Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Warning - Wallet Inspector doing the rounds

• 26-01-2017 8:38am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭

http://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/farmers-watch-out-con-artist-taking-deposits-for-farm-sheds-around-the-country-774101.html

A scam artist is said to be travelling the country scamming farmers out of substantial sums of cash.
    The Irish Farmers Journal reports that as many as 30 farmers have handed over 'deposits' of between €1,000 and €20,000 to the con artist to build a farm shed.
    According to the report, €140,000 has been scammed by the individual from unsuspecting farmers.
    One Co Cork farmer who lost €5,000 to the fraudster herself appealed online for anyone with any information or experience of the con artist to come forward.
    She has been inundated with callers since the weekend. “

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56 ✭✭mallowgarry

There was a decent thread on here 12-18 months ago, with details of various company names etc. used by the operator.
    Several fellas he'd caught were exchanging info., with the perp based in Dungarvan, and operating via DoneDeal.
    When the lady in the Farmers Journal appealed for info., I looked for the thread (which I had posted to) and it had been deleted.

I'd copied and pasted the whole thread in an email to DoneDeal.ie, asking them to remove his adverts before other people were caught. They never even replied.

I think DoneDeal have a lot to answer for, "private sellers" offering 30 cars for sale to dodge dealer laws etc. No policing by DoneDeal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,313 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

How do people fall for this scam? Surely if you were spending money on a shed you'd get a reliable contractor and only pay in stages as the work was completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Sam Kade wrote: »
    How do people fall for this scam? Surely if you were spending money on a shed you'd get a reliable contractor and only pay in stages as the work was completed.

He seemed to be a 'sound lad'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

If you're ever dealing with someone like this, discretely take their photo with your phone. Once you have his photo, he's as good as caught.

How about undiscertely take his photo that way he'd run a mile from you and save you a lot of hassle :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

I've said it before and I'll say it again....any kind of door-to-door salesman is likely to be bad news.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,497 ✭✭✭rangler1

I often think that some people deserve to be scammed, like buying off the guy that drives into your yard it only encourages crime.
    People should be careful

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,585 ✭✭✭jca

Jesus, fair play to him for getting anything out of a farmer!! The last company I worked for involved a lot of interaction with the Ag. Science community and never in my life have I met such a tight, penny pinching shower of whinging stinge bags. It's probably made up by the farmers so they can get another divvy from Europe...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,194 ✭✭✭foxy farmer

There's a chap operating in my local area again lately selling safety equipment- fire extinguishers and first aid equipment. Using the line that they're a requirement for the bord bia audits. He lives about 12-14miles from here.
    I dealt with him about 10 yrs ago and got caught for around €300 and extinguishers never returned after being "serviced". Half the parish would lynch him. Wouldnt mind meeting him again "for an oul chat"
    One lad has bought stuff off him but another sent him on his way after he asked me about him.
    He has been caught by Revenue for non payment of tax. Every time he'd call hed have a new car or jeep.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

business-sales-door_to_door_salesman-door_to_door_sales-salespeople-salesman-29600933_low.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,221 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Most of the good shed contractors are flat out at the minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

jca wrote: »
    Jesus, fair play to him for getting anything out of a farmer!! The last company I worked for involved a lot of interaction with the Ag. Science community and never in my life have I met such a tight, penny pinching shower of whinging stinge bags. It's probably made up by the farmers so they can get another divvy from Europe...

hence you no longer work for them with that approach...

any reputable sales is a tough gig and if you condone this scam well then that says more about you than the people that were scammed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

I would hazard a guess he talks the talk and will do a steal of a deal.

Great bargain undercutting the others and obviously never carrying out any work whatsoever.

50HX wrote: »

any reputable sales is a tough gig and if you condone this scam well then that says more about you than the people that were scammed

There was no problem with our approach as a company, any farmer would tell you that. Getting the feckers to pay their bills within 30 days was the problem. The dairy farmers were the best payers, give them what they want and on time, you got paid on the button, horsey guys were the worst. If there was a horse box in the yard when calling looking for bobs I knew it was going to be hassle.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,756 Mod ✭✭✭✭blue5000

MOD NOTE Some of the comments here are borderline, tone it down a bit.

If the seat's wet, sit on yer hat, a cool head is better than a wet ar5e.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,263 ✭✭✭50HX

There was no problem with our approach as a company, any farmer would tell you that. Getting the feckers to pay their bills within 30 days was the problem. The dairy farmers were the best payers, give them what they want and on time, you got paid on the button, horsey guys were the worst. If there was a horse box in the yard when calling looking for bobs I knew it was going to be hassle.

took up your post wrong i think...apologies on that i wasn't having a cut at you

a few local elderly people have been scammed in the past 2 years and makes my blood boil and big spate of thefts occurring again latley

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

That's called having cash flow

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,755 ✭✭✭degsie

ganmo wrote: »

Thought in farming parlance it's call a cash cow?

ganmo wrote: »

Yea right.. They had no problem ringing up and ordering equipment that was delivered by courier as they needed it yesterday, 30 days later was when the problems began...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Yea right.. They had no problem ringing up and ordering equipment that was delivered by courier as they needed it yesterday, 30 days later was when the problems began...

