Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

coincidence, a wonderful thing

• 27-01-2017 1:58am

A year ago my boyfriend bought a phone from a CEX shop and it turned out that the previous owner knew his brother. The phone hadn't been wiped that well.

A year later I bought the same model phone from the same CEX shop and it turns out that the previous owner didn't know my brother, I knew his brother. Very well in fact. He's my best friend!

Coincidence is something I adore. Too many call it "fate" and others believe there is a god or spiritual force involved.

Anyone got any great coincidence stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,873 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

As a teenager I went to see Slayer play in concert, first proper metal gig I ever went to and all that. At one point during the gig I was trying to contact someone through text, text wasn't delivering etc, etc, so I did the whole #174*(those were the days) thing to check my credit balance, just to be sure:

I had exactly €6.66 credit left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭refusetolose

i still do the *174# thing?

I turned on a very old phone the other day and found a pic of a dog on it. I used to see this dog looking over the wall every day on my way to and from work. Turns out that dog had belonged to a girl I am now very close friends with. Said dog died. I shared the pic with her. Weird to think I was photographing her dogs years before we met and became close friends!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,893 ✭✭✭Canis Lupus

I do anti debit/credit card fraud work and occasionally have to ring people to verify transactions. I currently live in Australia and so far I've rang a girl I worked with in London some 6 years ago and the girlfriend of a mate from the UK who also lives over here.

Also, I just bought a house. On the day I was going to view the house I got crashed into by a guy who lives on the same street. Not interesting if I was in the area but I was on the other side of the city.....

One night I was in a very famous pub in Dublin (wont name it!) and my friends were giving out to me for being "too loud". I told them that my family tended to be loud people, but agreed to be quieter that night. We were walking back in from the smoking area when I heard a very loud voice, I thought it sounded familiar, no way... yep it was my brother!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,423 ✭✭✭✭Outlaw Pete

Arghus wrote: »
    As a teenager I went to see Slayer play in concert, first proper metal gig I ever went to and all that. At one point during the gig I was trying to contact someone through text, text wasn't delivering etc, etc, so I did the whole #174*(those were the days) thing to check my credit balance, just to be sure:

I had exactly €6.66 credit left.

Was gonna ask you was that the Top Hat gig in '88 and then the penny dropped :p

God I feel old now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,634 ✭✭✭✭Graces7

When I met my new neighbours up here, 200 miles from my former house, it emerged they once bought preserves at my market stall, in a small town where over the years I only ever traded three times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

He bought a phone from a sex shop?!?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,643 ✭✭✭worded

Ate a meal at Toscas on Suffolk st one Tue night many moons ago ...
    Was called nude after that. Bono brother owned it.
    Only myself and OH there

Bono and his wife strolled in and sat down the back
    We were the only 4 there for the night me and the OH

Left and strolled down the road to bus aras
    A geeen Jag passed by on the way, I knew that was bonos car
    2nd citing in one night .....

Went to bus aras and waiting on bus with OH
    Looked over at photo booth very near is and who is getting their photo taken?
    Bono ! Probably for a driving licence or passport

The two of them spot us and look very suspiciously at us !
    We must be following them !

The coincidence of it all ....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,360 ✭✭✭Lorelli!

One Sunday, it was snowing and I had a bad feeling and just didn't feel like work the next day. I said to my OH, "I hope the snow somehow means that I don't have to go into work tomorrow" and he said "nah it's not that bad out".

The next morning I was grand and forgot all about it but ended up slipping and breaking my arm on the way to work!

Be careful what you wish for, right? :/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

One time when I was travelling by myself in Italy in my early 20s, I ended up stay in a hostel in Milan.
    My plan was to stay in Milan for a night, go up to lake como for a few days, and then end my trip in Padova to see a gig a few days later.
    Anyway, seems like the owner had let in a number of undesirables coz there was some strange and weird shit going on during the night, and at about 2am i finally had enough and left.

I end up in the central station since I had already planned to visit a friend who lives near Colico on lake Como the following day. Anybody who has been to Milan knows this wouldn't exactly be the best place to be alone overnight either, so I set about looking for somewhere safe to sit.

So, after a while looking for a spot I end up seeing a nice looking lady, probably in her 40s. Figured she looked sane enough, and that I may as well sit on the same bench a few seats down, get a bit of sleep even.
    A bit later, I overheard her talking to some Carabinieri and found out she was American. My italian is alright, so I ended up striking up conversation about something or other.

Long story short, we end up hanging out til morning, and talking to her I find out she too is on her way to Padova in the morning, and was Airbnb-ing.
    Turns out, she was staying for a few days with the same Airbnb host that I had booked a night with 4 days later, and that I would arrive on her last night there.

Unfortunately I never ended up seeing her again as I'd to leave for the gig soon after arriving, but I recognised her bag when I was checking in. Spotted her again in the Airbnb reviews which reconfirmed that it wasn't all just some mad fever dream.

I think the odds of it occurring are somewhat ridiculous, and whenever I think back on it it always feels like there was something more to it than a mere coincidence.
    I'd be tempted to say it was more like a case of synchronicity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,816 ✭✭✭Calibos

3rd class in Primary school back in the 80's when corporal punishment was still a thing. Classroom had boys and girls toilet. Told to stand with 2 other lads for talking during class. Had a feeling the principle was coming and knew we'd get a bollicking or worse if he came to our class. Asked teacher if I could go to the toilet. No sooner did I enter the toilet then I heard the principle walk into the classroom. He pulled the other lads out of the classroom into the corridor and gave them an absolute bollicking and clips round the ear for 5 minutes. I stayed in the toilet till it was all over. Came out and the teacher just laughed and told me to sit back down.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I got taking to an Australian man in a bar in Asia in the 1960s, we had a lot in common and had a great chat. I told him my first name and it turned out his was the same. At some point my surname came up in conversation and he just laughed, said I was ragging him, because his was the same. It turned out we were third cousins and have remained in touch ever since.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

A year ago my boyfriend bought a phone from a CEX shop and it turned out that the previous owner knew his brother. The phone hadn't been wiped that well.

A year later I bought the same model phone from the same CEX shop and it turns out that the previous owner didn't know my brother, I knew his brother. Very well in fact. He's my best friend!

Coincidence is something I adore. Too many call it "fate" and others believe there is a god or spiritual force involved.

Anyone got any great coincidence stories?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Few years ago I lost my wallet on the train, then someone put on a local facebook group they'd found it. Went to meet said person who found it, turned out to be my friend from school. Funny coincidence I guess.