Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Travel to the Cheltenham Festival 2017 Questions

• 01-02-2017 9:55am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭

Hi guys,
    This has probably been done over the past few years so sorry to repeat,
    Myself and the father are traveling over to the festival for our first time in March.
    Flying the monday to Bristol and driving to Gloucester, have an apartment there for a few nights.

Q1. Can anyone recommend a good bar to go for a few pints in Gloucester?

Q2. Travel from Gloucester to the race course, I have parking booked but it would be ideal if there were shuttle buses on we could just hop on and enjoy a few drinks through the day.

Q3. We have tatterstall tickets booked but I would have rather to have got Club just for the freedom and to do it right. Can we upgrade on the way in?

Thanks,
    N

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 606 ✭✭✭famagusta

Definitely upgrade to club, you can do it at the course and it costs about 20 quid

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,474 ✭✭✭longshotvalue

famagusta wrote: »
    Definitely upgrade to club, you can do it at the course and it costs about 20 quid

Club Definitely but its more like 35 or 40 . Its a must on gold cup day and tuesday with the crowds. Tats not the worst the other days. But one you club you cant go back as you'l feel restricted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭PM me nudes

Very easy to just stroll into Club without paying

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,973 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

100% go for club.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 2,036 Mod ✭✭✭✭The Mig

This. Really easy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

Plus you won't be able to upgrade when it's a sellout anyway i.e. Gold Cup day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 539 ✭✭✭Charlie George

Never buy club but always inside there, there are buses to and from Gloucester for about £2,i think the last bus to Gloucester is around 10.20.Gloucester is quiet enough compared to Cheltenham but some nice pubs down by the docks, forget the names of them, there is also witherspoons in Gloucester that is dirt cheap and fairly busy but shut a bit early.

Only if you dont mind blagging your way past security guards every 10 mins.

I think if you are going to be going in and out to betting parade ring etc, its a pain to have to duck each time.

aidankkk wrote: »
    Only if you dont mind blagging your way past security guards every 10 mins.

I think if you are going to be going in and out to betting parade ring etc, its a pain to have to duck each time.

If you flash any kind of badge at them they let you straight in, I've shown them badges from festivals 5 years ago and they wave you along

True,

I havn't the bottle to be bothered I suppose.

In the scheme of things, with travel over/ accom / betting etc, buying the badges is probably only a small expense and worth it.

aidankkk wrote: »
    True,

I havn't the bottle to be bothered I suppose.

In the scheme of things, with travel over/ accom / betting etc, buying the badges is probably only a small expense and worth it.

If I was going for the 4 days, I'd rather have an extra £140 in my back pocket than paying for the badges!

Student life :pac:

Have to say i just made up the cost of going this year And all in is 1 k each for 2 of us.

Thats for tickets (club each day), house in cheltenham and boat across

Must be the best value week possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,974 ✭✭✭✭Gavin "shels"

Two signs notes, anywhere decent in Birmingham to watch the racing on Thursday (staying in Jurys Inn on Broad St) and also anywhere decent for grub on Friday after the racing in Chelt? Ended up in some Italian last year, ideally something a bit more selection (herself can be fussy).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 96 ✭✭Clondalphian

Heading over for the first time for Gold Cup day. I have Club tickets. I know it will be busy but was just wondering how long should I be expecting to queue up for a bet or to get a pint?

No Queue to get bet on. Getting a pint depends on where you go. If you can shove your way around you'll get non-guiness in the Guinness tent area in 5 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,494 ✭✭✭finbarrk

No need to be in the Guinness Tent area if you have Club Tickets. Call into the Mandarin Bar, local bookie will be with us. No problem getting a bet on. Tote there also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭frink

Heading over for the Gold Cup for the first time. We've got tickets for the Tattersalls and staying in Cheltenham that night.

What is Cheltenham like that night?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,553 ✭✭✭✭Copper_pipe

I see there's a limit now on drink at the festival.

You can only buy 4 alcoholic drinks at a time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭BumperD

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

frink wrote: »
    Heading over for the Gold Cup for the first time. We've got tickets for the Tattersalls and staying in Cheltenham that night.

Suits and the smell of farts in most clubs/pubs and auld hookers on the prowl in them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 969 ✭✭✭radharc

****e, most of the Irish go home the Friday evening. Depends what you're looking for all the clubs will be open and full of local students etc but there's not really much of a racing vibe on the Friday bar the odd desperado.

Get to the racecourse early as it's your first time. It will be really packed that day. I'd try and be there by 11am if I were you. Town will be busy too.

Two signs notes, anywhere decent in Birmingham to watch the racing on Thursday (staying in Jurys Inn on Broad St) and also anywhere decent for grub on Friday after the racing in Chelt? Ended up in some Italian last year, ideally something a bit more selection (herself can be fussy).
    We had good steaks in The Strand last year. Not too expensive either. Will go there again this year. They have a website.

Cheers Finbarrk.

On a side note, does anyone have or know anyone selling two tattersalls enclosure tickets for the Friday?

Cheers Finbarrk.

On a side note, does anyone have or know anyone selling two tattersalls enclosure tickets for the Friday?

Despite the 'clamp down' this year, you'll still pick up one easily off the touts on the day

I've mine :D, they're for my mate and his gf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Shemale

I've mine :D, they're for my mate and his gf.

Are you not going Gav :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

I am heading over for the Tue and Wed. Flying to Stansted, hiring a car and staying in Witney, which is about 45 mins from Cheltenham. Had planned to drive to the course each day (parking £8 per day) but am wondering now would I be better off getting a regular bus to and from Cheltenham and save the hassle. I'm still leaning towards the car but does anyone have any opinions?

byronbay2 wrote: »
    I am heading over for the Tue and Wed. Flying to Stansted, hiring a car and staying in Witney, which is about 45 mins from Cheltenham. Had planned to drive to the course each day (parking £8 per day) but am wondering now would I be better off getting a regular bus to and from Cheltenham and save the hassle. I'm still leaning towards the car but does anyone have any opinions?
    Didn't see a sniff of £8 parking last year, £15 more like

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭byronbay2

Didn't see a sniff of £8 parking last year, £15 more like

£8 in advance, £15 on the day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 63 ✭✭liamjames1

V Long shot lads but if anyone knows someone with return flights from cork to any of the airports on the Friday that isn't using them could they please connect me.

Prices gone outrageous and looking for something last minute

Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 649 ✭✭✭DuffleBag

liamjames1 wrote: »
    V Long shot lads but if anyone knows someone with return flights from cork to any of the airports on the Friday that isn't using them could they please connect me.

Prices gone outrageous and looking for something last minute

Cheers

I dunno how desperate you are but if you're stuck flights Cardiff to Dublin are €70 at about 19:30 friday evening. Cardiff is about an hour and a half bus from Chelt. I'm flying back from London myself late friday night and i paid €130 a few weeks ago