Why didn't you ask for payment up front ?? Im sure they had a laser or credit card. That's how I operate when selling hay or straw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

I wonder if this is the same wallet inspector that there was a thread about a while back? I won't post the name of the company mentioned then (I'm not insane mods :D) but there were a couple of posters on it that were burned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

There's a chap operating in my local area again lately selling safety equipment- fire extinguishers and first aid equipment. Using the line that they're a requirement for the bord bia audits. He lives about 12-14miles from here.
    I dealt with him about 10 yrs ago and got caught for around €300 and extinguishers never returned after being "serviced". Half the parish would lynch him. Wouldnt mind meeting him again "for an oul chat"
    One lad has bought stuff off him but another sent him on his way after he asked me about him.
    He has been caught by Revenue for non payment of tax. Every time he'd call hed have a new car or jeep.

I think I know who you are talking about. Think he did calving cameras too at one stage. Got fire extinguishers off him. When he call back to service them, I was out, my wife was worried about if a fire so made him leave spare one. Had to get Guards to ring him to get our own back.

pms7 wrote: »
    I think I know who you are talking about. Think he did calving cameras too at one stage. Got fire extinguishers off him. When he call back to service them, I was out, my wife was worried about if a fire so made him leave spare one. Had to get Guards to ring him to get our own back.

A conman of the lowest order. Googled his name once and a few results came up. None good. Even saw him advertising for a sales rep to cover a few counties in the west.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,070 ✭✭✭boggerman1

He didn't happen to have an english accent.had a lad drive in a couple of months ago.seemed to have that same spiel about bord bia,etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 452 ✭✭Icelandicseige

50HX wrote: »

He isn't condoning what has happened I'd agree with him. Nearly ALL the Farmers I know would be considered tight and you could take out the nearly there too ha. So there's no point in getting offensive about it ha. It's just the way it is

boggerman1 wrote: »
    He didn't happen to have an english accent.had a lad drive in a couple of months ago.seemed to have that same spiel about bord bia,etc

This lad is Home grown. living in west cork. Send him on his way is the only cure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

This lad is Home grown. living in west cork. Send him on his way is the only cure.
    foxy are you sure he is living in west cork, or may be I am thinking of a another c##t doing the rounds that says he is from wexford, I will tell you one thing if I can get a hold of him for 10 mins ,I wont say no more .

This lad got done by Revenue a few years back and his address was and as far as I know still is in west Cork. He even asked me to do some electrical work on his house but I hadn't the time.
    I was in a neighbours yard a fortnight ago and he asked me if i ever dealt with so and so. Selling extinguishers and first aid kits. Told him of my experience with him and warned him not to have anything to do with the cnut. He was expecting another visit from him the following week. Wouldnt mind being in the yard when he called back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 589 ✭✭✭Butcher Boy

This lad got done by Revenue a few years back and his address was and as far as I know still is in west Cork. He even asked me to do some electrical work on his house but I hadn't the time.
    I was in a neighbours yard a fortnight ago and he asked me if i ever dealt with so and so. Selling extinguishers and first aid kits. Told him of my experience with him and warned him not to have anything to do with the cnut. He was expecting another visit from him the following week. Wouldnt mind being in the yard when he called back.

we have the same man I would say ,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 483 ✭✭pms7

Is there a problem naming names here?

Googled him, Solocheck says "***Limited has had a judgment registered against it" and the company is dissolved.

But you can be sure he is still operating somewhere scamming people!! :mad:

Looked up my records from 2004 when I bought 2 fire extinguishers from him, said free annual servicing included. I think I was so naive then that I believed him...

Googled him, Solocheck says "***Limited has had a judgment registered against it" and the company is dissolved.

Looked up my records from 2004 when I bought 2 fire extinguishers from him, said free annual servicing included. I think I was so naive then that I believed him...

I just googled the other trading name and its still active but low and behold he's not up to date with the oul tax returns. 2013 is still due.

Probably better not to name him publicly for legal reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 831 ✭✭✭satstheway

blue5000 wrote: »
    Probably better not to name him publicly for legal reasons.

Could they put up a solo check link ?

No. But if there has been a court conviction published in the papers first you can link to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Does the person Mod snip, legal reasons

Mod snip, legal reasons

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,513 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Mod snip, legal reasons

I wonder if it's the same individual?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Melodeon wrote: »
    .....I wonder if it's the same individual?

columbo-quote-one-more-thing.jpg

Mod snip, legal reasons

I'm not sure about that.

Apparently fire extinguishers and the subsequent inspection and servicing is a great scam the world over. Plenty articles highlight the methods used and how simple it is to get money off people.

This Mod snip, legal reasons boyo gets a mention in every farming forum,