Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trash being dumped on the farm from roadway

• 29-01-2017 7:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭

I've been wondering who it was that's been dumping trash on my farm, on the road periodically over the years in around the same place. From the latest deposit over the hedge I've taken a couple of pics. Feckin campers.. should have known.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,237 ✭✭✭Username John

jj92 wrote: »
    I've been wondering who it was that's been dumping trash on my farm, on the road periodically over the years in around the same place. From the latest deposit over the hedge I've taken a couple of pics. Feckin campers.. should have known.

Do they do it regular enough to warrant putting up a camera?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,961 ✭✭✭✭Discodog

A self contained, battery powered wildlife camera isn't expensive. Councils in the UK use them to catch fly tippers. They are easy to hide & take photos when they detect movement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 123 ✭✭jj92

A few times a year it happens. More often it's on the road, a right mess everywhere. Usual contents: nappies, junk food wrappings and containers. These "campers" are likely to be the campers that have been camped about 2 miles away for a few years now. I drove by with a high view on a tractor one day and it was unreal the amount of trash they've dumped in the ditches in the couple of hundred meters around the caravans. I always thought it might have been them, now it's looking likely. If it's on the road I give the council a ring, hopiung they;ll get the bags before they are spread all over the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭jimini0

The camera is a great job but won't stand up in court unless you have a sign up with CCTV in operation. We had a litter problem down our way too. Not a lane way but a local road. Every couple of months a few bags would be thrown out around the same stretch.
    We got one of those motion sensor cameras but the road was busy enough so it recorded too much. We had to delete all footage if no rubbish was dumped. Myself and my cousin were the ones in charge of it and after 2 months of recording crap we were about to give up. We said 3 more days and that's it.
    Bingo the very next day rubbish appeared we were like two kids rushing to the house with the card to upload the footage. Got a good video of the man dumping the bags and the reg of his car. Rang a retired guard and asked him for advice. He said bring the footage to the local litter warden but with the laws on secretly recording he said it would be unlikely he would get convicted. So I asked the retired guard could he get the address from the car reg. On the QT he rang a friend and got it. So we put the footage on a DVD and gathered up the rubbish and a few bags we had ourselves and arrived at the address. We scattered the rubbish all over his driveway and lawn and on top of his nice car. Then we rang the doorbell. He came out and went ballistic threatening to shoot us beat us to a pulp. I just handed him the DVD and told him to go in and watch it then come back out to us. A few minutes later he came back out he was white as a sheet. He must have said sorry a hundred times and begged us not to go further with the DVD. We just told him not to do it again or we would go further with it.
    No litter problem since. Sorry for the long post but that was my private detective experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

jimini0 wrote: »
    The camera is a great job but won't stand up in court unless you have a sign up with CCTV in operation. We had a litter problem down our way too. Not a lane way but a local road. Every couple of months a few bags would be thrown out around the same stretch.
    We got one of those motion sensor cameras but the road was busy enough so it recorded too much. We had to delete all footage if no rubbish was dumped. Myself and my cousin were the ones in charge of it and after 2 months of recording crap we were about to give up. We said 3 more days and that's it.
    Bingo the very next day rubbish appeared we were like two kids rushing to the house with the card to upload the footage. Got a good video of the man dumping the bags and the reg of his car. Rang a retired guard and asked him for advice. He said bring the footage to the local litter warden but with the laws on secretly recording he said it would be unlikely he would get convicted. So I asked the retired guard could he get the address from the car reg. On the QT he rang a friend and got it. So we put the footage on a DVD and gathered up the rubbish and a few bags we had ourselves and arrived at the address. We scattered the rubbish all over his driveway and lawn and on top of his nice car. Then we rang the doorbell. He came out and went ballistic threatening to shoot us beat us to a pulp. I just handed him the DVD and told him to go in and watch it then come back out to us. A few minutes later he came back out he was white as a sheet. He must have said sorry a hundred times and begged us not to go further with the DVD. We just told him not to do it again or we would go further with it.
    No litter problem since. Sorry for the long post but that was my private detective experience
    Hold on until I find the salt :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

its not secret recording if is a public space.

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Hold on until I find the salt :)
    I still have a copy of the DVD if you want to see it. Not footage of around his house but of him dumping.

listermint wrote: »
    its not secret recording if is a public space.

