Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Youth/Mobile phones

• 06-02-2017 2:30pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭

I was out for a few jars last night and got talking to 2 girls i'd know from meeting about town on nights out, 2 gorgeous girls and single, i got chatting and it came up in conversation why we were all single and i was saying i had no interest in relationships but to my surprise they explained how they were mad for a relationship but noone was interested, now these are 2 stunning looking girls that are fun to chat to and intelligent and about 21 years of age so i couldn't fathom how any young lad looking for a relationship wouldn't jump at the chance.

I headed on to another spot then to meet a few friends in another pub and said goodbye to the girls, later that evening we made our way down the town to another spot and there's the 2 girls again, they were sitting in the middle of the pub it booming and them both glued to their phones, they were that focussed on their phone they didn't know what was going on around them whatsovere andcouldn't even hear me saying hello to them, it was then i realised why they might not be the most fun people to be in a relationship with.
    Without meaning to sound like a real old man here what is with the youth being so in love with their phones? If they're out with friends they'll be messaging friends that aren't there and vice versa, i don't get it at all?:confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Young people are their phones these days OP. Get with the program old man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,196 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

... and proves the point, there's more to someone being attractive than looks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,797 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

[Old Man]When i was growing up we didnt even have a phone in the house[/Old Man]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,813 ✭✭✭Noveight

I used be with it, but then they changed what it was. Now what I'm with isn't it, and what's it seems weird and scary to me, and it'll happen to you too.

- Abraham Simpson

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

[Old Man]When i was growing up we didnt even have a phone in the house[/Old Man]

Nor did we! If we needed to call, it was walk half a mile to the nearest phone box. ( Yes I know you are joking but that was our reality) We thought nothing of it. Was the way it was.

It isn't just the young ones. In summer, most folk seem to walk around with a phone in one hand, a bottle of water in the other.. In winter, a phone and a takeaway coffee.. I get asked for my mobile number all the time. Don't have one.

Graces7 wrote: »
    Nor did we! If we needed to call, it was walk half a mile to the nearest phone box. ( Yes I know you are joking but that was our reality) We thought nothing of it. Was the way it was.

No, I wasnt joking. I had to do the same as you and walk to the nearest phone box.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,509 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

They might have being searching tinder!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

We didn't even have a phone box, the only phone in the village was in the pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

As someone who grew up without a phone in the house and only knew of two homes that had them, I appreciate the value of mobile phones today but I too find the obsession among "young" people with their phones quite staggering. I know it's more accessing social media than using phones per se but it always strikes me as actually being anti social. There seems to be some deep need to be constantly connecting to others online at the expense of conversing with those physically present. I don't get it but I now just accept it. Times move on, I suppose.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭elefant

If they were that gorgeous people would be interested tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,037 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Graces7 wrote: »
    It isn't just the young ones. In summer, most folk seem to walk around with a phone in one hand, a bottle of water in the other.. In winter, a phone and a takeaway coffee. I get asked for my mobile number all the time. Don't have one.

Yeah when did that start??? I seen two girls at lunch time in their school uniform, they were about 15yrs old and both them carrying Costa cups. It looks wrong to me.

No, I wasnt joking. I had to do the same as you and walk to the nearest phone box.

sorry;I was not sure! Was grand though! I was trying to remember when the phone was in at home. Was way after I left.ie at least late 60s maybe later... I remember once racing down the road as there was a possibility of a job and I had to call.. and always then through the operator.. ( I got the job!)

I was not allowed in pubs.. and the phone boxes always stank of ****

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,789 ✭✭✭Alf Stewart.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

They might have being searching tinder!

No sign of them on it, i checked :pac: Probably had just swiped left when they seen me :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,722 ✭✭✭posturingpat

elefant wrote: »
    If they were that gorgeous people would be interested tbh.

In the ride yeah, in a relationship?Not so much

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Meanwhile they were updating their facebook with loads of pics and lols and crying laughing emojis.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

gramar wrote: »
    Meanwhile they were updating their facebook with loads of pics and lols and crying laughing emojis.

don't forget twitter :pac:

Did it have A and B buttons?

My boss has a theory that the amount of photos/selfies a person takes is in inverse proportion to their intelligence. The amount of gurning idiots posing for a selfie on any given night out makes me think he's on to something.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,045 ✭✭✭✭gramar

Slightly off topic but something I've seen a few times and most recently yesterday. A fella cycling along no hands on his racer and texting on his phone. Probably on tinder now I think of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Did it have A and B buttons?

Ours didn't have the buttons. You turned a handle to ring the operator and asked to be put through.

