Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Sheep farmers and dogs

• 23-01-2017 10:37pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭

how do sheep farmers feel and react to dogs causing financial loss to their flock?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,748 ✭✭✭ganmo

It's a flock of sheep

Dogs get shot if the gun is to hand.
    I'd much prefer for the dog owners to be prosecuted by the guards than presuming them for money

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,783 ✭✭✭paddysdream

euser1984 wrote: »
    how do sheep farmers feel and react to dogs causing financial loss to their herd?
    Rather sorely to be honest.
    In many cases the damage may not be obivious for a while after an attack.Ewes can abort or reabsorb lambs whilst carcase damage to lambs will only be seen after slaughter.Also sheep can remain stressed for a long time after an attack with the consequent loss of thrive and maybe a poorer kill out percentage.
    Dog attack insurance is rather expensive and only covers the loss on the day not any subsequent problems as far as I am aware.
    Anyone I know who has had a problem like this(mise included)usually takes a shoot on sight policy.
    Even what looks like a minor attack could cost the flock owner a four or five figure sum.
    Ten dead ewes at this time of year is 2k plus maybe another 30 to 40 aborting or having dead lambs(over and above the normal amount) could be another 6 or 8k in lamb losses alone.
    In many cases money is not the issue,rather the attitude of some people to what their dogs are capable of and the careless way they look after them regarding wandering etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,977 ✭✭✭euser1984

would a farmer be aware of dogs in the vicinity that for something to happen be just a slight mishap, as opposed to someone who just lets their dog wander around anywhere all the time....i'm just interested in the subject because when my dog was young she did go at a sheep.

would all your dogs be working dogs in kennels, or dogs in the house type policy? also, to what extent will a dog go on a sheep; do they try to kill them?

my dog has a lot of energy and she needs other dogs to play with....she is a gsd so plays rough....can't get anybody around this poxy place...she is also a working line gsd whom are smaller in size and more agile (ie not the big ones)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,225 ✭✭✭charolais0153

would a farmer be aware of dogs in the vicinity that for something to happen be just a slight mishap, as opposed to someone who just lets their dog wander around anywhere all the time....i'm just interested in the subject because when my dog was young she did go at a sheep.

would all your dogs be working dogs in kennels, or dogs in the house type policy? also, to what extent will a dog go on a sheep; do they try to kill them?

my dog has a lot of energy and she needs other dogs to play with....she is a gsd so plays rough....can't get anybody around this poxy place...she is also a working line gsd whom are smaller in size and more agile (ie not the big ones)

Our dog stays around the house and is locked in at night.

This is what drives me daft....the dog has one of those electric collars around his neck but it doesn't keep him in. The same dog flicked the uncles sheep a while ago luckily no damage was done.

Our dog stays around the house and is locked in at night.

This is what drives me daft....the dog has one of those electric collars around his neck but it doesn't keep him in. The same dog flicked the uncles sheep a while ago luckily no damage was done.

your dog sounds bored and that he will do anything, even bring shock to himself to feed his curiosity.....could be a very useful trait in and off itself in some way....what breed is he?

i'm no expert but i've learned a bit over the last few years while bringing up a dog, ais that loads of dogs are not getting the exercise and stimulation they need. Holes being dug in gardens and they think there is something wrong with the dog....

your dog sounds bored and that he will do anything, even bring shock to himself to feed his curiosity.....could be a very useful trait in and off itself in some way....what breed is he?

i'm no expert but i've learned a bit over the last few years while bringing up a dog, ais that loads of dogs are not getting the exercise and stimulation they need. Holes being dug in gardens and they think there is something wrong with the dog....

Should have been clearer, the jack Russell isn't ours and was just on the road

your started with "our dog".....?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,808 ✭✭✭Birdnuts

A lot of the dog problems I've encountered around my place in the west are down to people simply dumping unwanted pets. And its not just townies at it - a sheep farmer not a million miles away is constantly allowing his bitches come into heat and then the resulting problems end up on other peoples doorsteps:mad:

your started with "our dog".....?

