Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Don't wanna get tied down

• 04-02-2017 1:26am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭

Well lads and ladies I'm in my early 20s been doing a line with a girl there for the last month she's sound good craic and we get on like a house on fire everything's going grand but tonight she hinted at going to a few things over the summer which is grand and all only for one problem I'm planning on being at the other end of the world from june/July onwards there's a good few people dropping hints that we should be official and all and I did drop hints to her before about going to the other end of the world recently which she said was fine so long as I didn't go forever she's still in college so I couldn't bring her not would I expect her to come too I don't want to break it off with her either but I'm not sure she knew I was serious about heading off either any advice as to what i should do TIA

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,249 ✭✭✭kbell

Why 'drop hints' about going away?
    Just tell her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

kbell wrote: »
    Why 'drop hints' about going away?
    Just tell her.

Well I kind of said would you have a problem if I went there and she said once I came back it was grand

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭Loveinapril

Well I kind of said would you have a problem if I went there and she said once I came back it was grand

I don't understand why you would ask seen as you have been seeing each other a month and aren't even official.

Tell her you are going away. If you don't want to be tied down tell her that you would like to break up while you are gone. If you don't want to break up, don't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 546 ✭✭✭CiboC

Well I kind of said would you have a problem if I went...

Just tell her straight - I am going, I have made a definite plan! Why be so vague about it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

Well lads and ladies I'm in my early 20s been doing a line with a girl there for the last month she's sound good craic and we get on like a house on fire everything's going grand but tonight she hinted at going to a few things over the summer which is grand and all only for one problem I'm planning on being at the other end of the world from june/July onwards there's a good few people dropping hints that we should be official and all and I did drop hints to her before about going to the other end of the world recently which she said was fine so long as I didn't go forever she's still in college so I couldn't bring her not would I expect her to come too I don't want to break it off with her either but I'm not sure she knew I was serious about heading off either any advice as to what i should do TIA

I know I'll get slated for saying this.

Whatever you do please don't let her talk you out of going travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,288 ✭✭✭carrollsno1

MrBlack93 wrote: »
    I know I'll get slated for saying this.

Whatever you do please don't let her talk you out of going travelling.

There's no fear of that

Better living everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭MrBlack93

There's no fear of that

Then you're a better man than me :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,061 ✭✭✭leggo

Was in a similar situation, except on the other end, recently dating a girl. All going grand, we liked each other, but she was planning to go travelling this summer. Originally I was waiting it out until she had firm plans set before deciding what to do, enjoying the casualness of it all without pressure of thinking about a future or anything, but eventually it came up and we decided to end it. And it was grand, totally the best decision! We nipped it in the bud before there was any difficulty or feelings. Sucked for like a day and then common sense won over that it was the smart thing to do. If we'd have gone on it just would've become messy and hurt more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,360 ✭✭✭stampydmonkey

Some advice. Use a full stop!

Also go travelling and have a proper chat with her. The chance to do proper travelling doesn't come round to often.