Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Does anybody live in Donegal town (or know anyone who does)

• 28-01-2017 8:08pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Myself and OH are on a plan to have a pint in every county in Ireland.

We stopped in Fermanagh on the way up and now we're in Donegal town. We're from the Big Smoke btw.

The place is a ghost town 👻. Nothing good to do.

What'll we do?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

Do some riding.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,184 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Have a pint?

A pint in every county? You'll be locked by the time you hit Westmeath...which is probably just as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Omackeral wrote: »
    A pint in every county? You'll be locked by the time you hit Westmeath...which is probably just as well.

And make sure you absolutely are for Leitrim.

BTW no one lives in Donegal Town. It's purely there for the tourists, like you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I don't know if the Grill is still going, but it was a night club that was part of a hotel in Donegal town, you might have better craic in Ballyshannon or Bundoran up the road.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 740 ✭✭✭IH784man

Probably something on in the abbey hotel tonight,always a crowd there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,800 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Do you have a teetotaller driver as you may get in trouble with the guards if you plan on drinking 32 pints.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,547 ✭✭✭✭Poor Uncle Tom

Donegal is like Russia, it doesn't exist, it was made up by the Chinese to divert attention away from the real truth, they are taking over the world one take away at a time....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 279 ✭✭Stravos Murphy

Rumour has it they ride farm animals.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

Go for a pint in Biddys, its off the main road between Donegal Town and Ballybofey. Nice place, turf fire, traditional pub.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,070 ✭✭✭ScouseMouse

I don't know if the Grill is still going, but it was a night club that was part of a hotel in Donegal town, you might have better craic in Ballyshannon or Bundoran up the road.

The grill? As in golden grill? Thats was in Letterkenny, unless there is another I am unaware of. If in Letterkenny, Voodoo is the place to go.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,452 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

There's the Old Castle Bar, the Abbey, Harvey's Point, the Solis, the Schooner Inn, the National, The Reel Inn and Dom's Pier One to name a few. You have loads to choice!

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26 boghopper

Try "The Forge" just over the bridge and to the right, a decent wee pub and usually a good enough crowd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 260 ✭✭SVJKarate

dfeo wrote: »

The place is a ghost town 👻. Nothing good to do.

What'll we do?

Night-time activities in Donegal start much later than in your average city. Be patient. Follow the advice given by ancapailldorcha as to which pub to go to.
    There's the Old Castle Bar, the Abbey, Harvey's Point, the Solis, the Schooner Inn, the National, The Reel Inn and Dom's Pier One to name a few. You have loads to choice!

• Moderators, Regional North West Moderators Posts: 19,171 Mod ✭✭✭✭byte
    byte

Schooners and The National are long gone. Harvey's Point and Solis are a few miles out of town, so may not be ideal.

Abbey Hotel is the main place for entertainment on a Saturday night, with a live band on the ground floor, disco bar upstairs (if still there), and the nightclub Sky downstairs.

I'd second what boghopper said, The Forge is a grand pub, usually quite busy.

I quite like The Bank Bar myself, but might not be everyone's cup of tea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,144 ✭✭✭flanzer

SVJKarate wrote: »
    Night-time activities in Donegal start much later than in your average city.

:confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

flanzer wrote: »
    :confused::confused::confused::confused::confused::confused:

OP said he was from the "Big Smoke".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

It was still there when I left.. but that was around ten years ago so anything could have happened ;)