / 40k box
    Ideally trailer brake connector or ability to fit it
    a little comfort (ie no mf 165 type yokes)

Im open to been told what brands and models carry 40k boxes

My searches have been through case xl like 895 , JD 2650/2850 and some of the 2040 etc, and some of the 3910 and 4610 fords but they might be a little small. Also seen a zetor 8111 with a 40k box but she was a bit tired looking. Im not a brand snob

The Zetor I think has a 25k box it goes only 15m pH. The 10 series ford tractors had 20mph hour boxes that go about 33kph. The case below should have a similar box but beware in NI prices are before vat is addec

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/case-4230-pro-4wd/14263445

Slava Ukrainii

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    You would be lucky to get 30kph out of a 90 series Fiat.(although some had a different ratio crown and pinion).
    And to get there you would be at 2400 rpm, and drinking diesel.

Have a look for a "Winner" series Fiat, a lot more civilised.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/fiat-f100-40-kph/12945934

The neighbours definitely have an 80-90 that does 40k, it's a 4wd though and you can hear it coming a mile away.... that's a good thing though if it's a fiat!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Didn't the marshalls and leyland do around 40k?

The neighbours definitely have an 80-90 that does 40k, it's a 4wd though and you can hear it coming a mile away.... that's a good thing though if it's a fiat!

I give my 90-90 to the cousin , can't remember why, but five minutes later he rang me from somewhere down the road.
    "How do get this thing out of four wheel drive?" he asked, "she's whining something awful".
    "Its not in four wheel drive" says I, "you may get used to it" :D

IH784man wrote: »
    Didn't the marshalls and leyland do around 40k?

The Leyland's had a highway version, 272H, dunno if there was a Marshall version, the last of the boxy shape Marshalls were gone to ZF gearboxes and transaxles, as fitted to Deutz, etc.
    A Leyland at 40k with a load of turf behind would test those 1950 era dry brakes.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,106 ✭✭✭selectamatic

Local contractor has a battered 2wd 80-90 on a wrapper since I was a young fella that was clocked at 55kph on flat road on a sat nav. It has big rear wheels and the more desirable ratios think it's also had max rpm raised a bit.

It's some sight seeing it on the road roaring while keeping with a modern 150hp 50k valtra.

Nekarsulm wrote: »
    I give my 90-90 to the cousin , can't remember why, but five minutes later he rang me from somewhere down the road.
    "How do get this thing out of four wheel drive?" he asked, "she's whining something awful".
    "Its not in four wheel drive" says I, "you may get used to it" :D

he has no appreciation at all tut tut :rolleyes:

I don't think he'd double tap the throttle when changing gear now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 connormi

Most of the 4wd renault tractos with mwm engine from late eightys like 85 14 and the renault 90 34 are 40k mite be a option

connormi wrote: »
    Most of the 4wd renault tractos with mwm engine from late eightys like 85 14 and the renault 90 34 are 40k mite be a option

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/renault-65/14381343

Something like this a bit over priced and not sure what year she is as I suspect she was not registered for a few years. W

Slava Ukrainii

I "think" these were 40k.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/same-tractors/13514219

This one definitely is, and its not far from your general area (I think) . That's a grandson of Buddy's selling it.

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/same-explorer-90/14111918

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/deutz-6-61-agrostar/14857267?campaign=3

Checking tractor data it says this is 143hp and seems in good condition maybe needs tires,seems cheap?

https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/deutz-6-61-agrostar/14857267?campaign=3

Checking tractor data it says this is 143hp and seems in good condition maybe needs tires,seems cheap?

Tyres are low enough on it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,598 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

They are a fine tractor to drive, friend has a 6.38 slopey bonnet and I often gave him a hand wrapping bales with it, heaps of power in the old air cooled engine aswell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,566 ✭✭✭mayota

They are a fine tractor to drive, friend has a 6.38 slopey bonnet and I often gave him a hand wrapping bales with it, heaps of power in the old air cooled engine aswell.

Ya they are a pokey yoke, drove a couple of 6.31s for a contractor yonks ago. Very underrated imo.