You asked do working dogs be kept in kennels...I answered ,skipped a line an made new point

it's more clear now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,264 ✭✭✭Cran

how do sheep farmers feel and react to dogs causing financial loss to their flock?

Very badly dogs should not be in a field of sheep no excuses, no second chances. Four dogs here all have proper kennels and never roam free, that's the standard I hold owners too.
    If happens here again it will be a prosecution and to hell with compensation tbh

http://www.agriland.ie/farming-news/graphic-content-sheep-mauled-and-killed-in-the-southeast/ read that

yes we are aware of every neighbours dog, some neighbours asked my ould lad years ago what would happen if they got a dog his answer, nothing as long as they're kept under control. unfortunately our dog problems aren't from locals

some dogs start by playing with the sheep chasing them etc

oh and did you notify the farmer that your dog 'had a go' at a sheep?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

ganmo wrote: »
    oh and did you notify the farmer that your dog 'had a go' at a sheep?

Indeed.

Maybe it is just me but I cant shake the feeling that some farmer out there might want to have a check of their animals asap...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 192 ✭✭Inchilad

Maybe it is just me but I cant shake the feeling that some farmer out there might want to have a check of their animals asap...

was thinkin the same tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Had a serious dog attack here a few years ago and was nearly killed myself. The only way i could describe it was a war zone really. Followed the dogs back to the owners yard and called the guards. DPP are bringing the owner to court under the control of dogs act. This is on going for a few years but i'm determined to see this through. We lost thousands between dead lambs, replacements and ill thrift of the flock after it. No chances are being taken any more here after it. We told all the neighbours and warned them to keep their dogs in at night and if they are walking them to keep them on a lead. Most of our neighbours were very considerate and we had no issues with them since. However one neighbour called our bluff and they felt the consequences. One of our biggest problems is fellas with dogs from the town who couldn't give a fúck about you or your animals. We leave a certain amount of people hunt our land but no strangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

davidk1394 wrote: »
    One of our biggest problems is fellas with dogs from the town who couldn't give a fúck about you or your animals.

Yeah people buying dogs 'for the kids' or posing around walking them as if they were a fashion accessory and leaving them run around, chasing cars, leaving sh*t everywhere and worse. Or having them locked up and they barking their heads off. It's the Irish way, shur he'll be grand.

Came across a large black dog attacking a lone sheep once, I was driving past and thought I saw something odd, backed up, parked and drove him off. Dog ran away in direction of town. Had a red collar and appeared to be looked after rather than a stray.
    Sheep looked in a bad way and unlikely to live, didn't really know who owned the sheep (lands are let) so rang the guards and explained the situ. Don't know what the upshot was in the end.

davidk1394 wrote: »
    Had a serious dog attack here a few years ago and was nearly killed myself. The only way i could describe it was a war zone really. Followed the dogs back to the owners yard and called the guards. DPP are bringing the owner to court under the control of dogs act. This is on going for a few years but i'm determined to see this through. We lost thousands between dead lambs, replacements and ill thrift of the flock after it. No chances are being taken any more here after it. We told all the neighbours and warned them to keep their dogs in at night and if they are walking them to keep them on a lead. Most of our neighbours were very considerate and we had no issues with them since. However one neighbour called our bluff and they felt the consequences. One of our biggest problems is fellas with dogs from the town who couldn't give a fúck about you or your animals. We leave a certain amount of people hunt our land but no strangers.

hopefully there'll be a case here too but the wagon got her dog back which she shouldn't of

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,364 ✭✭✭arctictree

I've probably said it before but some people just don't give a **** about their dogs. I have one neighbor whose little dog is constantly walking through my fields. I've warned him about it but he doesn't care. The only consolation I have is that this dog has not attacked sheep and if I was to shoot it, he would just get another one that probably would.