Our town had 2 phones when I was a child. Their numbers were 'Bally**** 1' and Bally**** 2 ' One was the Garda and the other the priest.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 7,944 Mod ✭✭✭✭Yakult

Not just young people...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Candie wrote: »
    My boss has a theory that the amount of photos/selfies a person takes is in inverse proportion to their intelligence. The amount of gurning idiots posing for a selfie on any given night out makes me think he's on to something.

When I was on FB I took selfies just to piss off so called friends who posted loads of selfies. It didn't work. That's how I came to the conclusion they were as thick as ****.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

The entire phone thing has become a joke. It started with the texting lark, but now it's just moronic crap due to the overall social media influence. The smoking area is doomed. Standing at a bus stop is doomed. In fact sitting in an empty bar is doomed. There's no actual real chat anymore, because pricks are stuck into their phones, even the fooking bar person in an empty bar. I can't even say its a generation thing, because all kinds of generations are at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,206 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I remember playing golf late last year in the Sunday competition with a couple of our juniors. Golf, yes I know, needless to say I'm an old man, but hear me out.
    So anyway the moment we're off they were glued non stop to their phones. Hardly any talk. And it wasn't like they just didn't want to talk to the old guy, there was no talk between them either. It was like hit the shot back to the phone and amble down the fairway. For the entire round. wtf?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Sounds like they were too busy telling everyone on facebook and instagram about how much craic they were having to actually have the craic.
    Candie wrote: »

i've taken selfies a few times. new hairdo or maybe to check my makeup out. something within me just can't bring myself to post it to social media. i just can't. It feels wrong and self-obsessed beyond normality and jaysus, who cares about my big mug anyway.

to take multiple selfies a day, photoshop them, filter them so they look nothing like you and post them to several social media profiles...is actually hilariously narcissist. Gas that it's even considered socially acceptable at all.

Grandeeod wrote: »
    The entire phone thing has become a joke. It started with the texting lark, but now it's just moronic crap due to the overall social media influence. The smoking area is doomed. Standing at a bus stop is doomed. In fact sitting in an empty bar is doomed. There's no actual real chat anymore, because pricks are stuck into their phones, even the fooking bar person in an empty bar. I can't even say its a generation thing, because all kinds of generations are at it.

Yep; you think middle aged ladies in tesco are talking to themselves until you realise .... phones.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Bambi985 wrote: »
    Sounds like they were too busy telling everyone on facebook and instagram about how much craic they were having to actually have the craic.

i've taken selfies a few times. new hairdo or maybe to check my makeup out. something within me just can't bring myself to post it to social media. i just can't. It feels wrong and self-obsessed beyond normality and jaysus, who cares about my big mug anyway.

to take multiple selfies a day, photoshop them, filter them so they look nothing like you and post them to several social media profiles...is actually hilariously narcissist. Gas that it's even considered socially acceptable at all.

I don't see any harm in it tbh....let people have their fun

It's a long ways better way to be than the other extreme where you hate yourself in pics and horrifically low self confidence that the taughts of someone wanting a selfie with you makes your blood run cold?

(Tbc I don't take them/post online.....other than an odd snapchat one between friends)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Bambi985

Bambi985 wrote: »

I don't see any harm in it tbh....let people have their fun

It's a long ways better way to be than the other extreme where you hate yourself in pics and horrifically low self confidence that the taughts of someone wanting a selfie with you makes your blood run cold?

(Tbc I don't take them/post online.....other than an odd snapchat one between friends)

I wouldn't assume people who post selfies have high self esteem, quite the opposite I'd say.

Plus how many fb or Instagram selfies do you see where the person looks nothing like that in real life and has put 20 filters or used Facetune or taking it from an angle that misrepresents their features? And that's how they're seeking self validation - posting distorted pics online and counting the likes. It's mental

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,000 ✭✭✭fizzypish

Grandeeod wrote: »
    When I was on FB I took selfies just to piss off so called friends who posted loads of selfies. It didn't work. That's how I came to the conclusion they were as thick as ****.

They may have been thick as **** but you still ended up taking selfies. Not sure why but selfies make me uncomfortable. Some mates taking a picture on a night out, fair enough (Just the one though). Someone taking a picture on their own in the sitting room or bath room I just cant fathom. I've seen many a pic where the guy or gal looks very well but it just come's across as posed and cringe to me. I hate having my picture taken (since I was 5) anyway. The Native Americans believed a photo took a bit of your soul and I believe them.... although they should have been more worried about the disease ridden blankets and small pox......