That's what he told us. There is some law there about it. We probably should have brought it to the litter warden but we took the thug route. It was funny though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,546 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

That's what he told us. There is some law there about it. We probably should have brought it to the litter warden but we took the thug route. It was funny though

And satisfying I bet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,721 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

I snapped two cars dumping rubbish with my phone in a public space.

I had to push it a fair bit but did get a conviction on both parties.

Brought the images to the litter warden but I had to make maybe four calls over six months, had to sign to say I'd go to court and then it moved on ok.

Dirty pigs 🐷

I still have a copy of the DVD if you want to see it. Not footage of around his house but of him dumping.

Go on, post it up!!

You'll see plenty videos on youtube where people are recorded without their consent and it is completely legal if it is in a public place, so that retired garda was wrong. I even saw the council planting a video to catch litter louts one time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,685 ✭✭✭barneystinson

Someone's been bringing rubbish all the way from America to dump it on your farm...?!

Go on, post it up!!
    Please do, you can blank his head and number plate :)

Someone's been bringing rubbish all the way from America to dump it on your farm...?!

... **boom** :-)

Go on, post it up!!

Where is the slot to insert DVD? Its an actual DVD we made a couple of copies. I'm sure its still on the cousins laptop somewhere.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,216 ✭✭✭✭listermint

hey, i preferred your method! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,926 ✭✭✭Reati

You'll see plenty videos on youtube where people are recorded without their consent and it is completely legal if it is in a public place, so that retired garda was wrong. I even saw the council planting a video to catch litter louts one time.

Posting a video, for example, from a phone to YouTube is very different than hidden CCTV footage for the purpose of surveillance and securing a win in court. The data protection commissionor has a ton of rules in place around this. The guard isn't wrong and the law in this area is very complex and doing it the wrong way can end up with the case getting thrown out on technical nonsense.

That said, if you put a camera up and a visible sign they might not dump there.

Look we took his word he obviously knew more than us. Maybe he was wrong maybe not. The problem was sorted

I was only just saying, like :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

There was heating oil going missing from a tank at a local church.
    One of the parishioners put up a hidden camera and filmed the offenders taking the oil.
    They went to the guards. Same thing again the guards wouldn't or couldn't do anything with the footage as it was filmed without their consent and they should have had signs up to notify that they were being filmed.:rolleyes:

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    One of the parishioners put up a hidden camera and filmed the offenders taking the oil.
    They went to the guards. Same thing again the guards wouldn't or couldn't do anything with the footage as it was filmed without their consent and they should have had signs up to notify that they were being filmed.:rolleyes:
    Crazy stuff :mad: What about them crazy cyclists on youtube with head cams loading up their videos of drivers giving them abuse and does that mean dash cams are also useless in court?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

Crazy stuff :mad: What about them crazy cyclists on youtube with head cams loading up their videos of drivers giving them abuse and does that mean dash cams are also useless in court?

dash cams are in a grey area at the minute.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

I got one of these a few years ago to watch badgers, they need some tape over them as they're not designed for the amount of rain we get:( Use it in the yard now.

Watch out for fakes though.

Bit more here on getting the best out of the camera,

http://www.ronburyswildlife.com/2012/09/ltl-acorn-5210-and-6210-trail-camera.html

A sign saying something like cctv recording is a good deterrent as well.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,604 ✭✭✭irishgeo

pedigree 6 wrote: »
    Why do you think every petrol station in the country has signs up saying cctv in operation. They haven't a hope of a conviction without them signs up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 72,211 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I got photos of a guy dumping all sorts of household waste on my property, I went to the guy in the local authority with them and he took it from there.
    Threatened the guy with court and within a few days the guy was at my door looking for permission to come on to the property to remove all the rubbish.
    Result.
    I think once he was dumping from a public road the litter guy had him by the S&C's.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭I said

Had a sac here dumping rubbish got him with diesel receipts in the bags the dumb Cnut.litter warden had an easy case to prove.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,439 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

Some scumbags, the forest I regularly mountain bike in can be bad at times

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,331 ✭✭✭✭loyatemu

The law is an ass here, if you have a farm and put up a sign and camera, they'll just go and dump the stuff 100 metres further down the road where there's no camera.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,520 ✭✭✭learn_more

The camera is a great job but won't stand up in court unless you have a sign up with CCTV in operation.

Could you just put the sign up after an incident :)